We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, good food”
Review of Sahara Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sahara Star Hotel
Ranked #24 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Location, good food”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This hotel is very conveniently located right outside the Mumbai Domestic Airport. It boasts of some great restaurants and fine dining. I found it as the perfect place for a business traveler! The staff is very attentive and service quality was overall good. But it is definitely on a bit expensive side!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rinoo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahara S, General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!

We thank you for choosing Sahara Star as your preferred hotel in Mumbai and our endeavor is to provide all our guests a memorable experience with a fusion of Hospitality and entertainment.

We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi
Head Of Operations,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel :+91 22 39895000
Board Fax :+91 22 39895001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,488
    666
    237
    85
    102
See reviews for
510
354
181
1,166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ludhiana, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

terrible housekeeping. the locker/safe in d room wasnt working. the chairs were soiled & had leftover marks on them. room floor had bread crumbs. they had renovation work going on on my floor which was being done in d open. no scaffoldings or covers were placed to isolate the area..... amazing......

d spa was a sham cos d masseuse tried to pick my wallet while i was lying down. when i made a hue & cry, the manager at the spa tried to pacify me only. called d duty manager who didnt show up. went 2 d coffee shop & called the floor manager who just apologised & didnt even take a written complaint so am sure no action was taken.......

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ash1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahara S, General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!

We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip advisor and regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent visit to Sahara Star

I have noted your feedback with extreme concern on your experience at recent stay. I assure you that corrective measures will be initiated in the respective department.

Please accept our sincere apologies and look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future with an assurance of better and improved services.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi
Head Of Operations,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel: +91 22 39895000
Board Fax: +91 22 39895001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This is great hotel with all a business traveller could require. The rooms are clean, comfortable and nicely layed out with all the peace and quiet you could desire away from what is just outside the lobby on the street. The staff are among the most polite and friendliest that I have encountered in my many trips to Mumbai and I have stayed at several different hotels in the past three years.
If I were to change anything it would be the way that the evening entertainment unfolds! There are at minmum two entertainers performing at the same time in the atrium and the hotel continues to run the elevator music at the same time. I won't even comment on the big screen cricket matches that are on nightly as it takes away from the quality of the hotel. Matches would be fine if it were a major event, but everyday matches cheapens the atmosphere of the atrium.
I have been travelling on business worldwide for 40 years and if there are negative reviews concerning the Sahara, chalk it up to the "Rookies" and send them to the Ramada on Juhu!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the atrium, but get one that is further around the floor to avoid having everyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rigcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahara S, General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!

We thank you for choosing Sahara Star as your preferred hotel in Mumbai and our endeavor is to provide all our guests a memorable experience with a fusion of Hospitality and Entertainment.

We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay.

Please accept our sincere apologies and look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future with an assurance of better and improved services.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi
Head Of Operations,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel: +91 22 39895000
Board Fax: +91 22 39895001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

The hotel is very well situated at the airport. Cat get closer than this. Its very beautiful and looks amazing. The rooms are very well laid with the most modern looks & gadgets. The bed quality is superb. Each room has a sit out area with a good view of the entire hotel interiors. Looks beautiful in the night with different light themes. The existing reception, lobby, coffee shop is a temporary setup as the hotel in under renovation ad soon to be the most attractive hotel in Mumbai.

But there is one serious problem. The weekend (Saturday) sleep is horrible due to the dance club and noise levels very high. So high that it ensures no one sleeps in the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to High Lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Akashgupta30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahara S, General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!

We thank you for choosing Sahara Star as your preferred hotel in Mumbai and our endeavor is to provide all our guests a memorable experience with a fusion of Hospitality and Entertainment.

We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay.

Please accept our sincere apologies and look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future with an assurance of better and improved services.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi
Head Of Operations,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel: +91 22 39895000
Board Fax: +91 22 39895001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I should have listened to the reviews. I had a late flight into Mumbai and a flight very early 2 days later. The hotel location was perfect for my meetings.

However - this place is NOISY. It is an open atrium that all rooms look on to. All the public areas are in here and not walled in. The one bar went thumping away until three AM. I even looked out and there were no customers in sight, but yet the music and thumping continued. Two nights of basically zero sleep. Calls to the front desk to at least turn down the volume a bit were met with "yes, sir, thank you sir" - and no action.

The other strange thing - the staff seemed very focused on not lettting certain people into the hotel. Much of the atrium was for 'residents only' including the indoor pool and some little tables amidst the greens. I plopped down with my computer to relax during the day and was asked 4 times within an hour for my room number. It was like everyone was suspicious.

Mumbai traffic is awful, but take the 30 min, 5km ride and stay elsewhere. Your ears and body clock will thank you.

Room Tip: All of the rooms face the atrium. Bring your earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenFBWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahara S, General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!

We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip advisor and regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent visit to Sahara Star

I have noted your feedback with extreme concern on your experience at recent stay. I assure you that corrective measures will be initiated in the respective department.

Please accept our sincere apologies and look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future with an assurance of better and improved services.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi
Head Of Operations,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel: +91 22 39895000
Board Fax: +91 22 39895001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
#23 of 454 in Mumbai
2,771 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#15 of 454 in Mumbai
1,824 reviews
The Lalit Mumbai
#19 of 454 in Mumbai
2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Orchid Mumbai
#44 of 454 in Mumbai
1,724 reviews
The Leela Mumbai
#18 of 454 in Mumbai
2,071 reviews
Taj Santacruz
#6 of 454 in Mumbai
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahara Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Star Hotel

Property: Sahara Star Hotel
Address: opp Domestic Airport, Mumbai 400099, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Mumbai
#14 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai
#14 Family Hotel in Mumbai
#21 Spa Hotel in Mumbai
#22 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,377 - ₹ 21,266
Hotel Class:5 star — Sahara Star Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sahara Star, the flagship hotel of Sahara India Pariwar, is one of India’s most desirable destinations. The 5-star deluxe hotel strategically located near Mumbai's domestic airport magnificently blends Indian mysticism and culture, while personifying the country's progressive spirit blending peerless hospitality with ultra-modern technology. Hotel Sahara Star enthralls the world with its magnificence, an architectural phenomenon, a majestic landmark, a destination to be experienced in its entire splendor. The hotel is a distinct yet contemporary destination which caters to the guest’s requirements with state of the art amenities, services & promotions. Creating a paradigm shift, Sahara Star showcases world largest-pillar-less- clear- to- sky dome, an architectural landmark blending hospitality and entertainment to cater one of the most individualized hospitality experiences. The grand new lobby of the hotel that firmly differentiates between construction and creation is a visual delight, an engineering marvel, a clinical fusion of design and space. Complemented by India's finest 4,000 sq ft Marine Aquarium, abode to world’s only Private Dining Room inside a marine aquarium exquisite marine lives, the Hotel weaves a dining facility amidst these aquatic wonders. The world's first 'hemisphere' three compound-curved custom designed all glass panoramic elevators rising in the exotic 55,000 sq. ft tropical lagoon can be found nowhere else. In an ambience steeped in rich culture and superlative luxury, Sahara Sapphire, Mumbai’s largest pillar-less multi-purpose event hall, gives an opportunity for every host to announce their event to the world. Hotel Sahara Star boasts of its largest hall in the city with a floor plate of 55,000 sq.ft, an impressive ceiling height of 25ft. Besides, reigned by contemporary design, Jade Ballroom embraces a sombre play of elegance. With a capacity to host 1000 guests in its abundant space of 10,000 sq.ft. Jade’s pillar-less multi-function area with a ceiling height of 18 feet is a captivating sight for every guest. With a complete makeover of its exclusive rooms - Earth, Mercury, Uranus and Neptune, Hotel Sahara Star is well appointed with 286 guestrooms inclusive of 14 luxurious suites and 9 Food & Beverage outlets. Hotel Sahara Star features an unbelievable external facade made of glass and steel. Here, the culture, mystique & hospitality of India blends with modern facility & services to create the finest business-cum-leisure hotel of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Yatra, TravelGuru, Expedia, TripOnline SA, EaseMyTrip, ClearTrip, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sahara Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahara Hotel Mumbai
Sahara Star Hotel In Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing