We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”
Review of Royal Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Garden Hotel
Ranked #315 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed 10 March 2008

Arrived here from Kerala and got picked up by the hotel car which was a joy - the driver had waited an hour for us after our flight was delayed. No problem booking another car back to the international airport the next day either. The entrance is bathed in lights and the entrance very grand. Very helpful staff too, from initial booking right through our (one-night) stay. And this is what makes the difference, as the room was not that great, a little plain and a little dusty, and a lack of character overall. But with an excellent Indian breakfast, and a pleasant walk along Juhu Beach the following morning, for an overnight it was fine, if a little overpriced (like almost all Juhu hotels are).

  • Liked — location near airport
  • Disliked — overpriced and a little dusty
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roberciku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    31
    26
    16
    16
See reviews for
25
14
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taipei
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2008

Stayed 3 nights at the hotel near Juhu Beach in Mumbai in Jan, 08. For nearly USD175/night (Rp6,600) is was very disappointing! The bathroom fixtures were dangling, and the shower knob fell off on first
use, and the rest of the room was in a similar state of disrepair, although I would say clean enough. No internet access whatsoever, an appalling, inedible breakfast, and although close to Juhu Beach, it is a block in and no view except other crappy buildings. You can do MUCH better in Mumbai city, and better in Juhu without shelling out for a 5 star.

For Rp 2500 it would be acceptable, NOT 6,600! One positive note was the guy who checked me in was very nice, and let me check in early in the morning at no extra charge.

  • Liked — Checking in early
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JetskiTaipei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2007

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel and found it comfortable and clean and good value compared to others of similar price. Very quiet considering how near it is to the airport. They collected us in a complimetary air conditioned car from the airport, and we got a discount for booking via the website.

Staff were very helpful and the evening meal we had was superb. There was an excellent complimentary breakfast in the morning. Would stay there again if we are ever in this overpriced city again.

  • Liked — clean and comfortable, fantadstic food
  • Disliked — overpriced in comparison to UK
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank joyc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2007

I stayed at the Royal Garden Hotel in Mumbai for a night while waiting for a long layover between connecting flights on a business trip.

The front desk manager was very nice and helpful. They provided a free shuttle service to the airport. (A good taxi costs about Rs. 500-700, or about US$13-15, and it is about a 25 minute ride).

The hotel itself was clean, quiet, and they have renovated recently. The building is quite old, however, so expect some wear and tear.

The bathroom was OK, but the mirror was damaged right at eye level, and the toilet didn't flush so well.

The A/C was cold (that's a good thing) and the bedsheets were skimpy--but after I turned the A/C off, I was fine. Outside temperature was about 30C.

To summarize, for me it was an adequate experience; nothing fancy, but clean, comfortable, and quiet nonetheless. I will stay here again in a few weeks time on the journey home.

  • Liked — Convenience and cleanliness
  • Disliked — It was fine, but the overall experience could have been better.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wayward_coyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Hotel Atlantic
#317 of 454 in Mumbai
62 reviews
Juhu
Citizen Hotel
Citizen Hotel
#136 of 454 in Mumbai
200 reviews
Juhu
Hotel Beach Garden
Hotel Beach Garden
#196 of 454 in Mumbai
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Juhu
JC Chalet
JC Chalet
#372 of 454 in Mumbai
180 reviews
Juhu
Hotel Juhu Plaza
Hotel Juhu Plaza
#355 of 454 in Mumbai
69 reviews
Juhu
Hotel Bawa Continental
Hotel Bawa Continental
#76 of 454 in Mumbai
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Property: Royal Garden Hotel
Address: Juhu Tara Road | Juhu Beach, Mumbai 400049, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #315 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,488 - ₹ 8,784
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in Juhu near the beach and it has 36 rooms with 24 hours room service in operation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ClearTrip, OYO Rooms, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing