We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel
Ranked #33 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
“Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

I checked-in in Le sutra on the 26th of jan where I was giving the Shuddi (purity room). I really like my room as it was spaced out, with alot of light coming in and the meaning of the room as well. They next day they made me change my room due to some misunderstanding. I was not happy with this decision but I got a even better room Taal(music). I felt lucky to be able to stay in two different rooms and experience two different stories as well. I was very impressed by the helpfulness of the staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashugandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeSutraMumbai, General Manager at Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Sir,

Every room in Le Sutra feels better than the previous.. though the senses would be indeed captivated by a particular theme ( in your case Taal ). Once you soak in the art elements and the soul of the theme around which the room is based, you cant help but be pleasantly delighted ( we dare say ). We are indeed pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff helpful.

Looking forward to your next visit with us so that we can pamper you further...

Best Regards.

Sampreeth Kotian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    105
    31
    5
    13
See reviews for
41
83
56
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
OZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

What an absolute treasure in Mumbai! I am immensely grateful to have found Le Sutra, which draws upon its namesake, the ancient Yoga Sutras (teachings), for its' design inspiration. Every small detail has been tastefully n beautifully executed within a calm, peaceful n harmonious Yogic context: furniture, lighting,  wall features, tiling, ornaments, perfumed sticks, extensive mini-bar & book selection:

• Hindu Rites, Rituals, Customs & Traditions
• Handmade In India - Crafts of India
• A Magazine Of Art
• Sri Yogavasishtam - Book Of Beginnings & Endings

On arrival I was personally escorted to my room by the very warm n amiable Front Desk staff who took care to explain the symbolism of the special designs, including Siva's trident, the tiled waters of purification, the meditation chair in the tradition of Great Rishi's from centuries past. 

There is so much there: WI-FI; magnificent complimentary teas; a gift to compliment the design of your particular room (in my case a 'yog-dand' wooden tool to assist in breath & mind control); a very adequate breakfast buffet in a quiet setting, as well as a complimentary afternoon accompaniment to tea of very special Indian delights, both sweet n unusual, such as the digestive Paan.

The real cherry-on-the-top of this magnificent Le Sutra experience was its' remarkable staff - so incredibly thoughtful, warm, personable, genuine n natural. Owing to a fleeting stay in Mumbai I was grateful for the suggestion of a private car for an 8hour/80km package. All in all this was a fitting n unexpectedly serendipitous end to a one year stay in India dedicated to learning n practising the Yogic Path. My heartfelt thanks to all at Le Sutra.

Om Shanti Shanti Shanti 

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeSutraMumbai, General Manager at Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Ma'am,

Delightful guests like you make us believe that there’s always room to be creatively different in hospitality!!

Your review should ideally feature on our Hotel's brochure.. as I seriously doubt whether there is even an iota of detail which has been missed in your describing about the Hotel, staff, services as well as the Shuddhi room !!! and that too within 1 day's stay !!

Being heralded as... the unexpectedly serendipitous befitting end to a one year stay in India dedicated to learning n practising the Yogic Path.... makes us grin from ear-to-ear.

Looking forward to your next visit with us so that we can pamper you further...

Best Regards.

Sampreeth Kotian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

My stay at Le Sutra was a very short one, was basically on work. I stayed in the Maya room, I had no time to visit any monument but the hotel was no less than any monument. The hotel has been designed based on Indian philosophy. It’s one of its kinds. The ambience of my room made me ponder about what life is and how our entire life is a delusion. The staff makes you feel at home, with service as prompt as it can get. The food at its restaurant ‘Out of the Blue’ was awesome.

Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank vav123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeSutraMumbai, General Manager at Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
It is really heartening to know that our room theme and decor could spur you to ponder about life... However, trust me, the room that you stayed in was just the tip of teh preverbial iceberg ( and I not creating an illusion / maya here ) . We have rooms based on mythology, spirituality and music as well which I am sure you will appreciate...

Looking forward to your next visit.. to pamper you with our services.

Best Regards.

Sampreeth Kotian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
148 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

The rooms was booked by one of friend.I did not heard about this hotel anymore but after my check in i felt why he booked this one for me.Great service and great location.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeSutraMumbai, General Manager at Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Sir,

It is indeed a privilege for us to have such a well-travelled personality rate us so highly. Heartfelt thanks are also, in order, for your friend who booked your stay with us.

The best part of a unknown entity is when it turns out to be a unique feel-good experience !! It is quite evident that the initially perceived unsure Le Sutra Hotel turned out to be indeed a pleasant experience for you !!

Looking forward to your next stay with us...

Best Regards.

Sampreeth Kotian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We booked this hotel after reading great reviews and we were not disappointed. Attention to detail was great, rooms very comfortable and the location was fairly chill out for Mumbai. Only feedback was that the staff were extremely helpful but their knowledge of sights and activities was a bit limited. Overall however our experience was very positive.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahpr2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeSutraMumbai, General Manager at Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Ma'am,

We are indeed glad that you like the hospitality that we as a team at Le Sutra have to offer. As you had pointed out that the concierge skills of the Reception team needed updation, we worked on this constructive feedback very positively and you can be guaranteed that on your next visit, you will find a much more assured Reception team... for sure !!!

Looking forward to your next stay with us...so that we can assess our assumption of being better equipped to handle concierge services...

Best Regards.

Sampreeth Kotian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
The Oriental Residency
#59 of 440 in Mumbai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Bandra West
Hotel Executive Enclave
Hotel Executive Enclave
#77 of 440 in Mumbai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Regal Enclave
#62 of 440 in Mumbai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Hotel Shubhangan
#122 of 440 in Mumbai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel

Property: Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel
Address: 14 Union Park | Off Carter Road, Between Olive and Out of the Blue restaurant,, Mumbai 400052, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,087 - ₹ 20,749
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Sutra is the thread that blends aesthetics, hospitality and mind space…effortlessly. Interestingly, Le Sutra is the only Hotel in the world based on the Indian philosophy and narrated through contemporary art! The hotel wins admiration for the intricately crafted inlays and artifacts, uncompromising comfort, its living-up-to-the-hype restaurants (Out of the Blue, Olive) and the fabulous location (Bandra is touted as the queen of suburbs of Mumbai). With 14 uniquely individually-themed Indian Art rooms at Le Sutra and 8 comfortably stylish apartments at Sutra D’Onyx, the guests are literally spoilt for choice. Our client base consists of 40% foreign internationals who find the exciting packages such as Senorita (single lady), the Weekend special (it doesn’t get lower than this), the Celebrations (they make it unique) and the Experience (adored by couples) really difficult to resist. Our Yoga and Art tour packages have further enhanced the Indian Art image of the Hotel. Every guest is pampered to the core and the surprise room-theme-based gift on check-out is an absolute clincher! Le Sutra indeed has a unique product to offer to their guests, who are often heard stating that the pampering offered at Le Sutra, Mumbai, is grossly missed by them when they go visiting other locations in India. The Le Sutra team is extremely open to constructive feedback and are solely committed to make the Le Sutra Hospitality experience the best and one of a kind.Come..visit us..and we assure you it would be worth the time spent in knowing about a Hotel which breathes Indian philosophy for its very existence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and ClearTrip so you can book your Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing