We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If this is a 3 star hotel I'll eat my hat!”
Review of Hotel Metro Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metro Palace
Ranked #171 of 391 Mumbai B&B and Inns
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If this is a 3 star hotel I'll eat my hat!”
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Didn't get round to booking hotel before arriving in bombay so ended up getting this place via a hotel reservation place at the airport. Granted, school boy errors from the beginning. Yes we paid over the odds (5000R for a triple) but we were in a rush. Apparantly the hotel is a 3 star. No its not, its a 1 star hotel really. the place hasn't seen a lick of paint since the 1970's and i agree with the previous comments that you wouldn't want to spend more than 1 night here. Breakfast is poor with extremely limited selection. Yes the location is good for the night spots of Bandra.....(if they let you in) although that said not one...and i mean not one of the auto drivers we stopped knew where the place was, and that was showing them address of the place. the only redeeming feature is the free airport transfer. You have been warned!

  • Liked — Free airport transfers
  • Disliked — Everything else, especially the dirty rundown rooms
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BLlimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    32
    31
    21
    15
See reviews for
22
13
14
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2008

We arrived on 26th Dec after spending a few days in Goa. This hotel is in a very good location for the lively nightlife of Bandra however I would much much rather stay somewhere else and get a cab there for the nightlife. The entire hotel, including our room smelt of urine, our room had blood stains on the walls (from where guests had killed mosquitos, one hopes!!). The Toilet / shower were seperated by all of 20 cm. The decor of the room was something out of the 1960's. The whole place felt dirty and rivited with mosqitos, rats and ants! We managed to stay one night (as we arrived quite late and was too late to find somewhere else). We promptly left in the morning and went to the JW Marriot, which is waaaay overpriced but more than worth it for the cleanliness!

I would reccomend the Hotel Accord in Santa Cruz, its cheaper than the Metro and very very clean and nice!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everyting
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Sunil-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai hotels

London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2008

Overpriced, but the free airport pickup/dropoff was the draw for us. Our room was the one above standard but was very old and with noisy a/c. The free breakfast was served in the downstairs bar, not very glam. I wouldn't want to stay more than one night.

  • Liked — proximity to airport
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_l049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2008

Hotel prices in Mumbai are a general headache. Hotels tend to come with Scandinavian price tags, but deliver much less. That said, if you are looking for a moderately priced place close to airports or Bandra nightlife, this hotel is fairly ok. The airport pick up and drop off is included in the room price. We stayed only one night between the aircraft transfer.

The best thing about this hotel is its location in the middle of the lively Bandra district which has some interesting restaurants and night life as well as good shopping possibilities. Yet the international and domestic airports are also close. The room itself was quite run down but clean. There were some mosqitos though in the night. The door lock was is poor condition. On arrival and departure the belly boys insisted carrying the luggages and were too eagerly looking for tips. Despite the critic, compared to many discouraging reviews about midrange airport hotels in Mumbai (in this site) I think the € 60+ (including airport transfers) we paid for this hotel through Travelmasti web site was ok for the quality. The hotel itself asked much more, I guess close to € 90 which would have been ridiculous considering the modest quality of the room.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Modest condition of the room
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SampHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Hotel Rang Sharda
#325 of 454 in Mumbai
40 reviews
Bandra West
Hotel Executive Enclave
Hotel Executive Enclave
#82 of 454 in Mumbai
338 reviews
Bandra West
Treebo New Castle
Treebo New Castle
#183 of 454 in Mumbai
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oriental Residency
#59 of 454 in Mumbai
355 reviews
Hotel Regal Enclave
#70 of 454 in Mumbai
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro Palace

Property: Hotel Metro Palace
Address: 355 Ramdas Nayak Marg Hill Road | Opposite Marks & Spencer Mall Bandra West, Mumbai 400050, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai > Bandra West
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 391 B&Bs / Inns in Mumbai
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,740 - ₹ 5,803
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Metro Palace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are hotel situated in the queen of suburbs - Bandra (West)- Mumbai. We are surrounded by restaurant, pubs, movie theatre, shopping malls & areas, etc. Easily accessible to BKC, Seepz, Andheri, Worli, NESCO, etc... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Yatra, TravelGuru, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Metro Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing