We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrors” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Benzy Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Benzy Palace
Ranked #313 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
1 review
“Horrors”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I had visited this place some 2 years back, for the first time, with a group of colleagues. The decor looked decent and my colleagues wanted to savor Kerala cuisine, which this place purportedly specialized in. The experience was totally disappointing to say the least. First of all, the orders arrived almost an hour after it was placed. We should have got out long before that but unfortunately didn't.
The food quality was pathetic. Most of my colleagues walked out after the first few bites. The meat was not fresh, the prawns felt as if they had just been taken out of the freezer, defrosted and then put in some gravy and served.

Never went back there till yesterday. A friend and I had some work in the area around lunch time. We saw this place, and there was a sea food festival going on. I thought after two years things must have improved. Also, it was a seafood festival so they would definitely try to serve decent food.

But what a horror story it turned out to be!

They had some food on display like they usually do at these festivals but it was not covered and there were flies swooping around. That should have served as the first clue. But we were taken in with the sight of those fishes and prawns.

We ordered some prawns, fish fry, fish curry and rice. The prawns were shrimps actually. For 300 bucks we had expected a few pieces of large juicy prawns. Secondly, it was cooked in onion and curry leaves and lotsa masala, and it tasted like rubber. We wasted more than half of it.
The fried surmai arrived next. Again we felt as if we were eating a week old slice. The fish curry was cooked in tamarind, it was so tangy we all gave up after the first spoonful. And to think we paid 300 bucks for each dish.

But the horrific part is yet to come.

On the way out we decided to check the items on display and we realized they had actually warmed up and served us the food they had kept on display. And to add to our nausea we could see flies sticking to the food as they had not bothered to cover the displayed food with a glass dish.

Just the thought is enough to upset my tummy all over again.

But what upset me most was that there were some foreigners there and to imagine this is the impression they will carry of our food and service back home.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mekatas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    5
    10
    11
    9
See reviews for
6
10
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

The night at Hotel Benzy Palace was the nightmare!!!

The Hotel is incredible dirty and after that very uncomfortable feeling of being in a such dirty place a RAT was discovering in our room!!!!!!! A big RAT!!!The service was terrible and at the reception desk when we complain about the rat they where very rude!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

In what century was this a palace?

Not three star accommodation.

Not even worth a review just writing as a warning. Avoid. Restaurant disgusting. Rooms and bathrooms dirty.Hallways gross. I refused to even touch the towels provided. This is owned by Akbar travel agency (in the airports) which gave us a great air price but the hotel was horrible). So glad I had my sleep sac. Can't believe I didn't get sick here. Wait, I did.

Here are three bones for them: airport pickup and drop was included-- couldn't get me out fast enougg; my room actually had a western toilet and free internet (sitting behind the desk with the creepy front desk staff as I planned my escape since the only computer, no wifi, is their desk computer).

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbodht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evora, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

The rooms are very, very dirty! And there was a RAT running from the bathroom, when we were almost sleeping! At 1 am we had to move to another hotel. In the reception they were not even friendly or helpful to find another place to move on!
After we arrived in Portugal we have made a complaint to the Travel Agency (Valerie, in Goa) that booked the hotel for us and, not only they don't refund our payment but they called us LYERS!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IsabelRamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raipur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

The hotel location is very good for stay coze it is in the mid of the Market.
7 kms from Airport 15kms from Juhu beach Rooms are neat and clean room service is good The restaurant is also good. The food has quality which is worth wile.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRAKASH_PKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Hotel Cosmo
#256 of 440 in Mumbai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
The Cottage Hotel
#145 of 440 in Mumbai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Hotel Kumkum
#74 of 440 in Mumbai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blue Orchids Executive
#372 of 440 in Mumbai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Juhu
JC Chalet
JC Chalet
#341 of 440 in Mumbai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Lake Bloom Residency
#178 of 440 in Mumbai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Benzy Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Benzy Palace

Property: Hotel Benzy Palace
Address: Marol Maroshi Road, Mumbai 400059, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #313 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,422 - ₹ 3,076
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Benzy Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Yatra, Agoda and ClearTrip so you can book your Hotel Benzy Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing