We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very smelly, thin-walled & rip-off” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Strand Hotel
Ranked #265 of 433 Hotels in Mumbai
Tilburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very smelly, thin-walled & rip-off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

hy go there? Because of the location.
Why not going there?
1. The rooms were very smelly. Every time we put on the AC, which was needed because of the heat, a smell of urine came into our room. As the AC was 30cm from the pillows in our beds, it was awful.
2. The rooms (downstairs) are very noisy. Our room was separated by a thin wall with big cranks. We could see light from the other room coming in. Worst of all our neighbors were having sex. A bit loud, and because of the thin walls it was as if we were in the middle of it.
3. The rooms are expensive (as most rooms in Mumbai). We paid 60 euros per night (discounted price). That was too much.
4. Staff is not professional: ripping us off and begging for tips. The staff tried to pull us of a few times. I asked the man at the reception for the price for a taxi to the airport. It was absurd high and the taxi nothing special. He just wanted to send us to a taxi at the street side. For that service he seemed it was right to put an extra high commission on it for him self. Furthermore: the men at the door beg for tips. For doing what? Nothing. Walking along to our room (10 meters) and walking to the taxi (10 meters).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank krijn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    22
    22
    21
    28
See reviews for
13
34
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

This hotel is certainly over priced for what it is, however we have no faults with our stay.

Location is excellent. It is on the same road as the famous Taj Mahal Palace hotel and is in view of the Gateway of India and is on the sea/harbour front, so if you have the front bedrooms, the view is fantastic. However we had a cheaper room at the back.

Rooms are ok sized if not a bit on the small side, clean and have everything you need for a basic nights stay when sight seeing. Room came with bathroom, clean towels, bedding, TV, Room Service, Wake up call, TV, AC and ceiling fan. The room is VERY over priced for what it is but I guess you are paying for the location more than anything.
We ordered room service for breakfast which came reasonably quick and was ok priced. We only had cereal and coffee but it was nice. We also had a free newspaper outside our door in the morning and the staff are more than welcome to help with luggage. Im guessing we were suppose to tip but as budget travellers, we didn't ha oops!

So yeah, for location and a clean room this hotel is fine. Its far from luxury so dont expect a beautiful room and view if you opt for the cheapest room! I cant vouch for what the other rooms looked like!

Had a very good and quiet nights sleep with no disturbance so thats the main thing for us!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HippyHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

I was slightly disappointed. Simple things were missing that should be basics in any hotel. We were told that only 1 towel per room is given. Tea is not served in the room, we need to go to the dining hall for tea. Food was decent, served buffet style in the dining hall.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank White D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

On arrival the manger at front desk was very grumpy and unpleasant despite us already having a booking online.
Room was clean enough but for the price of the room (around Rs.3500/night) it could have been much cleaner.
Our shower head had 4 streams coming out of it which i had to fix with a pin.
The basin tap would not turn off. Despite telling service staff this it was not repaired during our stay and therefore flowed the whole time we where there.
Service staff were friendly, however the manager of the service staff told us how much she wanted for a tip and visited our room multiple times just to ask for a tip. We are always happy to tip any good friendly service however we don't appreciate being told how much to tip someone before we get a chance to offer.
The food in the restaurant was ok and the waiter there was very pleasant and helpful.
Rooms were large enough.
Overall: Not worth the amount charged. We wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingOzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai hotels

Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

It is a wonderful location to stay at Mumbai, and considering the rates it is not so costly too. ....You are staying a look away from The Taj mahal and Gate way of India. Facilities are vintage and probably the maintenance is just for sustenance. Services are hardly any to offer than the dire necessities. But of course it is a happening place all around.

Room Tip: sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramesh2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
0.0 km away
Sea Palace Hotel
Sea Palace Hotel
#220 of 433 in Mumbai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Harbour View
Hotel Harbour View
#237 of 433 in Mumbai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.4 km away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#358 of 433 in Mumbai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Godwin
Hotel Godwin
#122 of 433 in Mumbai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#186 of 433 in Mumbai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Blue Bird
Hotel Blue Bird
#259 of 433 in Mumbai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Hotel

Property: Strand Hotel
Address: Apollo Bunder Prem Ramchandani Marg | near Gateway of India, Mumbai 400001, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai > Gateway of India
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 433 Hotels in Mumbai
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,085 - ₹ 6,332
Hotel Class:2 star — Strand Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand Hotel is located in city of dreamers, stalwarts and the common man, Mumbai. This is located at the distance of 300 meters from Gateway of India, 2.7 km from Chhatrapati Shivaji Train Terminus and nearest airport at 26.3 km from Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport. Property provides facilities like Wi-Fi, car rental, laundry, parking service, travel desk and room service. In-house multi-cuisine restaurant dishes out the best of Indian and international delicacies to cajole the taste-buds. In medical emergency one can avail doctor on call facility. The rooms in the hotel are well-furnished, ventilated, clean and come with good quality furniture. The hotel houses simple and sober rooms that offer a homely ambiance to guests. All rooms have attached bathroom with essential bathroom toiletries & linen, Complimentary High Speed Wireless Internet, Airconditioner, LED TV with satellite channels,telephone and many more. It is all about the experience that goes beyond the ordinary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, OYO Rooms, Hotels.com, ClearTrip and Stayzilla so you can book your Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing