We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Apollo Bunder”
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #98 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai
Reviewed 30 December 2016

I chose this hotel due to its price and proximity to the Apollo Bunder, the launch site for ferries going to Elephanta Island. The hotel is old and needs remodeling. Also, they only allowed registered guests past the reception desk; I had to talk with a friend of mine in the lobby as the staff kept watching us after they refused to allow him to go to my room.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (305)
There are newer reviews for Ascot Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2016

In early December I stayed two nights at the Ascot Hotel. It is located in the Colaba section of Mumbai which is easy walking distance to any of the tourist sites in the Colaba and Fort districts. I have been to Mumbai several times and the size of the room I had was far larger than any other room I had in the Ascot's price range. The room was comfortable and very clean. Jackson who was at the front desk the days I stayed there was most accommodating and helpful with any information or directions that were needed. The hotel staff that I encountered were also very accommodating, efficient and pleasant. The breakfast that was included was well prepared and more than enough to satisfy any hungry person. The WIFI was also very good and accessible in the room as well as the lobby area. I take at least 5 foreign trips each year and have stayed in many hotels and the Ascot Hotel ranks at the top of the hotels I've stayed in. I am giving the Ascot Hotel my best recommendation. Also, the hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the Sasson Dock where the fishing boats offload their nightly catch for distribution to merchants, restaurants, and consumers.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

The hotel is located just off Colaba Causeway in downtown Mumbai, and therefore excellently located within walking distance of the Gateway to India. The rooms are modern, quiet and well maintained. The staff at reception isparticularly helpful and friendly - organizing transportation, suggesting places to eat etc. This said, the choices for breakfast are somewhat limited for such a quality hotel otherwise, and the coffee (instant) is close to undrinkable. And it is a pity that no alcohol is a available. But all in all, a great place to stay for a few days in Mumbai

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Filip V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016

We booked on-line at the Godwin Hotel, and after 4 days checked out and into the Ascot Hotel, 4 doors down. What a memorable experience! From the professionalism, courtesy and kindness we were afforded at reception by Mr Jackson when enquiring for a room (and by each and every staff member we encountered during our stay); to the spacious, beautifully appointed and immaculately clean room and bathroom (the latter in particular!!); the excellent breakfast and the gracious willingness to go out late at night to find ice cream :), leaves one feeling as if you are the only and most important guest. High praise to each and every member of staff. Well done to management. Highly recommend staying at this hotel and I intend returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank catherinebinky2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

- Courteous staff
- Room are clean and very large
- Bathrooms are luxurious (Although the toiletries are pathetic and sometimes missing)
- Excellent location. For those who are in Bombay as tourists, it cant get better than this
- The hotel is targeted at international travellers from Middle East; as a result you will find that the rooms are designed with the needs of such travellers in mind (you will find everything from the menu to the sign boards in English and in Arabic; fixtures and amenities of the rooms are also designed with middle eastern needs in mind). So, for someone who is used business hotels, this might seem a little odd at the beginning. But dont worry. Its a very good and courteous hotel with great service
- Food from room service is good; but OVERPRICED

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jagghead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Hotel Suba Palace
#60 of 453 in Mumbai
433 reviews
Hotel Godwin
#131 of 453 in Mumbai
245 reviews
Regent Hotel Colaba
#179 of 453 in Mumbai
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#37 of 453 in Mumbai
822 reviews
The Gordon House Hotel
#78 of 453 in Mumbai
274 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Residency Fort
Hotel Residency Fort
#18 of 453 in Mumbai
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Address: 38 Garden Road, | Colaba, Mumbai 400039, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Mumbai
Price Range: ₹ 8,192 - ₹ 10,321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel In Mumbai
Hotel Ascot Mumbai
Ascot Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing