We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location; good rooms; Targeted at a niche customer segment”
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #98 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai
Reviewed 5 July 2016

- Courteous staff
- Room are clean and very large
- Bathrooms are luxurious (Although the toiletries are pathetic and sometimes missing)
- Excellent location. For those who are in Bombay as tourists, it cant get better than this
- The hotel is targeted at international travellers from Middle East; as a result you will find that the rooms are designed with the needs of such travellers in mind (you will find everything from the menu to the sign boards in English and in Arabic; fixtures and amenities of the rooms are also designed with middle eastern needs in mind). So, for someone who is used business hotels, this might seem a little odd at the beginning. But dont worry. Its a very good and courteous hotel with great service
- Food from room service is good; but OVERPRICED

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jagghead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (305)
There are newer reviews for Ascot Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2016

We checked in at The Ascot Hotel after having spent a few hours at the horrible Dolphin Hotel.

The Ascot Hotel is situated in Colaba and is centrally located to many shops, restaurants and sight seeing areas.

My family and myself checked-in at The Ascot Hotel and we were warmly greeted by the Reception staff and we were shown to our room. The room was a spacious one, with a king size bed, linen was clean as well as the room and on top of that the bathroom was clean and it even had a bathtub and a shower cubicle. The water pressure was to it's optimum and it was a real delight to use these facilities.

The housekeeping had placed the various towels, bath, hand towels and they were clean.

In the room you had free wifi,safe, TV, cup board and an ironing board too.

The breakfast was quite simple toast tea, coffee, jam, butter, eggs and fruits. But please don't expect a big buffet as there's none. The F & B staff are helpful and do their best to assist to guest needs.

The hotel has a large Muslim clientele yet it's a nice place to stay at. I would like to thank Mr Jackson and Mr Meneez for their assistance.

Upon check-out we were leaving early morning but Mr Jackson and the F & B team ensured we had breakfast before we left. Thank you once more for your hospitality.

We had an enjoyable stay at the Ascot Hotel.

Stayed: March 2016
Thank RnB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2016

This was our third stay at The Ascot and we found it just as good as on our previous visits.
The rooms are spacious, clean and have plenty of cupboards and drawers with a safe (free of charge). The AC is efficient.
The breakfast is simple but quite sufficient. Canned orange juice, cornflakes, freshly cut fruit , eggs and/or veg cutlet, muffin, toast and jam with tea or coffee all with very efficient service.
I note others on this site have commented on the number of Muslim residents. There always appears to be quite a few quests from AEU and I understand that they are there whilst they attend various Hospitals in Mumbai for treatment. They appear to be usually in families. They also seem to spend a large proportion of the the time in their rooms. It is true during early evening they can be heard in their rooms and in the corridors but this noise is not overly excessive and in any case by 11pm - midnight the hotel is very quiet. Alcohol is not sold in the hotel and non guests are not allowed to visit guests' rooms. I would say in general the Hotel is very quiet and I have always enjoyed a good nights sleep there.
There is a very simple restaurant menu but due to the excellent location of the hotel ( just off the Causeway ) I personally would not dream of eating there as there are several very good restaurants within easy walking distance - some only two or three minutes. ( Churchills, Basilico, Koyla to name but three ). The location also means it is very handy for all the attractions in Colaba.
Jackson ,who appears to work most evenings in reception, must be the most charming, friendly and helpful Receptionist I have ever met.
When in Mumbai I would not want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016

The Ascot Hotel is located in Colaba in a convenient location near the Gateway of India, shopping, and other nice restaurants. The hotel is very clean and rooms are nice. They have a small restaurant in the lobby for simple, but good food. The staff are friendly and very helpful. I enjoyed my stay there, and was very happy with the room.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016

This hotel is in Colaba - which is just a few blocks from the Gateway of India and Marine Drive in downtown Bombay. Makes for good walking and lots to see - along Mumbai's congested streets and sidewalks. The rooms were good and the breakfast (comp) was limited but good with very good service. the price is also right - it's one of the cheaper hotels in this district - without some of the flash. It's not the Taj or one of the others on the waterfront, but it's also way less $. Oh yes, interesting to be in a hotel with a largely Muslim clientelle - which doesn't detract from is appeal.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank F6186CCdavidr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Hotel Suba Palace
#60 of 453 in Mumbai
433 reviews
Hotel Godwin
#131 of 453 in Mumbai
245 reviews
Regent Hotel Colaba
#179 of 453 in Mumbai
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#37 of 453 in Mumbai
822 reviews
The Gordon House Hotel
#78 of 453 in Mumbai
274 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Residency Fort
Hotel Residency Fort
#18 of 453 in Mumbai
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Address: 38 Garden Road, | Colaba, Mumbai 400039, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Mumbai
Price Range: ₹ 8,192 - ₹ 10,321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel In Mumbai
Hotel Ascot Mumbai
Ascot Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing