We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value mid range hotel in convenient Colaba location”
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #104 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good value mid range hotel in convenient Colaba location”
Reviewed 16 January 2016

While the Ascot is not in the same league as the Taj Hotel it is a good value mid range hotel for travellers not looking to spend a lot of money but who want a safe and clean hotel with most amenities in a good location. We had a Superior room for 3 nights. The room was a little tired but was comfortable with a good bathroom and shower and air con. Breakfast was basic but good and the staff were always polite and helpful. It is located just off Colaba Causeway and an easy 5-10 minute walk to the Taj Hotel, Cafe Leopold and Gateway of India. Plenty of shops and roadside stalls in the area. All up it is a good value hotel that will give you a nice base to explore from.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are the same as Superior rooms, just a little bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    135
    22
    5
    17
See reviews for
47
129
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2016

Hotel walking distance from gate way of India, shopping and restaurants. The hotel room and bathroom was spacious and clean. There was an iron and a iron board which was quite handy for us ladies. The staff were excellent, especially Mr Meneez and Mr Jackson they were so accommodating. Our flights were early parts of the morning and although we checked out in the afternoon, our baggage was stored away for us and we were allowed to freshen up before we left.
Really felt sad to leave.

Room Tip: Any unit will do cos this road is not that noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rooksana56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2016

SERVICE excellent .have to mention MR JACKSON and MR MENEEZ who go the extra mile to make our stay as comfortable as possible love the place.THE staff all very helpful .HOtel very clean rooms very spacious tnx to mr Jackson for making sure i got a reservation.

  • Stayed January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FawziaFakir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2016

This is a wonderful hotel. We spent that last days of our 3 week India holiday here and were so glad we did!

The hotel is modern and beautifully designed. The staff are professional, discrete and well informed. The front desk is happy to cater to any requirement - make dinner reservations, organize a car and driver, order in food or beverages, currency exchange....

The Ascot Hotel is located in Colaba, south Mumbai, and is an easy stroll to many sites, the Gateway of India, Prince of Wales Museum, the fabled Taj Mahal Hotel and excellent shopping.

Our room was clean, spacious with a wonderfully comfortable bed, the bathroom fully appointed with both a shower and bathtub.

One morning a gentleman in the elevator asked us if we were enjoying our stay. We happily told him how pleased we were, he thanked us saying he was the owner and noted that he had a told his staff to give us a mid afternoon check-out as our flight was leaving in the evening.

Upon leaving we were asked if there was anything about the hotel that was lacking, we mentioned that good brewed coffee for breakfast would make a great improvement over the Nescafe instant and less complicated access to english programming on the television would be welcomed.

We will definitely stay here again when returning to Mumbai!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IMK-2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Ascot twice in December, first for 2 nights and then 1 night on the way back. Both times the room was large, clean and comfortable; staff were really helpful. There was plenty of hot water in the shower and bathroom was very clean. The breakfast of masala omelette, toast and chai was delicious. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially manager Jackson. We also used the hotel car service for going to and from the airport each time which made things very easy. I'll definitely stay at the ascot again.

Stayed December 2015, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank danielzoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#63 of 453 in Mumbai
431 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Godwin
Hotel Godwin
#136 of 453 in Mumbai
242 reviews
0.6 km away
The Gordon House Hotel
The Gordon House Hotel
#80 of 453 in Mumbai
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#38 of 453 in Mumbai
805 reviews
0.3 km away
Regent Hotel Colaba
Regent Hotel Colaba
#184 of 453 in Mumbai
161 reviews
1.4 km away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#105 of 453 in Mumbai
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Property: Ascot Hotel
Address: 38 Garden Road, | Colaba, Mumbai 400039, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Mumbai
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,027 - ₹ 9,825
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelGuru, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel In Mumbai
Hotel Ascot Mumbai
Ascot Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing