We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location in Mumbai”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #88 of 444 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
231 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Good location in Mumbai”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

LOCATION: Ascot Hotel is in a central location within easy walking distance to India Gate, restaurants and street markets.

TYPE OF ROOM: Our room was a Deluxe Double, with AC, and included breakfast + taxes. Rs 6500.
The room itself was huge, but up close it was evident that furniture was dated, and needed some TLC.
The doors into the rooms let in a lot of noise from the hallway (when closed). We had other guests on our floor who had booked out the rest of the floor, we could hear them going in and out of the rooms all day/night.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: The bathroom was a good size, and included a separate bath and shower. The shower pressure was good, however the bathroom was showing signs of water damage with the mirror frame rotting and corners of door frames rotting.

CLEANLINESS: The room on the surface appeared clean, however as we used/touched things we noticed they were not particularly clean, and given the price we would have expected it to be spotless.
Floors were quite stained, they had been swept, but didn’t appear to be mopped thoroughly.

CLOSET SPACE: There was plenty of closet space and space for storing bags and cases. There was also a safe in the room.

TV/INTERNET: There was a TV in the room with a good selection of stations. WiFi was available for a fee.

SERVICE: The staff in the restaurant were friendly, the staff at Reception were not very personable, however Shashankar was very helpful.

Ascot is only a couple of years old, however is showing it’s age. When it opened the tariff was perhaps justifiable, however now, given the condition of the rooms it is over priced.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gounta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    136
    22
    5
    16
See reviews for
47
128
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

The Ascot Hotel is very well situated within walking distance of the Gate and other attractions in that area. The staff were very helpful and pleasant and the hotel itself was very clean and the room we had on the ground floor was very large with a beautiful bathroom. I would highly recommend this as a good value for money hotel in the right area of Mumbai.

Room Tip: We stayed in a large room on the ground floor and I would recommend that one asks for this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hennopsrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We walked past this on our first day in Mumbai and booked it for our last day after returning from Goa. The hotel is modern, clean and in a great location just behind the Gateway to India. The room was massive, modern and quite luxurious for a 3 star rated hotel. To be honest this should be more like a 4 star. Colaba Causeway is a step away however the room was very quiet (apart from a very loud cat fight!!). The staff were very helpful and we wished we could have stayed longer. I have stayed at 3 other 3 star hotels in Mumbai but this is far superior.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SWI1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

The Ascot is very well located on a quiet leafy street, close to the Gateway of India. The hotel is well-appointed, the lobby is pleasant and the rooms are clean and comfortable. I've slept well both times I've stayed at the Ascot. Overall it is a great choice in a city with very limited mid-buget options. It is not perfect though: the reservations/booking system is chaotic, it's hard to get a proper confirmation email and you do wonder if you will have a room when you arrive. Also, I have stayed there for work and internet access has been a big problem. Broadband wifi in rooms is not a big ask in this day and age and on both of my stays I have had to resort to using the hotel's PC in the office behind reception to send important emails. Not what you need after a busy working day in Mumbai when you want to be work comfortably in your room. My tip is to ask for Jackson when you call/email to reserve. If all the staff were of Jackson's calibre then the Ascot would be perfect.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We chose this hotel based on reviews of trip advisor and our love of art deco. I have to admit art deco anywhere may not be best option but anyway all rooms here appear to have been refurbished. We were initially shown to a 'double deluxe' room at the back of the hotel but when I opened the windows there were persistant cooking smells and we couldn't adjust the air con which was very cold so I asked to be moved. We payed an additional 600rps pn for a spacious, simply furnished room with opening windows. This room overlooked the front street and a petrol station (and sleeping drivers) but was quiet and pleasant except we still couldn't get the temperature in the room to a comfortable level and the fan couldn't be operated separately to the air con. Coming from Australia we often found the air con too cold in India. There was a limited range of toiletries but some useful amenities (like an iron and ironing board) and the hotel is in a good location with an easy walk to Taj and India Gate. The restaurant looks functional rather than atmospheric so we only ate the breakfast, which was very simple European continental style but no fresh fruit or juice. Appreciated the use of the lap top in reception area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Godwin
Hotel Godwin
#126 of 444 in Mumbai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#58 of 444 in Mumbai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.6 km away
The Gordon House Hotel
The Gordon House Hotel
#91 of 444 in Mumbai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#40 of 444 in Mumbai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.3 km away
Regent Hotel Colaba
Regent Hotel Colaba
#161 of 444 in Mumbai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.7 km away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#60 of 444 in Mumbai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Property: Ascot Hotel
Address: 38 Garden Road, | Colaba, Mumbai 400039, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Mumbai
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,999 - ₹ 9,824
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Yatra, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotels
Ascot Hotel In Mumbai
Hotel Ascot Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing