We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique and wonderful stay”
Review of Abode Bombay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abode Bombay
Ranked #1 of 407 Mumbai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

We have just ended the most wonderful stay at Abode and were very sad for it to finish! The staff are amazing, so helpful and smiley- they even give you an Indian mobile phone to take out with you in case you need to ask anything! There were loads of personal touches such as eye masks and slippers provided. Breakfast was delicious- try the burji! Cooked to order. The decor is beautiful, really quirky and unique style. Location is perfect- 2 mins walk to gate of India. Also you must do the early morning tour- it's fascinating! We literally couldn't fault this place! A wonderful and luxurious end to our trip.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Nothing is any trouble for us at all - we are here to help & that's what we love to do! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We pride ourselves on offering a hearty breakfast.
Looking forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 84 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2017

On arrival we were welcomed by the friendly receptionist who poured us some lovely Masala Tea while we checked in. The manager then explained to us everything we needed to know about our room and the area. They also were very helpful in arranging transfers and as we had an early checkout in two days time they said they would make us a breakfast box.

The hotel design is very quirky and streamlined at the same time. The beds are extremely comfortable. We had an affordable room which had a lovely shower and sink room but no toilet. This was not a problem as the shared bathroom was close by with three spotlessly clean cubicles. The information guides in the room were extremely informative. Features include being given your own mobile with Indian sim card and credit. This meant you could make any outside calls you needed and also call the hotel on speed dial either from your room or when out and about.

The hotel has a welcoming reception area with a cafe where you can order food throughout the day and also where a varied delicious breakfast is served. The hotel has a booklet of tours that they offer which described them well. We found these personally out of our price range but the reception were not pushy about their tours preferring the guest to do what they want to do with their time but are extremley helpful when you ask for help.

The hotel located in Colaba extremely close to the gateway of India and in walking distance to lots of restaurants, attractions.

All three receptionists we met were extremely competent and a credit to the hotel. This hotel is definetly the best value for money in Mumbai, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Wow, thanks so much for such a great review. Delighted to read you were all happy with everything. We do all we can to ensure everything is just right - lots of planning goes on behind the scenes! We really do have a fantastic team who work so hard. Its great to know that you found value in our rooms.
Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

I can only reiterate what has already been said.. this place is a little (5) star. We did 2 nights Abode and our final night at the Taj Mahal Palace, a perfect combination. Two totally different experiences, both fabulous, however Abode wins my heart. An extra big thank you for the coffees you so kindly offered on returning from our adventures. Your hospitality made it feel like coming back home after the madness of the city. Oh and breakfast was awesome. We will be back!

Room Tip: Basic room totally fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gwtf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thanks so much for leaving us a review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay & great to read you will return. We loved having guest like you around who share the same enthusiasm and love for this city. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

If you want a fun, confortable and safe experience in Mumbai, Abode Bombay is the place to go. The location of the hotel is ideal, the staff is extremely helpful and well behaved. The design is cool and trendy. And the breakfast mustn't be missed. I stayed only a night in Abode but I will be back, most definitely.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kildine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Thank you for your review. We're glad you appreciate the simplicity in detail and the little touches we try to create an atmosphere of calm at Abode. We can't wait to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

The staff were warm and welcoming. The bed was so unbelievably comfortable! I loved the character and the carefully chosen decor that reflected the history and culture of India. If you're a cat person, look for the beautiful orange cat who sleeps near a display of old trunks on the landing.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Kiki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this - it means so much to us and helps us enormously. Please do come back next time you have an excuse to be in Bombay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
The Taj Mahal Palace
#5 of 453 in Mumbai
7,184 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Residency Fort
Hotel Residency Fort
#17 of 453 in Mumbai
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 453 in Mumbai
2,244 reviews
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#34 of 453 in Mumbai
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Bombay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Bombay

Address: Lansdowne House | M.B. Marg, behind Regal Cinema, Mumbai 400001, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 407 B&Bs / Inns in Mumbai
Price Range: ₹ 5,145 - ₹ 15,304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abode Bombay; the city's first authentic boutique hotel. The ultimate anti-chain hotel, Abode is fabulously unconventional in its individuality and style, yet suitably refined when it comes to meeting guests’ expectations. Abode defines a new breed of independent hotel, offering a refreshing contemporary approach to the modern global explorer who seeks an authentic, personal and genuinely engaging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Abode Bombay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing