We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abode vs Taj”
Review of Abode Bombay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abode Bombay
Ranked #1 of 417 Mumbai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2017

I can only reiterate what has already been said.. this place is a little (5) star. We did 2 nights Abode and our final night at the Taj Mahal Palace, a perfect combination. Two totally different experiences, both fabulous, however Abode wins my heart. An extra big thank you for the coffees you so kindly offered on returning from our adventures. Your hospitality made it feel like coming back home after the madness of the city. Oh and breakfast was awesome. We will be back!

Room Tip: Basic room totally fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gwtf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thanks so much for leaving us a review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay & great to read you will return. We loved having guest like you around who share the same enthusiasm and love for this city. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 108 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2017

If you want a fun, confortable and safe experience in Mumbai, Abode Bombay is the place to go. The location of the hotel is ideal, the staff is extremely helpful and well behaved. The design is cool and trendy. And the breakfast mustn't be missed. I stayed only a night in Abode but I will be back, most definitely.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kildine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Thank you for your review. We're glad you appreciate the simplicity in detail and the little touches we try to create an atmosphere of calm at Abode. We can't wait to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

The staff were warm and welcoming. The bed was so unbelievably comfortable! I loved the character and the carefully chosen decor that reflected the history and culture of India. If you're a cat person, look for the beautiful orange cat who sleeps near a display of old trunks on the landing.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Kiki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this - it means so much to us and helps us enormously. Please do come back next time you have an excuse to be in Bombay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Abode was the perfect place for our first ever visit to Mumbai. They arranged airport pick-up with their fantastic female driver scheme at 2am and we were welcomed most warmly at 3am by the staff. Their knowledge to the city was perfect for us noobs, and we took their early morning Mumbai tour (a must!!!) and their street food tour. Perfect location for the Gateway, Taj Hotel and the cafes/boutiques behind the former Prince of Wales Museum. The staff couldn't be more friendlier or helpful and would recommend Abode to anyone wanting a complete Mumbai experience.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zapper747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Thank you very much for posting such an awesome review, it makes such a difference to all the staff. Its wonderful you noticed all the little touches and we are so glad we could be a memorable part of your holiday.
Looking forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

We feel so lucky we found this gorgeous place - everything was perfect from the location (near the must-do gateway & the cool arty area of Kala Ghoda), to the beautiful but understated interiors, to the amazing help-yourself breakfasts every morning & jugs of coffee on waking for an early morning tour. But the it wouldn't be the place that it is, without the staff - who are possibly the friendliest, warmest people we've ever had the pleasure to meet. Ridiculously helpful, incredible attention to detail while being totally unobtrusive, and possibly the biggest smile we've ever seen when we finally checked in at an ungodly 3am - thank you so much Abode for making us fall in love with Mumbai.

Room Tip: Smaller rooms are fantastic value, larger and you get to enjoy a cool roll-top bath after a hot, dus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahcooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Thanks so much for your review, we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the atmosphere relaxing and yes, we do tend to spoil our guest:)
We love getting feedback on our staff as they take their work to heart and will definitely appreciate your nice review!

Thanks again and do to visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Colaba
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Gateway of India
Hotel Residency Fort
Hotel Residency Fort
#17 of 461 in Mumbai
1,828 reviews
Colaba
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#34 of 461 in Mumbai
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colaba
The Gordon House Hotel
The Gordon House Hotel
#95 of 461 in Mumbai
282 reviews
Colaba
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#60 of 461 in Mumbai
441 reviews
Marine Drive
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#71 of 461 in Mumbai
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Bombay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Bombay

Address: Lansdowne House | M.B. Marg, behind Regal Cinema, Mumbai 400001, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai > Colaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 417 B&Bs / Inns in Mumbai
Price Range: ₹ 5,124 - ₹ 8,692 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abode Bombay; the city's first authentic boutique hotel. The ultimate anti-chain hotel, Abode is fabulously unconventional in its individuality and style, yet suitably refined when it comes to meeting guests’ expectations. Abode defines a new breed of independent hotel, offering a refreshing contemporary approach to the modern global explorer who seeks an authentic, personal and genuinely engaging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Abode Bombay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing