We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoil yourself - it's honestly worth it!”
Review of Abode Bombay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abode Bombay
Ranked #1 of 403 Mumbai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Wow. Where to begin? Ok, well I loved this place. Like REALLY loved this place. It was the perfect reprieve from the chaos that is Mumbai and is so, so, oh so chic.
Situated in the heart of the tourist area, about a block form the Taj Hotel, Abode Hotel is a gorgeous little boutique hotel that showcases the wonderful character of Indian contemporary art and design. It's so cool, it does not even have a reception area - gasp!
Now, you will have no doubt read in many places that Mumbai is a damn expensive city to live, which is indeed true (it is all relative), so when approaching Hotel Abode it is best to think of it as a London hotel. Our room was super clean and super tidy. I kid you not, there was a beam running through it on which I frequently knocked my head (they were kind and had the foreign to pad it well). It was probably 10sqm + 2sqm for the shower + basin (toilets were down the hall). Still, the mini-ness was fine as it was far surprised by its supreme cleanliness. This place was wonderful, and reasonable priced for an exxy city. I would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room if you'd like a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank nixgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Thank you enormously for this review - it means a lot to get such great feedback and we are thrilled you had a good stay!
We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 100 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the abode hotel for two days and we loved the hotel . We felt like home , the staff is very friendly and competent. At my birthday their surprised me with a chocolate cake , so all in all definitely we will stay again in abode .

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Martina -sybill... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017


Thank you for your review. We are glad that we could make your stay in Bombay more enjoyable. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Loved this small, intimate, modern (yet 1940s colonial in style) boutique hotel in Colaba - a stone's throw from the Gateway to India. The staff (partcularly Nilesh, Nitin, Priya and others and the marvellous lady taxi drivers (the hotel supports female drivers) were so friendly and helpful and we spent what must have been hours chatting to them at night in the bar and learning so much about Modern India. The tours they orgnaiosed were first rate. Rooms clean, airy and beds comfortable. LOVED IT!

Room Tip: Room overlooking main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markcM2932BW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Thank you very much for your review, it means a lot to us and we are always happy to hear that a guest has enjoyed their stay as much as you did!

We look forward to having you back here with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

We stayed here for our final night in India and wish we could have stayed longer. The hotel is in a beautiful building and is in a great location near the Gateway of India with bars, shopping and restaurants on the door step.

We only stayed in a budget room and loved the décor.

The breakfast was our favourite in India, lots of choice and delicious!

The staff were friendly and helpful and let us store our bags for the day and freshen up before our evening flight - if you are flying of an evening leave PLENTY of time to get to the airport, our taxi journey took 2.30 hours!

When we return to Mumbai this would be our first choice without a doubt.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

It's so exciting when someone appreciates our hard work, we are so grateful for you mentioning all the details. You absolutely must come and stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Great location, helpful staff, awesome breakfast. Would 100% recommend. The staff bent over backwards to make our stay fantastic.

I'd also opt to go for a windowless room. They are cheaper and require you to use a shared toilet (there is an in-room shower and sink, however) BUT it means you don't have to worry about honks and other street noise.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spencer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review - we really enjoyed having you to stay and are so grateful that you took the time to write this, it means the world.
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
The Taj Mahal Palace
#5 of 453 in Mumbai
7,171 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Residency Fort
Hotel Residency Fort
#17 of 453 in Mumbai
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 453 in Mumbai
2,238 reviews
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#35 of 453 in Mumbai
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Bombay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Bombay

Address: Lansdowne House | M.B. Marg, behind Regal Cinema, Mumbai 400001, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 403 B&Bs / Inns in Mumbai
Price Range: ₹ 5,113 - ₹ 15,208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abode Bombay; the city's first authentic boutique hotel. The ultimate anti-chain hotel, Abode is fabulously unconventional in its individuality and style, yet suitably refined when it comes to meeting guests’ expectations. Abode defines a new breed of independent hotel, offering a refreshing contemporary approach to the modern global explorer who seeks an authentic, personal and genuinely engaging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Abode Bombay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing