We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This wonderful boutique hotel is reason itself to return to Mumbai”
Review of Abode Bombay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abode Bombay
Ranked #1 of 401 Mumbai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Loved this small, intimate, modern (yet 1940s colonial in style) boutique hotel in Colaba - a stone's throw from the Gateway to India. The staff (partcularly Nilesh, Nitin, Priya and others and the marvellous lady taxi drivers (the hotel supports female drivers) were so friendly and helpful and we spent what must have been hours chatting to them at night in the bar and learning so much about Modern India. The tours they orgnaiosed were first rate. Rooms clean, airy and beds comfortable. LOVED IT!

Room Tip: Room overlooking main street
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markcM2932BW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Thank you very much for your review, it means a lot to us and we are always happy to hear that a guest has enjoyed their stay as much as you did!

We look forward to having you back here with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (644)
There are newer reviews for Abode Bombay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 93 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2017

We stayed here for our final night in India and wish we could have stayed longer. The hotel is in a beautiful building and is in a great location near the Gateway of India with bars, shopping and restaurants on the door step.

We only stayed in a budget room and loved the décor.

The breakfast was our favourite in India, lots of choice and delicious!

The staff were friendly and helpful and let us store our bags for the day and freshen up before our evening flight - if you are flying of an evening leave PLENTY of time to get to the airport, our taxi journey took 2.30 hours!

When we return to Mumbai this would be our first choice without a doubt.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

It's so exciting when someone appreciates our hard work, we are so grateful for you mentioning all the details. You absolutely must come and stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Great location, helpful staff, awesome breakfast. Would 100% recommend. The staff bent over backwards to make our stay fantastic.

I'd also opt to go for a windowless room. They are cheaper and require you to use a shared toilet (there is an in-room shower and sink, however) BUT it means you don't have to worry about honks and other street noise.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spencer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review - we really enjoyed having you to stay and are so grateful that you took the time to write this, it means the world.
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

This was me second stay here and I felt so at home and relaxed to be back.
There is so much love and thought surrounding Abode-the beautiful antiques that make this hotel unique and interesting and the wonderful staff here who are so very welcoming and helpful.
The location is right in the heart of Colaba yet the hotel is relaxed and calm, the rooms are thoughtfully decorated with lovely comfortable beds and everywhere is spotless clean and a joy to explore around all the little nooks and crannies.
This has to be one of my very favourite hotels in the World and I look forward to coming back some day soon.
Thank you to all the amazing staff and management here who make this such an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: I stayed in a simple room -ask for a window.The communal loos are spotless and just down the corrido...
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank HitchinKerrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thanks so much for leaving us a review & for choosing to stay with us for a 2nd time. So pleased we didn't disappoint! We love that we have so many repeat guests - it really does create a lovely atmosphere. As you know, we have a great team - we are very lucky.
We shall look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Simply the best place for exploring Coloba and the rest of Mumbai. Beautifully finished rooms and communal areas and fantastic location. Just perfect. Thoroughly recommend the tours that they arrange. Super friendly staff who can't do enough to help. My only wish was that we could stay longer.

Room Tip: Each room is different. Check before you buy.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mdh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you so much for your charming review, it really makes it all worthwhile! We loved meeting you and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
The Taj Mahal Palace
#4 of 452 in Mumbai
7,118 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Residency Fort
Hotel Residency Fort
#18 of 452 in Mumbai
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 452 in Mumbai
2,211 reviews
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#37 of 452 in Mumbai
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Bombay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Bombay

Address: Lansdowne House | M.B. Marg, behind Regal Cinema, Mumbai 400001, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 401 B&Bs / Inns in Mumbai
Price Range: ₹ 5,192 - ₹ 12,851 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abode Bombay; the city's first authentic boutique hotel. The ultimate anti-chain hotel, Abode is fabulously unconventional in its individuality and style, yet suitably refined when it comes to meeting guests’ expectations. Abode defines a new breed of independent hotel, offering a refreshing contemporary approach to the modern global explorer who seeks an authentic, personal and genuinely engaging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Abode Bombay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing