We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect introduction to India”
Review of Abode Bombay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abode Bombay
Ranked #1 of 402 Mumbai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Abode two nights in one of the luxury rooms. The room had a wonderful feel to it. Was clean and tidy. Staff were attentive and helpful. They gave us a beautiful bunch of gardenias and chocolates with a lovely hand message saying good night which was a cute touch and it smelt amazing. The location was great, really close to the sights and lots of restaurants nearby.

There were a bunch of dogs in the middle of the night barking one night. Not the hotels fault but it was mighty loud. The hotel provide ear plugs which helped to block it out. If your sensitive to this kind of noise asking for a room that isn't street side might help. However this is India...India is never quiet.

The hotels airport pick up was great however the price is triple what you would pay for a cab and our car wasn't air conditioned which wasn't pleasant (for the price you pay I would imagine it should be). Also if they ask go via the sea link there is a toll of 60INR but it's much faster and less traffic we did this on the way back to the airport in a normal black and yellow cab.

Overall lovely stay with wonderful staff. We will be back next time we visit Bombay

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JambaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Abode.
It's true that being located in the heart of Colaba and close to all the restaurant and a very popular street food restaurant, we get noise from the street. Hope the earplugs were useful. We support female drivers hence the difference in price. However thats no excuse for the A/C not working. We will look into this complaint and revert to you personally.

Thank you for appreciating our staff and other services. We hope u can give us another opportunity to host your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (644)
There are newer reviews for Abode Bombay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 98 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2017

First stop on our family trip to India. Could not have chosen a better hotel.
We loved the all the beautiful design elements & attention to detail, as well as the eco- and socially conscious ethos.
Breakfast was absolutely delicious and varied. Staff were so kind & helpful - and very sweet to the kids (6&11). The tours offered are very interesting and focused on visiting unique and alternative spots.

We were keen to find a comfortable spot which would allow us to get over the 13h jetlag. Hotel location was perfect and room perched over street with all-around-windows made us feel part of the city, even when too tired to leave the hotel. We cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cecil05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you for your review! we strive to provide a unique experience to our travellers that share the same philosophy as us. We are pleased that you saw great value in our tours and you enjoyed our local and organic breakfast.

We look forward to seeing you soon at Abode!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights at Abode, in a basic room then a simple room. Basic room was beautiful but stuffy due to no windows. Low beams and ceilings in places which would be a hassle for any one 5'7" and over. Simple room was fabulous, more light and space. Would recommend stretching budget to a simple room, particularly if you are a couple. Beautiful turn down service of an evening and rooms were cleaned each day

Staff at the hotel were incredibly helpful, checking in on our plans for the day, giving great tips on things to do and places to eat. Breakfast was lovely with variety each day. Tour organised by Abode (city and slum tour) was really enjoyable but quite expensive.

Cafe Colaba underneath adobe was lovely for some sweet treats that reminded of home - cupcakes, macaroosn, tarts.

Great location - proximity to tourist attractions, lots of places to eat. Shower has the best water pressure of anywhere we've stayed. Lovely interior of the hotel and lovely reception area. Little things had been considered like Mobile phone provide for each room for free use.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elyse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thanks a lot for this lovely review!
Giving you a stylish and homely place to come back to after an eventful day spent in Bombay is exactly what we had in mind when creating the hotel and we're glad you enjoyed it.

Thanks also for commenting on our tours. We hope to see you again soon for your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Truly my best hotel experience traveling for a month in India, staying in a variety from high end to quite low end, Abode is simply the best. They have thought of everything - very eco-conscious and socially conscious, from copper pots of purified water in your room, no plastic, to using taxis from a women drivers cooperative. The staff is lovely, the rooms are each unique, well appointed, comfortable and clean. They even give you a local cell phone to carry with you in your adventures, that connects directly back to the hotel, should you get lost or need help! Abode doesn't have the bling of the fancier places, but who needs that when you have all the comforts of home and an attentive group of hip young folks to help you and make your stay in Mumbai great. Bravo Nilesh and Keith!!

Room Tip: Claw foot tubs in some rooms. Our room had huge windows, great for a quiet cup of coffee & watch...
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you very much for your great review, it means a lot to us and we are always happy to hear that a guest has enjoyed their stay as much as you did!

We look forward to having you back here with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

The Abode was a great location for our stay in Mumbai - very close to the Gate of India and Colaba was a great area for shopping and restaurants. Unfortunately we suffered from lapses in service and maintenance, of which we have informed management privately. Staff was lovely and they tried, but responses did meet our expectations, given the 5 star rating that we relied upon in choosing The Abode.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travelpro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you so much for your comments, we were so lucky to have you as our guest, we could not have wished for a more charming and thoughtful review!

We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 453 in Mumbai
7,101 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Residency Fort
Hotel Residency Fort
#17 of 453 in Mumbai
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 453 in Mumbai
2,206 reviews
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#36 of 453 in Mumbai
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Bombay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Bombay

Address: Lansdowne House | M.B. Marg, behind Regal Cinema, Mumbai 400001, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 402 B&Bs / Inns in Mumbai
Price Range: ₹ 5,143 - ₹ 12,728 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abode Bombay; the city's first authentic boutique hotel. The ultimate anti-chain hotel, Abode is fabulously unconventional in its individuality and style, yet suitably refined when it comes to meeting guests’ expectations. Abode defines a new breed of independent hotel, offering a refreshing contemporary approach to the modern global explorer who seeks an authentic, personal and genuinely engaging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Abode Bombay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing