We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great location ”
Review of Abode Bombay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abode Bombay
Ranked #1 of 399 Mumbai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great location ”
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights at Abode, in a basic room then a simple room. Basic room was beautiful but stuffy due to no windows. Low beams and ceilings in places which would be a hassle for any one 5'7" and over. Simple room was fabulous, more light and space. Would recommend stretching budget to a simple room, particularly if you are a couple. Beautiful turn down service of an evening and rooms were cleaned each day

Staff at the hotel were incredibly helpful, checking in on our plans for the day, giving great tips on things to do and places to eat. Breakfast was lovely with variety each day. Tour organised by Abode (city and slum tour) was really enjoyable but quite expensive.

Cafe Colaba underneath adobe was lovely for some sweet treats that reminded of home - cupcakes, macaroosn, tarts.

Great location - proximity to tourist attractions, lots of places to eat. Shower has the best water pressure of anywhere we've stayed. Lovely interior of the hotel and lovely reception area. Little things had been considered like Mobile phone provide for each room for free use.

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elyse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this review, 24 March 2017
Thanks a lot for this lovely review!
Giving you a stylish and homely place to come back to after an eventful day spent in Bombay is exactly what we had in mind when creating the hotel and we're glad you enjoyed it.

Thanks also for commenting on our tours. We hope to see you again soon for your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    91
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
54
268
103
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Truly my best hotel experience traveling for a month in India, staying in a variety from high end to quite low end, Abode is simply the best. They have thought of everything - very eco-conscious and socially conscious, from copper pots of purified water in your room, no plastic, to using taxis from a women drivers cooperative. The staff is lovely, the rooms are each unique, well appointed, comfortable and clean. They even give you a local cell phone to carry with you in your adventures, that connects directly back to the hotel, should you get lost or need help! Abode doesn't have the bling of the fancier places, but who needs that when you have all the comforts of home and an attentive group of hip young folks to help you and make your stay in Mumbai great. Bravo Nilesh and Keith!!

Room Tip: Claw foot tubs in some rooms. Our room had huge windows, great for a quiet cup of coffee & watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this review, 24 March 2017
Thank you very much for your great review, it means a lot to us and we are always happy to hear that a guest has enjoyed their stay as much as you did!

We look forward to having you back here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017

The Abode was a great location for our stay in Mumbai - very close to the Gate of India and Colaba was a great area for shopping and restaurants. Unfortunately we suffered from lapses in service and maintenance, of which we have informed management privately. Staff was lovely and they tried, but responses did meet our expectations, given the 5 star rating that we relied upon in choosing The Abode.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelpro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this review, 24 March 2017
Thank you so much for your comments, we were so lucky to have you as our guest, we could not have wished for a more charming and thoughtful review!

We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017

I always stay at abode when I am in Bombay. They truly provide a home away from home. I would recommend Abode to everybody! The breakfast is great, the staff is incredible, the rooms are good and the location is just perfect.

Room Tip: The basic rooms have no window so I would recommend another room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jzm k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here early March and enjoyed our stay. I would say the main benefit was the location in Colaba; walking distance to the Gateway of India, Taj Mahal Palace Hotel, and Marine Drive. The downside to this is A LOT of street noise, but it was a nice touch that the hotel leaves new ear plugs next to your bedside every night.

We stayed in a deluxe room, which was a bit cramped and difficult to manage with 2 people plus suitcases. I also wasn't too fond of the clear glass bathroom door giving full view of the toilet area. Everything else was lovely, clean sheets and comfortable bed linen, newly renovated bathrooms, WiFi.

The staff were lovely and very helpful. Two guys came around every night with some flowers and sweets, with a card that said "sweet dreams". Nilesh the night manager made sure everything was always sorted quickly if we ever needed anything.

Overall a nice stay and would recommend to others.

Stayed March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this review, 24 March 2017
We are so happy you enjoyed your time here, it was such a pleasure. We are passionate about wanting our guest to have the best experience when they stay with us. Will pass on your compliments to Nilesh!
Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 453 in Mumbai
6,981 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Residency Fort
Hotel Residency Fort
#16 of 453 in Mumbai
1,760 reviews
Trident, Nariman Point
#10 of 453 in Mumbai
2,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 453 in Mumbai
2,176 reviews
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 453 in Mumbai
3,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Bombay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Bombay

Property: Abode Bombay
Address: Lansdowne House | M.B. Marg, behind Regal Cinema, Mumbai 400001, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 399 B&Bs / Inns in Mumbai
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,495 - ₹ 8,669
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abode Bombay; the city's first authentic boutique hotel. The ultimate anti-chain hotel, Abode is fabulously unconventional in its individuality and style, yet suitably refined when it comes to meeting guests’ expectations. Abode defines a new breed of independent hotel, offering a refreshing contemporary approach to the modern global explorer who seeks an authentic, personal and genuinely engaging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Abode Bombay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing