We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, nice style, comfy beds”
Review of Abode Bombay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abode Bombay
Ranked #1 of 398 Mumbai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well located, nice style, comfy beds”
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Great place, helpful staff and easy location for South Mumbai. Rooms and decor are stylish and clean and the basic room we had was great, although some look like they have quite low ceilings in places. Ask for room 202 if you want a good room in the basic category.

Room Tip: room 202 is a basic room but more spacious than some of the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KoaTreeCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this review, 22 March 2017
Thank you so much for posting, it means the world. Really glad you experienced good service, and you enjoyed your stay.

Please do come and see us again when next in Mumbai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    90
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
54
268
103
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Abode is a quirky property, one you'll enjoy if your preference is for small, intimate settings as an alternative to the ordinary.

The location is exceptional! Close to the Gateway and behind the Taj Mahal Palace you couldn't be in a better position to explore Colaba.

Situated on the second floor of a building, you realise you are in for something interesting as you climb the nicely worn wooden steps to the lobby and common area of Abode.

The common area is where you'll have breakfast, meet other travellers and engage with the very helpful and supportive staff. Very quickly you'll get set up with the information you'll need to make your Mumbai stay interesting and enjoyable, and then throughout your stay the staff will be ready to give you the support you need to navigate the alternative world of Mumbai.

I stayed in 2 rooms due to what was available when I made my reservation. Both were great, with excellent beds, soaring windows and interestingly done features throughout. The rooms are very well maintained and exceptionally clean.

Breakfasts each morning in the common area are more than adequate to get you going.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend this property if you prefer the unusual to the standard sort of hotel fare.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lentoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this review, 22 March 2017
Thank you enormously for this review - it means a lot to get such great feedback and we are thrilled you had a good stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2017

This hotel was a centrally located oasis, close to the Taj Palace Hotel and the Gateway of India. (It’s also incidentally, right next door to the famous Bademiya: one of the best food stalls-come-restaurants in Mumbai. The kebabs are delicious!) The hotel is small but has been very carefully designed, with traditional touches that are still achingly hip. I can see why this hotel is one of the first real ‘boutique hotels’ in Mumbai; it offers something quite different to it’s competitors. Expect a wealthy but bohemian crowd. The management team were very friendly and helpful, organising various tours incl. a slum tour – which was eye-opening! Would definitely stay at this hotel again next time we visit Mumbai.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this review, 22 March 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review & for recommending. So pleased you were happy with everything - we do all we can to ensure everything is just right.
Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Adobe for 5 days in a basic room in January. Adobe is the perfect mix of vintage elegant while still being homely and comfortable, we loved the relaxed atmosphere. Our room was absolutely perfect! The room was well set up with Ac, shower, and basin. The shared toilets were plentiful and everything was clean. Abode was the perfect intro to Mumbai with a superb location -walking distance to gate of India, art galleries, museum, shops and eateries! Also for those who like a longer stroll- cricket pitch, marine drive, train station all easily accessible. Adobe staff were helpful with the ability to leave bags for early checkin or late departures.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TorotoroMiromiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this review, 22 March 2017
Thank you for such a lovely review. It is so exciting to hear from guests who enjoyed their stay. We would love to have you stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

I had exactly 30 hours in Mumbai and this place filled the bill! Excellent client services, caring attitude and ideal oasis in the heart of a very bustling city.
My room was huge, clean and super comfy. I love the bohemian vibe of this hotel and can't say enough great things about it. Located in a safe part of Mumbai, a casual stroll puts you at the waterfront and Taj/India gateway, several yummy restaurants and great shopping. When I return, I hope to find a place back at the Abode. Thank you to Priya, Norbert and Nilesh (and a couple other fantastic people whose names escape me--Sorry!) for creating the perfect whirlwind day for me.
Many fond regards, Kendra Frassetto

Stayed February 2017, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Management, Owner at Abode Bombay, responded to this review, 6 March 2017
Thank you for posting, we are really grateful. We loved having you to stay and look forward to future trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 453 in Mumbai
6,967 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Residency Fort
Hotel Residency Fort
#16 of 453 in Mumbai
1,759 reviews
Trident, Nariman Point
#10 of 453 in Mumbai
2,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 453 in Mumbai
2,176 reviews
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 453 in Mumbai
3,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Bombay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Bombay

Property: Abode Bombay
Address: Lansdowne House | M.B. Marg, behind Regal Cinema, Mumbai 400001, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 398 B&Bs / Inns in Mumbai
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,428 - ₹ 7,701
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abode Bombay; the city's first authentic boutique hotel. The ultimate anti-chain hotel, Abode is fabulously unconventional in its individuality and style, yet suitably refined when it comes to meeting guests’ expectations. Abode defines a new breed of independent hotel, offering a refreshing contemporary approach to the modern global explorer who seeks an authentic, personal and genuinely engaging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Abode Bombay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing