We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antiquated luxury at modern luxury prices.”
Review of ITC Grand Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ITC Grand Central
Ranked #10 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Antiquated luxury at modern luxury prices.”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed 10 days over a two separate weeks during out visit to Mumbai April 2012. In addition we upgraded (paid more) the second week to get access to their lounge located pn the top floor. The service was good, not excellent and very spotty. The rooms were clean but outdated. In this age of Apple you would think that the rooms would come with an iPhone docking station to allow me to play some music. We tried the restaurants on premise, they are over price and not very good. For example one night we tried the Chinese restaurant (Shanghai Rest.) my spouse and I each other one dish each, a beer and a juice for a total of $65. The food was flavorless and dry, they try to compensate for the lack of flavor by adding a lot pepper flakes. This does not make the food better. The second week we decided to upgrade to a more expensive room that would give us access to the lounge. The lounge offers a cocotail hour with appetizers between 6-8pm every night. We arrived around 6:45 on our first night, the appetizers were gone and it took them one hour for them to we've us two beers. The bartender and the service staff were slow to serve their clients and many times they just hung out behind the bar. I will say that a couple times the bartender was serving shots of whiskey to a group of local business men, however he was taking his sweet time like if he was making fresh margaritas. Tye second night was only a bit better but only after our repeted request to be serves our order. Is paying extra to get acces to this lounge worth it? No, save your money and find yourself a pub. I will end this by saying that this hotel is very centrally located in Mumbai. Lastly there was a lot of construction around the hotel, definitely ask for a room in a higher floor because if the dust doesn't get to you the noise will.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcsfca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
itcgrandcentral, General Manager at ITC Grand Central, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor. Your feedback has been most constructive in allowing us to better our services.

We have noted your observations and are addressing the same and apologize for the inconvenience caused. Please consider this as an exception to our normal high standards.

We look forward to your next visit and wish to serve you better

Thank you

Warm Regards,
Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,152
    451
    116
    41
    19
See reviews for
261
181
133
1,042
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

After getting the 18 hour train journey from Jaipur, we thought we deserved a nice hotel in Mumbai! Hotels in Mumbai are all quite expensive, and although it was pricy we stayed here for 1 night. The hotel is very striking inside, large and decadent, and the staff were all fantastic. We were shown to our room and offered complimentary drinks, later they brought us more complimentary drinks and a box of chocolates! The rooms are well equiped and even include a video cctv so you can see who is outside your door. In the evening we did not have much to eat or drink as it was very expensive (and 5 lots of taxes on our bill!) We used the free turndown service before bed, which involved them reservicing the room, bringing us hot chocolates and getting the room ready for us to go to sleep! The complimentary toiletries were gorgeous, as were the fluffy towels etc. I used the pool in the morning, it was nice and quiet, and I like how the end of it goes outdoors. Breakfast was incredible, we ate so much I thought I would be sick! Our room had been serviced again when we got back. All in all it was the ideal, relaxing stay we had hoped for, and were very sad to leave!

Room Tip: As we were 2 girls travelling alone, they put us on a females-only floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkladytiff83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
itcgrandcentral, General Manager at ITC Grand Central, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from ITC Grand Central, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Mumbai!!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable at the EVA floor dedicated to single lady travellers and your comments on the breakfast and the in-room amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and indigenous hospitality of the Ladies and Gentlemen of ITC Grand Central in the Gateway city of India, at Mumbai.

Thank you
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed at the Hotel for 10 nights. Very luxurious hotel with Big clean rooms with all the amenities.
Hotel staff is very helpful. Buffet breakfast is full Indian and international food.
Many restaurants in the Hotel with tasty food.The room rates are also very competitive.
Room service is very prompt. WiFi available in the room.
Highly recommended for Business and tourist visitors .

Room Tip: Preferably rooms at higher level is advisable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jabir_Rasheed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
itcgrandcentral, General Manager at ITC Grand Central, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from ITC Grand Central, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Mumbai, India!!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and indigenous hospitality of the Ladies and Gentlemen of ITC Grand Central in the Gateway city of India, at Mumbai.

Thank you
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I wanted to try this hotel as had heard some good things about it. The rooms are very standard for a 4/5 star property in Mumbai, bathrooms were very good and I did like the sensor light in them. Not so sure Fiama di WIlls products were quite what I was expecting but there you go!
Concierge were very helpful - shame the driver they procured for me, did not know the area I was travelling to - or speak much English, as it made the day difficult which when considering the price was a bit annoying.
The food outlets here are very good, I tried both the Chinese and Indian restaurants - which were tasty and had varied menus. Quite expensive but that is to be expected. Was particularly impressed with the Single Diner menu in the Chinese restaurant - and the house red wine was delicious.
Breakfast buffet is a massive spread, and I challenge you not to find what you want.

On a negative side, arriving at the hotel currently is a challenge, as a lot of roadworks/monorail work is going on in the area - which means going around in circles to reach the hotel.

I would stay here again, but do feel if it does not matter where in Mumbai you are, that there are slightly better (and perhaps cheaper) options out there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IanH21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
itcgrandcentral, General Manager at ITC Grand Central, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from ITC Grand Central , A Luxury collection hotel , Mumbai, India

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable and memorable , We have noted your observations and are addressing the same .We look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and indigenous hospitality of The ladies and Gentlemen of the ITC Grand Central in the Gateway city of India , at Mumbai, India .

Thank you


Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I stayed there recently for three days for a business trip. It is nice upscale hotel that is centrally located. They have multiple restaurants for a good variety although do not expect to find any Irish food in the Dublin pub. They have a very nice buffet with an excellent variety of foods to satisfy most diners. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with Wi-Fi access. I was able to use the executive lounge on the 30th floor for several business meetings which was very convenient. Arrange for a car service through the hotel to pick you up at the airport rather than deal with taxis in Mumbai.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
itcgrandcentral, General Manager at ITC Grand Central, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The ITC Grand Central , A Luxury collection hotel , Mumbai, India

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable and memorable , We have noted your observations and are addressing the same .We look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and indigenous hospitality of The ladies and Gentlemen of the ITC Grand Central in the Gateway city of India , at Mumbai, India .

Thank You

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 454 in Mumbai
6,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The St. Regis Mumbai
#21 of 454 in Mumbai
1,047 reviews
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 454 in Mumbai
3,602 reviews
Vile Parle East
ITC Maratha, Mumbai
ITC Maratha, Mumbai
#8 of 454 in Mumbai
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Grand Central

Property: ITC Grand Central
Address: 287 Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar Road | Parel, Mumbai 400012, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Mumbai
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai
#10 Spa Hotel in Mumbai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai
#22 Family Hotel in Mumbai
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,592 - ₹ 18,475
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Grand Central 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
: ITC Grand Central, MumbaiITC Grand Central blends the old with the new, standing tall in the heart of the city. With its tower rising high into the sky, it captures the Gothic architectural flourish of colonial ‘Bombay’. The hotel offers a breathtaking 360 degree view of the city. A LEED Platinum Certified Hotel (USBGC), it is located in one of Mumbai’s leading business districts and is a few minutes ride away from key commercial and recreational centers.Dining& Recreation: *Kebabs & Kurries: An Award winning exclusive Indian restaurant offering cuisines of Royalty and Nawabs, rich in folklore and taste through a gastronomic journey of clay ovens, grills and simmering pots of delectable curries. *Hornby’s Pavilion: An all-day dining restaurant set in elegant surroundings, offers a pleasant rendezvous with warm sunlight during the day and cozy romantic setting during evenings. An international a-la-carte menu with traditional Indian favorites along with a delectable buffet spread is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. *Shanghai Club: An authentic exploration of Chinese cuisine crafted by expatriate chefs. *Dublin- The traditional Irish Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your ITC Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Grand Central Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing