We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Revised opinion” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Unicontinental Mumbai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Unicontinental Mumbai
Ranked #366 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Revised opinion”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

I reviewed this hotel earlier and gave it a reasonable review. However, after staying there for a month while moving to Mumbai, I left in a fit of anger and have decided to adjust my rating.

All the scare stories you read here concerning the management have a hint of truth to them.

Without boring you with too much detail, the managers need to learn accounting methods and should believe the guest when he or she says she has paid for X or Y. Instead, they go through a laborious process of dragging out order books and receipts in an attempt to ascertain that you haven't paid for room service.

When you protest that you have paid, they challenge you to prove it, thereby wasting your time over something they should have a handle on.

Anyway, this inconvenience soon got a bit too much and we departed. Not the best way to end what had started off as a pretty good stay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richierahrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    16
    13
    18
    40
See reviews for
8
14
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Dirty place to be in. Not a nice area to stay at to know Mumbai. only the proximity of the train station is good. Service was horrible. Rooms smelly and pillows were all stained and you would vomit if you looked inside the pillow case. Aggressive staff who didn't hand in the room key to a fellow traveller despite all bills having been paid.

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MintyAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai hotels

Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Out of the 2 nights I stayed one night I could not sleep due to the dripping roof of my room, which was such a nagging sound of the water falling. Since it was the second night of my stay and started by 2 am in the night, I could not change to another room. None of the managers came to even see the problem. One housekeeping person visited at about 3.30 am and did nothing...ofcourse no immediate remedy was there. I don't know how Cleartrip authorizes such poor hotels for staying?

Room Tip: Never on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Venky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

I think that some of the negative reviews here come from guys who are expecting too much from a budget hotel in Bombay.

I've stayed in quite a few and they never have the luxury and good looks that Western travellers expect.

This hotel is a case in point. I have just left after 10 days there. It's cheap, cheerful and functional. My room was a decent size with a king-size bed. It was very clean, had everything I needed -good air con, a fridge, an ok TV, daily linen change and towels, and is in a really good location for those who need to be close to Bandra.

90 per cent of the time, the staff were good and professional. I didn't try the restaurants and bars but the room service food was excellent and well priced.

Sure, the walls have that stained look that Indian hotels do very well, the decor isn't from this century and the shower water doesn't get much warmer than just above tepid. But you really shouldn't expect too much more when you are paying just over Rs2,000 a night for a superior room in a good location. I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richierahrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solingen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel because it´s central, near to the station. I don´t know the indian standards but compared to Germany... it´s a dump! :) I could laugh about it because I had disinfection spray and I was not afraid to use it. The bathroom was dirty, the sheets had some stains but it was okay (bring your own pillow case at least!). If you don´t have very high expectations, it´s a good hotel for you. You can use internet next to the reception, for less money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dulb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mumbai
0.1 km away
The UniContinental Hotel
The UniContinental Hotel
#324 of 440 in Mumbai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Regal Enclave
Hotel Regal Enclave
#62 of 440 in Mumbai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Red Palm
Hotel Red Palm
#329 of 440 in Mumbai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.9 km away
Pali Beach Resort
Pali Beach Resort
#188 of 440 in Mumbai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
26.1 km away
Chakrika Lodging
Chakrika Lodging
#14 of 27 in Thane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Linkway
Hotel Linkway
#235 of 440 in Mumbai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Unicontinental Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unicontinental Mumbai

Property: Hotel Unicontinental Mumbai
Address: 3rd Road Next to Khar West Railway Station | 3rd Road, Khar Railway Station, Mumbai 400052, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #366 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,702 - ₹ 6,874
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Unicontinental Mumbai 1*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the pleasure to introduce Hotel Samrat, Mumbai. A centrally located family run budget hotel with luxurious rooms and personalized service at unbeatable rates. The Hotel is a Government of India - Tourism Department approved Hotel at Khar West in the heart of Mumbai. It has 30 well appointed AC Rooms (Including 4 Suite Rooms) with direct dialing telephone in each room, Cable and satellite color TV, refrigerator with soft drink mini bar, attached bath, 24 hrs. running hot & cold water, call bell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Agoda, HostelWorld and Yatra so you can book your Hotel Unicontinental Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing