We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value”
Review of Hotel Suba Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Suba Palace
Ranked #63 of 452 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night for quick visit to Mumbai. Hotel is in a great location right near the Gateway, and compared to other hotels in this area it is a great price. Rooms are nothing fancy, but clean and no issues. Only negative is that the free wifi Internet did not work very well in room, in case that is really important for you. If you want luxury, not your place, but for a decent place to stay in Mumbai in Colaba it is a great choice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (435)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Suba Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 253 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed for four nights in early February 2012

While not the best hotel they were helpful in organizing a late night pick up at CST airport and were helpful and efficient when we checked in at 3:30am absolutely shattered after our flights.

The room itself was fairly plan but the beds were comfortable and we were on the top floor far above the noise of the street below. We were in a twin room with two small beds with a seating area by the window that looked out towards the city. The sheets were clean and fresh The bathroom was a little worn out but it was okay just needed a bit of an update possibly. Wifi worked for us and was a great benefit when trying to phone home.

We did get laundry done which wasn't the best idea as our clothes came back pretty battered and it was pretty pricey.

Breakfast was a varying menu each morning some mornings Idli and Sambar some mornings, omelets and other things the next along with western things with things like fried chicken etc. Also Cereal and milk and the like. The tea was hot and the refills plenty.

The staff were all very helpful with the exception of one lady on the front desk as we checked out. I inquired whether they could book me in for my last night in India at their Suba International hotel near the airport and was promptly handed a flyer and told to ring myself which I thought was little rude.

The location of this hotel is really good. Literally 90 seconds walk to the gateway of India. Around the corner are Cafe Leopold and Cafe Mondegas on the Colaba Causeway. which were okay and on the other side of the same block is a great kebab place whose name escapes me (Bademiya I think).

In short it was good if not world beating. Unsure of the review below - they seemed to have the opposite of the experience we had for the most part.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms on the upper floors - when Mumbai wakes up it really wakes up....
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank microsizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We were booked in to stay at Suba Palace in Feb 2012. It had been described in our guide book as a boutique hotel.....Not so. But that said the location is very good. V close to the Gateway of India. We arrived early and met the night time receptionist. A rude unhelpful man. He was not correct in his understanding of our booking. Though he did eventually check and grumpily agreed we were to book in early. He was very rude to another guest who only wanted an early cup of coffee - the staff were setting up breakfast and the coffee was ready but it was not the correct time so no coffee for that man. The day shift receptionist took over and did her best to ignore us for over 20 mins until I spoke to her. She was curt and dismissive. We then were taken to our room. It was supposed to be delux. it was not. English 3 star at the very most. The hotel flashing neon sign was right outside our window. The air conditioning unit leaked water - quite a lot. No towels. There was black mould growing in the shower, on all the bathroom walls and all round the sink. The bathroom really was revolting. I asked for towels which were reluctantly provided. So we went and booked somewhere else. Not a Boutique Hotel.

Room Tip: No tips as we did not actually stay the night it was too awful
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClariceSurreyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

after a very long trip to india we arrived late to this hotel. Check in was well done efficient and room proved to be clean spacious and well appointed. Considering it's downtown location it was very quiet at dark. Location was tremdous to see the sites as it is just up the road from India gate and the Taj hotel. Would recommend this to anyone visiting the fort in Bombay.

Room Tip: 2nd floor seemed to have the housekeeping services and the biys were less than quiet middle of the n...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G-clayton2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The hotel arranged a late night airport pick up. The man was there waiting for us (amongst the crowds!!), & he was very nice.
The hotel room had decent hot water & view outside window of the street which was interesting at times.
Hotel had good wifi.
Buffet breakfast was good also(although small). A mix of Indian & western.
Great location.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amoslandrybasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
0.0 km away
The Gordon House Hotel
The Gordon House Hotel
#77 of 452 in Mumbai
274 reviews
0.9 km away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#37 of 452 in Mumbai
823 reviews
0.6 km away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#98 of 452 in Mumbai
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#71 of 452 in Mumbai
483 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Godwin
Hotel Godwin
#133 of 452 in Mumbai
245 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Suncity Apollo, Mumbai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suba Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suba Palace

Address: Near Gateway of India | Near Gateway of India, Mumbai 400039, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 452 Hotels in Mumbai
Price Range: ₹ 5,206 - ₹ 10,087 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Suba Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Expedia, Yatra, MakeMyTrip, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Ctrip TA and TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel Suba Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suba Palace Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing