We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing historical structure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gateway of India

Gateway of India
Book In Advance
US$ 37.00*
and up
Private Full-Day Mumbai Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #7 of 477 things to do in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Built in 1911 to welcome the King and Queen of England, this stone archway in Colaba is now a historic landmark.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing historical structure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

I learned that royalty used to arrive by ship and enter the Gateway to change into their royal clothing and ride out of the Gateway on horses or horse drawn carriages into the population. There were a lot of tourists visiting but the experience didn't feel packed--everyone seemed genuinely interested in viewing it and taking photos.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank LFTrav12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,805
    2,644
    1,258
    157
    49
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Birds eye view from the Sea Lounge at the Taj”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

This is one place I cannot get tired of. During my stay in Mumbai, I visited the Sea Lounge at the Taj several times. I would sit at a table overlooking the Gateway and watch the scene down below. The visitors walking around taking pictures, boarding little boats that took them out to some distance so they could gawk at the splendid view of the Gateway and the Taj and the naval docks from the sea. If the sea was rough, they would come ashore and get sprayed with sea water near the landing. Some more pictures and they would head to the street vendors and eat some of the delectable Mumbai chat. I enjoyed all this as I ate something that the Sea Lounge had to offer in the comfort of a table by the sea.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nikunjbhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
379 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

I was there when is was grey and misty! Nice photos, interesting history BUT beware of the touts/hawkers!!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Benjamindrfranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If not seen in mumbai, no meaning to of els”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Great View, Cleanliness, Public any many more thing, Beautiful,
It will be better if you visit in Group, because Boat riding and visit of Eliphant is more memorable there, your can make boating in specialised like cruze, is possible there

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank mumbai_view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So much history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

A beautiful structure really is the Gateway to India.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Revy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gateway of India also viewed

 

Been to Gateway of India? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing