We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel.. Great view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Lands End Mumbai
Ranked #13 of 456 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Taj Lands end is a more contemporary hotel and looks strictly business hotel. The best part of this hotel is every room has a view of the sea. So being in any room doesn’t take away the view of the sea and now with the newly built Worli Sea link – it is a pictureous view from the hotel.

The room we were booked in the deluxe category was awesome. It was very spacious and the bathroom was very very spacious. It was contemporary look and very neatly maintained. If this was how the deluxe category looked, I wonder how the next category of club rooms would look.
There have about 2 restaurants and a lounge bar and all are located in the first 2 floors of the building. The drawback of this hotel seems to be on the service front. We were surprised that at the way the people at the breakfast table handled the crowd. They made us wait, the person manning the gate at the coffee shop wasn’t pleasant and then the quality of food was pretty bad, compared to the traditional standards Taj sets. Very surprised at the response time also and it looked as if they weren’t able to handle the crowd there (I guess the hotel wasn’t full also).

Except for these glitches, enjoyed the stay here.

Room Tip: Club rooms are great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Srikanth_Iyer1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,092 - 3,096 of 3,694 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

I was able to get a decent rate on one of the booking sites and stayed at this property only for 1-night. The room had an excellent view of the sea below. For me, the room furniture is outdated and needs to be upgraded and updated. And there were some stains on the carpet. I loved the bathroom, nice and spacious. This property is everything you expect and need from a 5-star property in a metropolitan city.

With all the 5-star hotels, my beef is the taxes and fees for VAT, service charges, luxury tax, and service tax can add over 20% to your room rate! Which makes a 5-star in India averaging almost 15k rupees a night for a room, taxes, breakfast and internet. I would have stayed here longer but I find having to advise the front office manage to have a guest in my room is a bit intrusive. It is part of the Taj policy to not allow guests to your room. I know there is a security issue in Mumbai, but I did not find this problem at other 5-star hotels in India. I then moved for this reason, to cut costs and to be more centrally located for my additional nights in Mumbai.

The concierge was helpful for me for some needs not available at the hotel. The wait staff was very friendly and the breakfast buffet was excellent. The chef greeted me personally and even made me a box “to go” full of pastries. The mushroom risotto was good for an evening dinner, but overpriced.

I wish I would have had more time to partake in the hotel amenities, including the spa, pool and health club.

Overall a very good experience, mainly because of the personal attention from the staff and not the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank firecrackerbaby2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I have been all over the world and have yet to see the level of customer service that I've seen here. When you order room service, you are treated to your own private waiter who takes the time to explain to you what you've ordered and to give suggestions on how to eat certain plates. One gentleman even took the time to answer questions I had about cricket.

The staff who clean the rooms do so spectacularly. It's the little things like folding your clothes, placing your glasses on top of a cloth napkin and placing a flower on your bed each night. These are the things that separate a hotel from being good, to being great. The best cleaning staff I have ever experienced. It was done with so much character and charm. I was surprised to see a candy wrapper on my night stand, only to realize that I had a few morsels left. I was happy to see the care taken to save me my sweets!

The food is all very good and I strongly encourage guests to try the Indian breakfast. I chose something different every morning and was never disappointed. The staff over the phone are helpful and take their time with my questions, never making me feel hurried.

I did go to the spa for a massage, which I felt to be average, the only reason this hotel fails to get five stars from me. Also, the shower door seems to leak water onto the floor because of a design flaw which causes the shower water to hit the outside of the door when opened.

Even with that being said, I would 100% stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ferinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Everything you would expect from a Taj. Excellent welcome, large room with everything spotless. Great bathroom and good view. It's worth staying in a Club room for the little extras that you get such as free airport transfer (one-way, but fantastic for a 1am arrival), breakfast, high tea, cocktails etc.
Breakfast in Club room is quieter than main restaurant, but not as much selection.
Ate lunch twice in main restaurant - a la carte and buffet, both good, but preferred buffet as a wider selection of Indian cuisine.
Was here for a meeting in the board room, that part was a little disappointing. Projector technology was a mystery, not enough chairs in the room etc. which are minor problems, but getting them sorted took an eternity. This was one part of the hotel that really needs a focus.

Room Tip: Club room is worth it (see main review). By default these are higher with a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NkkLndn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

A perfect luxury hotel, that has everything in a beautiful and spacious rooms, except this clinical and expensive feel lacks character, which is probably caused by it's 'lands end' location away from the main city. New sea link provides well needed improved access to the city and overall it is the best place to stay that side of Mumbai.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UK-Based-Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 456 in Mumbai
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Juhu
JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu
JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu
#14 of 456 in Mumbai
2,409 reviews
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 456 in Mumbai
4,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lands End Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lands End Mumbai

Address: Band Stand, Bandra West | Bandra, Mumbai 400050, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai
#7 Family Hotel in Mumbai
#7 Business Hotel in Mumbai
#13 Spa Hotel in Mumbai
#13 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai
Price Range: ₹ 12,951 - ₹ 22,763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lands End Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Lands End, Mumbai offers the best of both worlds - breathtaking views of the sea and the energy of city life. The hotel is located in the heart of Bandra, which buzzes with activity day and night. An integral part of the Taj Luxury Hotels, Taj Lands End offers some of the city's finest accommodation, dining experiences, and comprehensive conferencing and banqueting facilities. The hotel offers the ideal blend of business and leisure with easy accessibility to the Bandra-Kurla, Andheri and Worli business districts as well as the domestic and international airport. Taj Lands End Mumbai is modern, but like all Taj hotels, reflects India's warm and heartfelt traditions of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, ClearTrip, Expedia, MakeMyTrip, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and TravelGuru so you can book your Taj Lands End Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lands End Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Taj Lands End Mumbai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing