We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Taj Mahal Palace
Ranked #3 of 444 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent location, close to everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

The location is perfect. It is walking distance to the main shopping market and also to the gateway of india and the boats.

Service is exceptional. All employees ensure that you are satisfied and they are friendly and you receive your requests within minutes

The breakfast is not to be missed!

Room Tip: We had a room facing the gateway of india and although it was noisy in the mornings, you do get a re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,222
    930
    243
    61
    83
See reviews for
1,180
2,389
559
1,370
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,566)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed in the Palace and were amazed at this beautiful building especially the grand staircase and the FLOWERS!The floral arrangements and the aroma throughout the hotel were so beautiful. Our room staff and restaurant staff were incredible and could not do enough for us. The only disappointed for us was the staff at front of house in the Palace area. They were not as welcoming as we had come to expect after staying at other Taj Hotels throughout India.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan73132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Engelberg, Nidwalden, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

The iconic hundred-and-six-year-old "Taj Mahal Palace & Tower", Mumbai is an architectural marvel. It has always aspired in bringing together, a flamboyant and fantastic architecture with Moorish, Oriental and Florentine styles. Within, it regales fusion of majestic Indian elegance with a refreshing European touch. Rooms overlook the city or pool, or face the Gateway of India and Arabian Sea. Several sophisticated dining venues satisfy the most jaded palates. The business center and six meeting rooms form an ideal venue for business tete-a-tetes.

I happened to stay at the Taj Mahal Palace once when in Mumbai.The hotel itself is beautiful and comfortable, but it is the staff who really deserve a mention. The level of service and hospitality is truly outstanding.

As the car pulled into the secure entrance a lady greeted me and whisked me past the majestic lobby to my room. The check in process was speedy and efficient. The staff were diligent and keen to help in all possible ways. Their optimistic attitude surely caught my interest. One point I would never forget to mention is its food. Recipes like Kanha Kebab, Delight- Chicken Tikka filled in Garlic Bread were just too delicious for my taste buds.

The building is an iconic structure with a 5-stared quality grade. However, what really makes this my second home is the staff. They are simply the kindest and perhaps extraordinarily professional. A visitor to Mumbai must visit this hotel at least once. If you are staying, go for the Palace wing. You can spend a few days in this hotel and never be a prey to boredom. Relax by the pool or have recreational facilities, for instance, start with sunset drinks by poolside 'Aquarius', then Harbour Bar following Starboard. Decide if you want Chinese('Golden Dragon') or Indian ('Masala Craft') food.

Just as my stay was made so comfortable and memorable, so was the check out. It was an express checkout wherein my bills were ready even before I was, and my luggage was taken care of. The word 'Taj' refers to crown and I would say "Taj Mahal Palace and Tower" is worth its name and definitely the crown of all the hotels.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ameya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
779 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Having stayed at the Four Seasons, Trident, Oberoi and Westin, I decided to stay at the Taj Palace hotel on a leisure trip.

Having booked a club room in the Palace wing, I was collected by a Jaguar at the airport. From check in to check out, it was simply a perfect stay, Taj simply does it very well in their top hotels.

The Palace wing is the place to stay, and I would suggest a sea-facing room, it is a few Rupees more but worth it. The pool is great, as is the spa (although rather small). Had dinner at the Lebanese restaurant on the 19th floor, great food and view.

Staying at the Taj puts one in the heart of old Bombay, one can walk to all the major sites in Colaba within 30 minutes, and Chor Bazaar and Pheonix Mall is a short taxi ride away. Excellent concierge and very helpful staff as well, it is in a league of its own.

Room Tip: Palace wing, sea-facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hooggenoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

After the 24 hour journey from Canada, arriving at the Taj Palace was delightful. Even better, after a day of exploring Mumbai, having this hotel as a sanctuary was a breath of fresh air. The pool is stunning, the food is great, and the lobby smells like a fancy spa. We loved it!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pairofglasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
1.5 km away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 444 in Mumbai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
1.5 km away
Trident, Nariman Point
1.6 km away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 km away
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 444 in Mumbai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,318 reviews
8.1 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
13.6 km away
Taj Lands End
Taj Lands End
#11 of 444 in Mumbai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj Mahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj Mahal Palace

Property: The Taj Mahal Palace
Address: Apollo Bunder | Colaba, Mumbai 400001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mumbai
#2 Business Hotel in Mumbai
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai
#3 Spa Hotel in Mumbai
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,922 - ₹ 19,981
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj Mahal Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903, The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai is India's first luxury hotel. Offering panoramic views of the Arabian Sea and the Gateway of India, the hotel is a city landmark. The hotel offers 550 rooms including 42 suites, each adorned with original paintings and period furniture that exude an aura of old-world charm and elegance. The restaurants at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai offer distinctive dining experiences that cover the finest Indian and international cuisines - from casual, all-day eateries to Oriental, Japanese, Indian and Mediterranean fine dining. The hotel also houses the first licensed bar of Mumbai and also a beautiful sea-front restaurant for hi-tea and live music. Palace Services in the Palace Wing of the hotel add to the experience, where the butler plays the all important role of guide and assistant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, ClearTrip, DerbySoftTaj, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Taj Mahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal Palace Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Palace Hotel
The Taj Hotel
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Hotels
Taj Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing