We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Ranked #4 of 465 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed in the old heritage wing which was a fabulous experience and the bathroom was great too. However the noise from below on the road was quite disturbing even though the windows were all shut. The room service is quite steeply priced and it seemed better to go to the restaurant and eat. Other than that we had a great experience at the hotel

Room Tip: Rooms at such locations are usually steep and its better sometimes to search at other options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbhishekBagri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (7,009)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,584 - 5,588 of 7,009 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

I was at this hotel for 3 nights. Fabulous room, great service. People work in this hotel are EXCELLENT. Always with great beautiful smile. Specatacular service.

It is so weird to walk out of this spotless hotel and see the dirt and disgusting smell from the water. Again, it is India. India is a beauiful country with bad hygiene.

I was quiet disgusted by the smell coming from the water - you can not aviod. you can not runaway from it. It is in your face.

Just out side of this fabulous hotel - you see people - adults and childrens are sleeping on news papers. At the same time, local extreme RICH mumbai people are celebrating wedding inside with thousands of people.

Again, it is INCREDIBLE INDIA.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely YES. Would I be happy walk outside the lobby? Absolutely NO.

It is so amazing to see - NO GARBAGE cans anywhere to be found. I do not get it. If India wants to be in the world stage, let's start to put some garbage cans. And after, PLEASE put some toilets with flush.

Avoid going to toilets outside... Even in restaurants.

Room Tip: Any rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeonlightsCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

As a business traveler I have stayed in around 100+ hotels in Mumbai including five star, four stars and three stars hotel. I visit Mumbai five times in each month. Last one I have long business meeting with one of potential client and we had stayed in The Taj Mahal Place hotel. Though I have stayed in other Mumbai hotels but the experience I got from The Taj Mahal Place hotel was totally different. According this hotel is best for business meeting. The hotel had arranged a special business meeting room for us. In business meeting room had decorated with modern technology like projector, microphone, wireless internet and many more. Another Point I want add in this list that is food menus. Menus like Kanha Kebab Delight- Chicken Tikka filled in Garlic Bread were too testy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

As a frequent world traveller, this has to be my favourite hotel in the world. Yes, it is an iconic building (take the hotel tour with Viren at 5pm daily) and it is 5 (7?) star quality but what really makes this my second home is the staff. They are simply the kindest and professional ever.

Any visitor to Mumbai must at least visit this hotel. If you are staying, go for the Palace wing. I dont approve of people who visit a new place and never leave the hotel but I will make an exception in this case. You can spend a few days in this hotel and never be bored, chillax by the pool, do a pub crawl (start with sunset drinks by poolside 'Aquarius' then Harbour Bar then Starboard). Decide if you want Chinese ('Golden Dragon') or Indian ('Masala Craft') etc.

It is also a safe haven from the buzz of Colaba: def worth exploring especially the nearby 'dive' Gokul and 'Bade Miya' kebabs (very safe) literally behind the Taj. Gosh, I sound like an ad for the hotel but this is genuine. Forget about the cost, try to stop thinking about the 'inequity' and 'land of contrasts' cliches, and just relish the experience of true blue Indian hospitality where guest is God, sir!

Room Tip: You live only once so go for sea-facing Palace Club room!! it includes free high tea, evening drinks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sinanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I stayed here with my family on 3rd-4th march 2012. It was an amazing experience. the building itself is fantastic and steeped with history. The Staff are excellently trained and very friendly. the restaurant food and room service are top notch. If you are in india staying here is a must!

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the Harbour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grizley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 465 in Mumbai
2,324 reviews
Worli/Prabhadevi
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bandra Kurla Complex
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 465 in Mumbai
4,153 reviews
Bandra West
Taj Lands End Mumbai
Taj Lands End Mumbai
#13 of 465 in Mumbai
3,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Address: Apollo Bunder, Mumbai 400 001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai > Colaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mumbai
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai
#2 Business Hotel in Mumbai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai
#4 Spa Hotel in Mumbai
Price Range: ₹ 18,441 - ₹ 41,266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903, The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai is India's first luxury hotel. Offering panoramic views of the Arabian Sea and the gateway of India, the hotel is a city landmark. The hotel offers 543 rooms including 54 suites, each adorned with original paintings and period furniture that exude an aura of old-world charm and elegance. The restaurants at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai offer distinctive dining experiences that cover the finest Indian and international cuisines - from casual, all-day eateries to Oriental, Japanese, Indian and Mediterranean fine dining. The hotel also houses the first licensed bar of Mumbai and also a beautiful sea-front restaurant for high tea and live music. Palace Services in the Palace Wing of the hotel add to the experience, where the butler plays the all important role of guide and assistant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, MakeMyTrip, Yatra, HotelQuickly and TravelGuru so you can book your The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal Palace Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
Taj Hotels
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
The Taj Mahal Palace Hotel
The Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing