We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre Goa stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments
Ranked #92 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pre Goa stop”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel before our recent trip to Goa and so that we could have a tour of Mumbai.We had booked this hotel after reading reviews fron this site and am pleased we chose this hotel. Rooms were of a fairly good standad and were excellent value for money the hotel helped us book a tour and the breakfast was pleasant at the outdoor restaurant.
There were a number of decent resaurants in the vacinity and found one for an excellent indian meal(sorry cant remember the name)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden restaurant no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superblue63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    161
    79
    36
    31
See reviews for
118
82
36
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
134 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I landed at Mumbai Domestic Airport one afternoon and was leaving from the International Airport the following morning so I wanted a Hotel near to both and The Emerald just fitted the bill.
It is in the Juhu district just a short stroll away from Juhu Beach. Turning left out of the hotel and just a short stroll away are an Italian Restaurant and Over the Rocks Restaurant ( I have been to Over the Rocks in Jaipur and the food there is good). However , The Emerald has its own veg restaurant which we found to be good. It serves continental food which is just what we wanted the night before a long flight!
The hotel room was clean and, for a city hotel, of reasonable size. There was a little noise through the night as people came in and left but that is to be expected in a city hotel.
When I made the reservation over the internet I was given to understand that both the pick up from AND drop off back to the airport were included in the room price. However, on arriving at the Hotel I was told that only the pickup was complimentary and I would have to pay for the drop off. After showing the Reception Manager the web site he eventually agreed that it was, at the best, misleading and agreed for the Hotel to stand the cost of the Taxi to the airpport.
I found the hotel served its purpose and I would use it again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed at the Emerald Hotel for 1 night during a business trip to Mumbai last week.

The hotel is very well located, on the main road near Juhu Beach. There are several other hotels & shops nearby so its very convenient location.There is a coffee shop right at the front too. Even though its on the main road, its very quiet and I didn't hear any noise from the traffic at all.

I stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment which was very comfortable and clean. The suite consisted off 2 bedrooms, a living room with tv, a dining area with a small kitchen. Its ideal for a family or friends traveling together. We ordered dinner from room service and we got excellent service even though it was quite late. The food was very tasty and I would recommend the Kichdi to everyone. One of the best Ive ever had anywhere!! Please note that they only serve vegetarian food.

I would strongly recommend this hotel for anybody traveling on business or on holiday. Its very comfortable, clean, conveniently located and great value for money

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayredd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visakhapatnam (Vizag), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I stayed at the Emerald on 5th March 2012.
It is Rightly priced, Right Location and Best Service.
I would recommend this hotel for both Business and pleasure travel.
This place is quiet different from other hotels as it has 2 and 3 Bed room apts. We have stayed in a 2 bed room apt. It has two beautiful bed rooms with dining and living.
It was like a Home away from Home with this ambience.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in a group, ask for a 2 or bed room apt. You will feel like home
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shiv g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The hotel is fine - albeit the rooms and bathrooms are rather small. But the reason this hotel is terrible is they lie when you pay the bill. I specifically asked which currency my credit card would be charged in and was clearly told "Rupees" even though the credit card receipt is rather vague on this point. The hotel's own GBP/INR exchange is worse than the bank's rate, giving the hotel an additional margin over whatever they make on the room.

DO NOT STAY WITH THESE CHEATS!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chetanmehta, Public Relations Manager at The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We have gone through the review and wish to clarify that we have in no way Cheated the Guest as alleged by him and we are following the Rules and Regulations as set by the Reserve Bank of India

We wish to give our reply for the Benefit of the Guest and for other Guests going through this Review as under:
(1) We do not have any Dual Tariff Policy as is prevalent in some hotels have in India.

(2) What the Guest was charged was as per the conversion that is prefixed by the Bank on the Credit Card Swipe Machine and we have no role to play in this. Hence it is indeed surprising to note that the Guest has accused us of having a Differential rate of Exchange. This is determined by the Bank and not by the Hotel. The Machine is provided by the Bank mandated by the Reserve Bank of India and the Hotel in no way owns the same.

(3) The rate of Exchange which is posted by us is as per the information provided by the Bank and there is no way we can manipulate the rate as the same is reported back to the Bank when we have to sell the Foreign Exchange purchased from Guests to them.

(4) There is always going to be a difference in the Exchange rate offered by the Hotel and those offered by the Banks and it is always advisable to exchange the Foreign Currency at a Bank. This is an Universal Phenomenon.

(5) WE STRONGLY OBJECT TO CALLING US CHEATS AND DEMAND THAT THE GUEST RETRACT THEIR STATEMENT.

(6) We advise the Guest that he or she check with the local prevailing laws and the correct Legal Procedure in the country where the Hotel is located before calling anyone a Cheat.

In case the Guest wishes we can send further clarification of the Prevailing Foreign Exchange Rules in India.

Thanking you,
Guest Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Juhu
Hotel Bawa Continental
Hotel Bawa Continental
#76 of 454 in Mumbai
452 reviews
Juhu
Hotel Sea Princess
Hotel Sea Princess
#90 of 454 in Mumbai
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Juhu
Citizen Hotel
Citizen Hotel
#137 of 454 in Mumbai
200 reviews
Ramada Plaza Palm Grove
#73 of 454 in Mumbai
798 reviews
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
#68 of 454 in Mumbai
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments

Property: The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments
Address: Juhu Tara Road, Mumbai 400049, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai > Juhu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Best Value Hotel in Mumbai
#46 Spa Hotel in Mumbai
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,752 - ₹ 7,699
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments has elegantly furnished Superior, Deluxe rooms as well as fully Studio / One / Two Bedroom furnished apartments to offer its guests. It is close to the airports as well the commercial areas of Bombay including the NSE and MMRDA Exhibition Grounds. Juhu Beach is located across the road from the hotel. The Hotel is located in the famous Juhu area which is the happening place of Bombay. The Hotel offers all the standard facilities and amenities to its Guests from the Corporate as well as Leisure segments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelGuru and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Emerald - Hotel And Executive Apartments
Best Western Emerald Mumbai
Mumbai Best Western
Hotel Best Western Mumbai
Best Western Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing