We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Your Average Business Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Marine Drive

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Marine Drive
Ranked #36 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Just Your Average Business Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

It's a decent hotel. The rooms are nice, the food is average, the staff is slow and incompetent, and the view is not what we'd hoped. But the big kicker was the WiFi. You'd think that because they are a business hotel and most of their clientele need to be on the internet all the time, they would have free WiFi, but noooo. Instead, they charge you an arm and a leg for it. The reason for this was totally lost on me (if there is a reason besides the fact that they just want your money) because in other places in India at CHEAPER hotels, they provided free WiFi, and very good quality too, so the reason is obviously not that it is very expensive to provide WiFi in a large area like a hotel.

All in all, decent hotel, but there are better places to stay in Mumbai.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler9871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomilRatra, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive

At the Outset we would like to thank you for your thorough feedback on this forum.Often guests choose not to share feedback with us and we lose the opportunity to correct our processes and I am truly grateful for the time and effort that you have taken to share this with us.

The entire hotel team has been briefed regarding the service issues you faced during your stay and we shall look to try and further improve our processes.We would like to assure you that each and every team member is committed to providing the best possible service to all our guests.

In regards to Wifi services i am sure you would appreciate that most hotels in mumbai charge for this service and in comparison to other hotels our tariff is comparatively cheaper .Since your feedback we have also gone ahead and upgraded this service to world class standards with better equipment and IT support and have not faced any complaints in this regards.

We would definitely look forward to welcoming you once again to our hotel and also give us an opportunity to reaffirm your faith in us and our brand.Please do not hesitate to contact me for any further requirements.

Best Regards

Romil Ratra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    189
    59
    15
    26
See reviews for
88
159
64
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

A great hotel, though not much to it, and also the wifi was expensive. The food there was quite good though, and also the view.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fritz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive

Thank you for sharing your views on the hotel in this forum.We are glad you enjoyed the facilities we have to offer and are happy that the food offerings were as per your palate.

Our Wi-Fi service rates are on par with all the 5 star hotels in the city but we will definitely look into your suggestion.

We look forward to your next stay with us and please do not hesitate to contact me for any assistance

Warm Regards
Romil Ratra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

Excellent comfortable room, friendly staff, good food in the restaurants and a concierge staff who really went the extra mile to assist wherever possible even organizing cricket tickets for an IPL match during my stay. I can highly recommend the Intercontinental Marine Drive Mumbai

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive.

We truly appreciate your generous and motivating feedback on this forum and have made it a point to share it with the entire team at the hotel.We take great pride in providing the best possible service to our guests and in doing so it gives us immense joy.

We would be more than glad to cater to any special requests on your next stay with us and we hope to see you soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for any assistance

Warm Regards

Romil Ratra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Only stayed 1 night, but one of the best places I have ever stayed for service. The rooms are not normal IC but very high tech (well to me anyway) . It is very centrally located and within easy walking distance of many attractions. I agree with the previous review the only down fall is cost. We did go to the rooftop in the evening hoping to watch the sunset as had been recommended on previous reviews but there was a promotion going on with alot of drunken young people there, so couldnt get anywhere near looking over at the ocean. No free wifi, one problem we had in India with this chain.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank George8052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive.

We thank you for the lovely and encouraging review on this forum.We have taken note of your views regarding the prices and the complimentary Wifi. The Dome is an extremely premium outlet with the best view the city has to offer coupled with a very premium selection of spirits and food hence the price is comparatively higher then the other outlets at our hotel.

In regards to the Wifi we have packages to suit every guests individual needs and they are priced on par with all other 5 star hotels in mumbai, however we are currently exploring certain options to make it complimentary in the near future as an added benefit to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.

Warm Regards
Romil Ratra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

The service is impeccable, the rooms are great, the view is stunning (if you get the seafront rooms) and the location is superb.

But...
It's horrendously expensive (especially wine which is marked up 20% in much of India). The restaurants are expensive and the rooftop bar is astronomically expensive.

But it's a great place, the service is absolutely superb, the rooftop bar is worth it for the view and atmosphere alone, staff are amazing and we loved every minute of it. Everyone did everything they could to get us what we needed and where we needed to go. They even arranged for me to get a simcard for my iPad rather than having to go looking!

Hey, it's an Intercontinental. You definitely get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Get a seafront view if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilOakshott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
0.9 km away
Trident, Nariman Point
2.3 km away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
0.2 km away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#56 of 440 in Mumbai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 440 in Mumbai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
1.7 km away
The Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 440 in Mumbai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,337 reviews
2.1 km away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#40 of 440 in Mumbai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Marine Drive? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Marine Drive

Property: InterContinental Marine Drive
Address: 135 Marine Drive Road, Mumbai 400020, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai
#27 Business Hotel in Mumbai
#28 Family Hotel in Mumbai
#29 Spa Hotel in Mumbai
#31 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,594 - ₹ 19,389
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Marine Drive 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Marine Drive Mumbai is distinguished by sweeping sea views, intimate surroundings and an address near the Nariman Point business district. A few minutes away are the Gateway of India, Jehangir Art Gallery, St. Thomas Cathedral and the National Centre for the Performing Arts. Nearby Elephanta Caves is a World Heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, IHG and Yatra so you can book your InterContinental Marine Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Marine Drive Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Intercontinental Bombay
Intercontinental Hotel Bombay
Intercontinental Mumbai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing