We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Stay for a treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Marine Drive

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
InterContinental Marine Drive
Ranked #36 of 429 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Stay for a treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Only stayed 1 night, but one of the best places I have ever stayed for service. The rooms are not normal IC but very high tech (well to me anyway) . It is very centrally located and within easy walking distance of many attractions. I agree with the previous review the only down fall is cost. We did go to the rooftop in the evening hoping to watch the sunset as had been recommended on previous reviews but there was a promotion going on with alot of drunken young people there, so couldnt get anywhere near looking over at the ocean. No free wifi, one problem we had in India with this chain.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank George8052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive.

We thank you for the lovely and encouraging review on this forum.We have taken note of your views regarding the prices and the complimentary Wifi. The Dome is an extremely premium outlet with the best view the city has to offer coupled with a very premium selection of spirits and food hence the price is comparatively higher then the other outlets at our hotel.

In regards to the Wifi we have packages to suit every guests individual needs and they are priced on par with all other 5 star hotels in mumbai, however we are currently exploring certain options to make it complimentary in the near future as an added benefit to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.

Warm Regards
Romil Ratra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    180
    52
    12
    25
See reviews for
81
145
57
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

The service is impeccable, the rooms are great, the view is stunning (if you get the seafront rooms) and the location is superb.

But...
It's horrendously expensive (especially wine which is marked up 20% in much of India). The restaurants are expensive and the rooftop bar is astronomically expensive.

But it's a great place, the service is absolutely superb, the rooftop bar is worth it for the view and atmosphere alone, staff are amazing and we loved every minute of it. Everyone did everything they could to get us what we needed and where we needed to go. They even arranged for me to get a simcard for my iPad rather than having to go looking!

Hey, it's an Intercontinental. You definitely get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Get a seafront view if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilOakshott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

amazing hotel, unparalleled personalized service, great location, large & clean rooms. restaurants and dome bar were fantastic. seafront room views are suberb. highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayalooda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

too good view of the busy marine drive from the roof top.. could have the best view of the queens necklace from there.. the food and drinks were very good.. the area near the pool is also well too hve a realaxng drink...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niyati d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Even from before the moment a hotel chauffeur picked me up at BOM International, the professional approach of the hotel became apparent: An SMS text message on my mobile while I am still on my plane telling me where to find the good man later on! After a smooth ride, some of the best and most cordial, yet always professional, reception staff seemed to be waiting just for me. Paper work was accomplished swiftly and after a surprise little welcome ceremony I ended up with a tilak put gently between my eyebrows and a lady showing me to my corner suite.
I can't judge what regular rooms are like but this spacious junior suite was one of the best I have seen in InterContinentals around the world! Everything was perfect, but the bed (mattress, sheets, pillows and cover) were the best ever! With air conditioning quiet and easily adjustable, I slept every night like a baby in mother's arms. Work space including all necessary gadgets was again perfect. Asking for three (free) separate WiFi access codes for laptop, iPad and BlackBerry is a smart thing to do and leads to issuance of one joint one.
Throughout the stay, (nearly) everything remained on this high level of professionalism and helped guest satisfaction immensely. Being addressed by my name by practically everyone was impressive. (I would have found it unbelievable had I not been told by managers of other properties that staff are informed every day which Royal Ambassadors are currently visiting.)
And yet, restaurant staff could use some more staff training:
Even at 10:15, staff in the Corleone breakfast restaurant still seemed a bit asleep every day. It was not always easy to catch their attention. Boiled eggs are available, but only rock-hard. Overall, the buffet is appropriate, but nothing to write home about. Upside: At 10:29 one is not given the feeling that two minutes later staff would only like to think about lunchtime.
A real little cloud, though, is the staff of the beautiful rooftop restaurant. My business partner and I had an invited guest from the Oberoi Hotel join us for dinner. All of us enjoyed the relaxed and yet classy atmosphere and the view "all the way to Dubai", as we would joke.
But catching the attention of waiters took almost physical effort and a long wait almost each time. Being told that the restaurant does not serve any coffee after our meal baffled us completely, causing also embarrassment towards our guest. To make up for the rocky road experience we had just been through, I insisted this time. And the coffee was served - eventually ...
We were not in a rush that night, but in total we probably wasted almost half an hour waiting for things - including our coffee.
Only because of the impeccable level of everything else in the hotel am I still rating the Service "excellent". The rooftop experience actually commanded a downgrade. - To save the honor of the restaurant manager, I must add that upon checkout at reception a few hours later, the man seemed to have been waiting for us to apologize and to ask me to specify any criticism. He seemed honestly grateful for what we told him and it will be extremely interesting to find out whether things have changed, for in little over a week I'll be checking in again! Which answers the question whether I would return. Of course, I would!
Bottom line: Great hotel for business and leisure, but there is no perfection under the sun!

Room Tip: Windows are pretty soundproof everywhere but top floors are more quiet and have a better view - natu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paquisoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
0.9 km away
Trident, Nariman Point
2.3 km away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
0.9 km away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 429 in Mumbai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#65 of 429 in Mumbai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.2 km away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#113 of 429 in Mumbai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.8 km away
The Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Palace
#4 of 429 in Mumbai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Marine Drive? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Marine Drive

Property: InterContinental Marine Drive
Address: 135 Marine Drive Road, Mumbai 400020, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai
#28 Family Hotel in Mumbai
#28 Spa Hotel in Mumbai
#28 Business Hotel in Mumbai
#33 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,942 - ₹ 25,516
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Marine Drive 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Marine Drive Mumbai is distinguished by sweeping sea views, intimate surroundings and an address near the Nariman Point business district. A few minutes away are the Gateway of India, Jehangir Art Gallery, St. Thomas Cathedral and the National Centre for the Performing Arts. Nearby Elephanta Caves is a World Heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelGuru, IHG, Expedia, Prestigia and Ostrovok so you can book your InterContinental Marine Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Marine Drive Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Intercontinental Mumbai Hotel
Intercontinental Hotel Bombay
Intercontinental Bombay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing