We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Marine Drive
Ranked #39 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great stay”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I loved this place, we spent our last four nights of our India trip here. Breakfast at the hotel was fabulous, a great buffet and a la cart menu. The beds were heavenly, much needed after staying in other hotels throughout India with rock hard mattresses. The staff was fantastic, even helping me get dressed for the first time for an Indian wedding. I got Delhi belly and spent 24 hours in bed but I felt very comfortable in my room and ordered a soups and toast from room service. The location is great, many restaurants and stores walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azil68pr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomilRatra, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Guest


Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive

Thank you for sharing your views and feedback on this forum.We do take a lot of pride in our personalized service and feedback such as yours definitely helps boost the morale of our colleagues and pushes us to strive for further excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you once again.

Warm Regards
Romil Ratra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    194
    62
    17
    28
See reviews for
94
166
67
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Itu, SP
Level Contributor
207 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

For Indian standards, it is fantastic. For the rest of the world, a Intercontinental.
This means a good hotel (expensive for india) with big room, excellent breakfast, I tryed the italian restaurant and the pasta was reasonable, but poor wine list. The must is the roof terrace where people go to see fantastic sunset drinking. There was a trouble: drinks are bad and food was awful. Don't dine there, just for happy hour.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduba101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Ronkonkoma, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed at the Intercontinental for 5 nights, as we were in Mumbai for a friend's wedding. I was expecting a skyscraper of a hotel, as I have stayed at other Intercontinentals. I was surprised so see that there were perhaps 8 floors to this hotel. It was a pleasant surprise, as it creates a more intimate atmosphere. The staff always greeted me by name, and it was nice to see the same faces.

Choose this location if you want to get away from the touts and tourist bustle of Colaba. It was nice to leave the hotel and walk around the neighborhood without having people follow us around and ask if we wanted tours, taxis, etc.

There was one incident on our last night when someone came by our room twice (at 11:30 pm and again at 11:45 pm) and rang our doorbell, only to run away when we came to the door. I reported this to security, as there are cameras located on every floor. However, they claimed that no one rang our doorbell. Not a big deal, as you can disable the doorbell manually. But it was rather insulting to be told that no one rang our doorbell when both my husband and I were woken up twice by the ding-dong ditcher. I think this is because the hotel allows non-guests in Dome, the rooftop bar. There is no security measure in place to ensure that guests/non-guests can only access certain floors (I understand the Taj has implemented this security measure). Might be worth investing in this, as the Intercontinental has already invested in multiple security guards at the front who subject you to bag search and other screening before you are allowed entry.

Room Tip: Ask for the fifth floor if you need a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We Just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. We decided to stay here as opposed to the Taj heritage wing room we stayed last time, so our comparison is against this hotel.
Good points
Staff and manager are very welcoming and as it's a relatively small hotel you do see and speak to the same staff regularly which gives it a sense of intimacy
Room size is excellent and bed is huge plenty big enough for us two and 4 year old daughter.
Location is perfect, right on marine drive, and if you stay in the sea facing rooms you can watch thousands of joggers running up and down from before sunset.
Bad points
Matress on beds is awful. It has a small sweet spot right in the middle but apart from that has no firmness at all. So uncomfortable you feel your going to roll of on either side of the bed. They did replace it when asked but all matresses here are the same so it was just as uncomfortable
Breakfast is very disappointing for a 5 star hotel. Very limited choice although you ca order a limited cooked selection of things which are a bit better. You will not leave breakfast having felt you really filled up and not feel hungry very soon after
Cannot have a hot shower. Show temp is acceptable, but if you feel you just want to hav a hot steaming show then you will not get it, whatever you do the water is always just Luke warm. Not good enough for a hotel of this process point. We did mention this but water temp did not improve.
In summary it's a fine hotel, I just don't think they do the basics like comfortable mattress, heart-warming filling breakfast, or a great cleaning shower well enough. True you do pay more for the Taj but you don't get these issues especially when staying in the heritage wing, and you feel special every time you walk into the place. Sure there are other hotels who approach this class so will try another hotel on next visit.

Room Tip: Go for 3rd floor sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pareshP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel for the night of 19 december 2011. The hotel is ideally located on the marine drive its a small hotel where rooms are good and they have provided modern gadgets including electric curtaiins and touch buttons but some how I felt this hotel too commercial where there manager is telling that my 8 years old child will be charged for breakfast whereas at the time of booking it was made clear that the child is complimentary. Their restaurant is average with average food butler service is good but their high commercial behaviour makes stay not enjoyable as my credit card was charged for 20 thousand rs at the time of check in as most other hotels adopt policy of payment on check out but these guys want advance and that too over and above room tariff. I will advise if you are spending so much stay at nearby taj or the trident

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amitpartap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomilRatra, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear Mr Partap

We thank you for your valuable comments and feedback.

We are disappointed to hear about the mis-communication regarding the additional breakfast that you had with one of our managers and have taken this up with the team at the hotel.
We have also reviewed your bill folio and have noticed that this was not charged onto your final room account

with regards to the INR 20000 charge on your credit card,we would like to clarify that this was only a pre authorisation for a guarantee and not an actual sale.Rest assured we do not charge anything onto the guest credit card till he reviews the final bill on check out and authorizes the payment.


We hope this clarifies the issue and we really look forward to having you stay with our hotel once more to reaffirm your faith in us


Warm Regards
Romil Ratra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
0.9 km away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#10 of 454 in Mumbai
2,939 reviews
2.3 km away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
1.0 km away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 454 in Mumbai
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#62 of 454 in Mumbai
479 reviews
6.6 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
1.7 km away
The Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 454 in Mumbai
6,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Marine Drive? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Marine Drive

Property: InterContinental Marine Drive
Address: 135 Marine Drive Road, Mumbai 400020, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai
#27 Business Hotel in Mumbai
#28 Family Hotel in Mumbai
#31 Spa Hotel in Mumbai
#33 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,162 - ₹ 16,389
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Marine Drive 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Marine Drive Mumbai is distinguished by sweeping sea views, intimate surroundings and an address near the Nariman Point business district. A few minutes away are the Gateway of India, Jehangir Art Gallery, St. Thomas Cathedral and the National Centre for the Performing Arts. Nearby Elephanta Caves is a World Heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly and IHG so you can book your InterContinental Marine Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Marine Drive Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Intercontinental Bombay
Intercontinental Mumbai Hotel
Intercontinental Hotel Bombay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing