We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting to know Mumbai through the eyes of a local.”
Review of Bravo Bombay

Bravo Bombay
Ranked #9 of 100 Tours in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We love Bombay (aka Mumbai), a city with a pulse so strong you will feel it the minute you exit the airport. At 'Bravo Bombay' we wish accompany you to show you around our city, share its history and anecdotes. Get to know you a little better and tell you a little about us. Our tours are guided, informational and conversational.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Getting to know Mumbai through the eyes of a local.”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

My wife and started a 3 week trip to India in Mumbai. We spent 5 days in Mumbai but only 2 were dedicated to really touring the city.

We booked our tour with Hemali prior to leaving for our trip. She was very responsive over email and we were able to develop a 2 day itinerary that reflected our interests.

Our hotel was in the northern part of Mumbai (Goregaon East) which was, unfortunately for us, about an hour away from most of the attractions that we had scheduled to see (in the south). On both days Hemali arranged for an AC taxi to pick us up at our hotel and then we drove to pick her up.

Our first day we visited Baan Ganga (sacred water tank), a Jain temple, a Hare Krishna temple,
Hanging Garden, Kamla Nehru park, the Gateway of India, Taj Mahal Hotel, and many more attractions. For lunch, Hemali recommended a vegetarian restaurant next to the Hare Krishna temple, which was great.

The second day we spent mainly touring Dharavi, the largest slum in Asia. Using Dharavi as a backdrop, Hemali has able to use it to describe not just the the problems and challenges India is facing but also how the chaos can be organized. We saw a lot of industry in the slums, such as the many different types of recycling, the sewing and light manufacturing, the pottery businesses, and the Dhobi Ghat (open laundry). At first the idea of going to a slum might seem a turn-off; however, I highly recommend the experience. If it doesn't make you want to do something for others it will at least make you appreciate what you have. Later in the day Hemali invited us over to her place for some snacks and showed us both the food and textile markets nearby.

Hemali really made us feel comfortable in an otherwise foreign and hectic environment. She is a local who showed us local sites and activities. She really helped us make sense of the people, the city, the culture, and much of the richness Mumbai has to offer - something that could easily be missed at first glance. We highly recommend using Bravo Bombay's services to anyone looking for those positive and comfortable, yet eye opening, experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Buchheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    15
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“tour of the year”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I had just 2 days to see something special about this amazing city and Bravo Bombay did not fail. The brief was simple, take us to places only the locals know, show us the "real" city. Hemali did that in spectacular fashion. Hemali's tours were informative with amazing detail about this complex city but the facts and figures she imparted were never boring.
Day one I was in a small party of three; we were all amazed at the places Hemali took us and kept asking many, many questions but she managed to juggle our questions and kept us on track as well. I decided there and then, on the spot, to ask her to do a private tour the next day for me.
Day 2 we went to a completely separate part of the city and concentrated on locations and religious traditions that were unlike anything I had ever seen, nor were likely to see without a local guide who intimately knows the city and her treasures.
I've already booked Hemali for my next trip into Bombay and would recommend her services to anyone. Her attitude is respectful and enthusiastic, her love for this amazing city is infectious to all... well done Hemali!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“See Mumbai as the locals do”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We were in Mumbai for two days, and wanted to fit in a full-day tour of all the major sights. Hemali picked us up from our hotel, and we toured around for the day in a lovely air conditioned car. Hemali was born and raised in Mumbai, so she has an intimate knowledge of not just the main attractions, but the way of life in this cosmopolitan city. We saw the tour book attractions - the Gateway to India, hanging gardens, and Victoria train terminal. But we also saw things that no tour book could have recommended - the ins and outs of the market where Hemali lives, the outdoor laundry, the Tiffin box delivery boys, and an amazing local restaurant. At the end of the day we felt like we had seen the best (and worst) of the city. Hemali was kind, knowledgeable, and a pleasure to be around. Definitely recommend this tour!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Hemali is great!”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

My 18 year old daughter and i just returned from a 3 week journey thru India and Mumbai was our first stop. Hemali knew exactly what we wanted and made it happened. We feel like we left a friend behind! Bravo Hemali!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Monique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
1 review
“Bravo Hemali :)”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Incredible INDIA slogan did not fail. 1st stop Bombay. I followed tripadvisor & contacted Bravo Bombay to specifically request for a guide named HEMALI. She doesn't do big tours, she prefers small group where she fully interacts with guests. We felt that we were not clients but friends. June is the start of the monsoon rains but we felt Hemali's NOT TO RAIN DANCE worked :)
Thanks Hemali - Visit Manila in your next vacation leave :)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MimiMignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bravo Bombay also viewed

 

Been to Bravo Bombay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing