We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai
Ranked #15 of 448 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This was our first time in Mumbai and we picked the Meluha Fern only from what we had read on Trip Advisor.
I wish all hotels were this good, it was spotlessly clean, it has the smiliest staff I have ever met with a great standard of english. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I have ever had. The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet what more can you ask for The day before we were due to fly I thought I might e mail the Hotel and see if they could organise a taxi to collect us from the airport only because we had no idea where the hotel was in relation to the airport and didn`t want the hassle with indian taxi drivers, they sent two cars one for us and one for our luggage, and took us back to the airport when we checked out totaly free. I could not recommend this place highly enough.
However, it is a bit far out which for us was not a problem because the taxi rides into the Mumbai centre were great fun, the rickshaw (tuk tuks) rides were even more so, and to get back to such a nice area afer the manic centre was a nice change.
The bit that annoyed me the most was the pricing, they will give a price in rupees but when the bill comes they have added VAT, two education taxes, a luxury tax and even though your breakfast is included you do have to pay a tax on it why can we not have the all inclusive price makes it somuch easier to budget but this isn`t just the hotel its everywhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grahammckenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernhotels, Management at Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you for your valuable Feedback. Were glad you enjoyed the facilities of hotel and the service of our Staff, your feedback has been shared with the entire team and plays a huge role in their motivation levels. We look forward to making your future stays with us as memorable. Thank you for choosing a Fern Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    213
    37
    10
    11
See reviews for
70
40
22
444
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Baroda
Level Contributor
83 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This is new hotel in Hiranandani business park area. If you are business traveler, having office or customers in / around Powai - Hiranandani business park area, then you may consider this as one of the top choice among other available around the powai lake.

For the given corporate / individual package, they provide airport pickup & drop. Rooms are great, fully furnished with big LCD TV & cozy comfortable beds. Bath rooms are equipped with all amenities of good quality.

Breakfast is very good and elaborated having perfect balance of Indian & Continental cuisine.

You need to buy internet package (not free).

I saw couple of restaurants, haven't had chance to try out as moved out next morning.

I would recommend to stay at this hotel , they are not affiliated to any airline or club yet (so will have to give a pass if you counting on miles)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Naimish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernhotels, Management at Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thank you for your valuable Feedback. Were glad you enjoyed the facilities of hotel. Based on the numerous request we have received at our hotels we are in the process of launching a loyalty program which should be done by the end of March. We Look forward to making your future stays with us as memorable. Thank you for choosing a Fern Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I stayed at the Meluha before while it was under construction, but I felt it was not fair to rate it at that time. I recently stayed there from December 9th through the 15th, 2011.

Now that the hotel is fully together and the staff fully trained, it was a truly pleasurable experience. During my recent stay, I had the two bed version room that they offer, it was quite spacious, ample bathroom, clean, comfy beds, chocolates at turn down the sheets time, and all the little flourishes one expects from a five star hotel (e.g. complimentary tea or coffee and cookies at check in, complimentary box of chocolates and bowl of fruit/nut mix on the night before check out).

The Good:
- Nice neighborhood, very clean, nice selection of restaurants, next door to a supermarket.
- 99% of staff have a great conversational English level.
- Large flat screen TV, with on-screen channel guide, and a huge variety of channels.
- Great Tea.
- Bedtime chocolates were tasty and wrapped in a drawstring felt pouch each evening.
- High thread-count sheets, always clean, on a nice comfy bed- not Asian hard and not mushy soft.
- Nice towels and assorted toiletries in the bathroom.
- Really hot water if you need it, powerful water pressure, and eco-flush toilets that were powerful.
-Nice mood lighting in the toom.
- Speedy, hassle free internet that included free Wi-Fi connectivity if you paid for in-room internet.
- Nice assortment of restaurants within a two block radius walking distance.

The Cons:
- That one has to pay for in-room internet in this day & age. They should really roll that into your room price.
- The lighting in the bathroom cast a lot of shadows, which proved challenging when shaving. If I was a female and had to put make-up on, I would probably be fit to be tied.
- The set up for the bathroom stall leaked a lot of water onto the tile floor (room #216). The design could have been better with a more robust seal system and additional pane of glass in the exposed corner of the shower stall. You end up needing to use a bath towel as an additional rug to prevent from slipping.
- Brown water once for 5 seconds on a Saturday morning with no prioir warning calls from the staff about any water problems. The water smelled like septic tank. Be warned to turn on the shower when you are mot standing under it, just in case that ever happens again.
- No HDMI signal to the flat screen TV. Why have a flat screen TV if you ware not going to feed it hi-def signal? Most Indian hotels skimp on this little detail.

Overall, a great place to stay and I will return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaFromNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernhotels, Management at Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thank you for your detailed Feedback. Were glad to have you back at the hotel and thank you for the appreciation of the service and the facilities. With regards to the brown water the issue has been rectified and we are very sorry for the inconvenience. We are looking in to the WIFI and the HDMI suggestions and will surely keep you updated on the same. We Look forward to making your future stays with us as memorable. Thank you for choosing a Fern Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I'm all for eco-hotels but at the end of the day I prefer a monsoon type shower, you don't get it here but it's still pretty good. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff attentive. This area of Mumbai is not too frenetic but the hotel is very cool and calm after the heat and dust of Mumbai. I'll definitely be staying here next time I visit Mumbai. One problem I had was noisy neighbor (guest), difficult for the hotel to do anything about that though.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britabroada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernhotels, Management at Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thank you for your valuable Feedback. Were glad to know that this has become your first choice as a hotel in Mumbai, we forward to making your future stays with us as memorable. Thank you for choosing a Fern Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Meluha - The Fern is the only five star Ecotel in central Mumbai and that too in the business district of Hiranadani Gardens, Powai. A truly rich experience of a 5 star hotel. The Ecotel status of this hotel can be experienced right from it's entrance to the hotel rooms and the wash rooms as well. Plastic products and other non-biodegradable products are strictly avoided in this hotel. This hotel has some 120 plus rooms.

Best thing about this hotel is it's location. It is situated in Hiranandani gardens, Powai which houses corporate offices of many multinational companies. So for a business visitor who has work in this area or any place in Central Mumbai, this is an ideal hotel. The second best about this is the distance from the domestic and international airport. Unlike south Mumbai, the hotel is only 15-20 minutes away from both the airports.

Why only business? This hotel is ideal for functions like marriages too!

A warm and caring staff is an added advantage. The hotel houses two restaurants, Tiara and Magnolia. Multi-cuisine and bar-grill restaurants respectively.

This hotel has easy access to theaters and shopping also.

In all this is a best business hotel and a true value for money. I would strongly recommend this hotel for a business as well as leisure traveler.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Hiranandani Gardens side have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amolyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernhotels, Management at Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Thank you for your valuable Feedback. Were glad you enjoyed the facilities of hotel and the response of the staff. We Look forward to making your future stays with us as memorable. Thank you for choosing a Fern Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 448 in Mumbai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,431 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#16 of 448 in Mumbai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 448 in Mumbai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,673 reviews
Sahara Star Hotel
#24 of 448 in Mumbai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai

Property: Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai
Address: Central Avenue Hiranandani Gardens | Powai, Mumbai 400076, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Mumbai
#15 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai
#37 Family Hotel in Mumbai
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,884 - ₹ 15,381
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meluha The Fern is one of finest upscale hotels in Mumbai. Boasting of being the first five-star hotel in Hirandani Powai, Meluha is bench marking new standards in Hospitality. All the 141 rooms and suites feature most contemporary luxuries and ensure that guests get customized services. Look forward to a pampering experience here at Meluha The Fern. Well connected to most places in Mumbai, Meluha The Fern is within convenient reach from the International Airport and most other important areas in the city. A luxury hub, the hotel is ideal to be your base when you are in Mumbai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, ClearTrip and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meluha The Fern Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing