We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City within a city”

Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 12.75*
and up
Dharavi Slum Small-Group Tour in Mumbai
More Info
US$ 25.50*
and up
Mumbai Street Food Tour
More Info
US$ 25.50*
and up
Mumbai Bicycle Tour
Ranked #1 of 103 Tours in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Reality Tours and Travel is a responsible tour operator providing fun and authentic experiences around India. We invest 80% of our profits back into the communities we visit through our NGO Reality Gives. We are especially well known for our educational Dharavi Slum Tour that shows visitors the industrial and residential areas of one of Asia’s largest slums, located in the heart of Mumbai. We also offer city, village, multi-day and customized tours and we recently expanded to New Delhi and the Sanjay Colony Slum. Our tours educate visitors about the issues as well as opportunities in slums and hopes to encourage them to understand underprivileged communities better. We use 80% of the tour profits and 100% of merchandise profits to fund our sister-NGO Reality Gives that runs and supports a variety of programs in Dharavi and Sanjay Colony. Our goal is to provide authentic and though-provoking local experiences through our tours and to use the profits to create change in our communities. Our vision is a world where all tourism promotes cross-cultural understanding and local development. Our NGO, Reality Gives, provides young people in the local community with high quality education and experiences to help them maximize their potential. We do this by focusing on English, Computer and Life Skills classes as well as a series of activities and workshop in expressive art and sport. We run these program out of three community centres around Dharavi.
Reviewed 27 August 2015

I'm staying in Mumbai and I recently did a Dhravani tour with a friend of mine and should say it was an amazing experience. Typically, the people who do this tour are foreigners but I would suggest that every Mumbaikar should do this. It's a chance to experience how people live inside Dhravani and what it is that they exactly do which generates $ 650 million turnover every year! (Yeah, you heard that right)
PS: The tour isn't that expensive but the cost is surely on the higher side. But considering the kind of people Reality Tours and Travels are targeting the cost is justified.

1  Thank shrenikkhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H, Manager at Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2015

Thank you so much for the positive review! I think you’ll be happy to know that we are working with more and more schools, companies, and NGOs to bring more Mumbaikars to learn about Dharavi.

In terms of price, we do our best to find the balance between ensuring that the tour is affordable and accessible to as many people as possible while still generating the maximum amount of funds for our NGO. Thank you for the feedback on this point, we’ll be sure to take it into account.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,656)
There are newer reviews for Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

679 - 683 of 1,656 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2015

The Dharavi tour was the best thing my husband and I did on our 2-week trip in India. It was done extremely tastefully, and didn't seem to impede on the locals' lives due to the partnerships that Reality Tours had formed. We learned so much about life in Dharavi. Our guide, Bipin, was fantastic and able to answer all of our questions. It was a great experience to have a guide who grew up in the area. We would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see the "real India", and would go again ourselves.

We did the Market Tour after Dharavi, which was an impossible act to follow. We loved the Panjrapole and a side street that we went through with a ton of street food. Overall, we thought this tour was done a little too fast and more appreciation could be paid to each place. ‘It was still a great experience, but more casual and not as informative as Dharavi.

1  Thank chandke5077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H, Manager at Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2015

Thanks a lot for your detailed feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed your Dharavi Tour so much. I think just about any tour would be hard pressed to be more interesting and informative! But we really appreciate your feedback on the Market Tour and we will take it into account going forward. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015

Touring the Dharavi Slum with our guide, Deve, was an incredible, thought-provoking experience that we could not have had on our own. Deve was knowledgeable about life in Dharavi, and respectful of the people who call this community their home. He highlighted the positive and negative aspects of living in Dharavi, and helped us see life in a slum in a different perspective. We felt very safe throughout the entire tour, and were impressed by the services their partner organization, Reality Gives, provides in the community. This is an experience that we will never forget, and we highly recommend it to anyone traveling in Mumbai.

1  Thank Nicole O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H, Manager at Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2015

Thanks for your support Nicole! I’m glad you enjoyed your time with Deve, I’ll be sure to show him this review. We’re glad to have had the opportunity to present a well-rounded view of Dharavi to you. Let us know the next time you’re in Mumbai or Delhi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015

We only did this tour based on recommendation from friends done before. All 4 of us were quite nervous as we arrived at the start with our wonderful guide Rakesh, wondering what to expect. We then experienced the most amazing 2+ hours walking the paths and narrow (often very narrow) alleyways of Dharavi - the largest slum in Asia'. Rakesh was so knowledgable and the tour was so fascinating that the 2 hours passed all too quickly. We encountered so many different things on the tour and I think the experience was heightened by not being able to take photos so we were abel to focus on the tour itself and the sights and people we were encountering rather than worrying about the next picture. Highly recommended and a must do experience if in Mumbai.

2  Thank NickDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H, Manager at Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2015

Thanks for the great review Nick, I’m glad to hear you found Dharavi so interesting and engaging. I’ll be sure to pass along you kind words to Rakesh!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015

The tour guides were extremely nice and knowledgeable. It was worth our money and time. We got to see parts of Mumbai that we wouldn't have seen by ourselves. Great service and extremely professional. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a bike tour in Mumbai!

1  Thank Yadira R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H, Manager at Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2015

Thank you for such a nice review Yadira! I love the bike tour as well! Let us know the next time you’re in Mumbai or Delhi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing