We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dharavi Walk: A must for locales and tourists alike”

Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 12.75*
and up
Dharavi Slum Small-Group Tour in Mumbai
More Info
US$ 25.50*
and up
Mumbai Street Food Tour
More Info
US$ 25.50*
and up
Mumbai Bicycle Tour
Ranked #1 of 103 Tours in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Reality Tours and Travel is a responsible tour operator providing fun and authentic experiences around India. We invest 80% of our profits back into the communities we visit through our NGO Reality Gives. We are especially well known for our educational Dharavi Slum Tour that shows visitors the industrial and residential areas of one of Asia’s largest slums, located in the heart of Mumbai. We also offer city, village, multi-day and customized tours and we recently expanded to New Delhi and the Sanjay Colony Slum. Our tours educate visitors about the issues as well as opportunities in slums and hopes to encourage them to understand underprivileged communities better. We use 80% of the tour profits and 100% of merchandise profits to fund our sister-NGO Reality Gives that runs and supports a variety of programs in Dharavi and Sanjay Colony. Our goal is to provide authentic and though-provoking local experiences through our tours and to use the profits to create change in our communities. Our vision is a world where all tourism promotes cross-cultural understanding and local development. Our NGO, Reality Gives, provides young people in the local community with high quality education and experiences to help them maximize their potential. We do this by focusing on English, Computer and Life Skills classes as well as a series of activities and workshop in expressive art and sport. We run these program out of three community centres around Dharavi.
Reviewed 9 July 2015

As we navigated our way through the meandering, narrow lanes and by-lanes of Dharavi, the sight, smells slowly took over all our senses and the overpowering reality of an alternative world started taking shape in front of our eyes.

A city within a city, the RealityGives walk is the best way to see a side of Mumbai that people are aware of but few sign up to experience.

Sign up for this tour if you want to do something off the beaten path and need to experience the city apart from the regular jaunts and haunts. A 2.5 hrs long tour, guided by a well informed, local guide, you will be privy to the commercial and residential life of the largest slum in India. The word "slum" will soon start sounding like a misnomer as you progress through the tour and by the time you finish it, I am sure that you will have a completely different opinion of what a "slum" is or isn't.

Well worth the effort and time.

1  Thank Angana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, CEO at Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2015

Fantastic to hear you felt you learnt so much from the walk through Dharavi. We love to hear people say such comments and that they felt safe and informed about real life for the residents there as a result of their tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,656)
There are newer reviews for Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

713 - 717 of 1,656 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2015 via mobile

A friend and I did the street food tour, it was really excellent. The guides were insightful but not intrusive, the food was delicious and well chosen.
During the tour we visited the Muslim quarter, as it was during Ramadan the place was packed, not for the claustrophobic but an excellent experience.
The only criticism would be that there was too much food! We were unable to sample the delicacies at the end due to our bulging stomaches

Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, CEO at Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2015

So happy you enjoyed the street food tour. Yes I must agree pacing yourself with all the amazing food on offer is a challenge. A very nice challenge though I must say!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2015

This Tour was great; an early start but well worthwhile.....I thought that Mumbai's roads were never quiet; but they are before 9 am.
Saw some great places and got to go through Fruit & Veg and other markets; places that you wouldn't otherwise think of know about to go to yourself.

I did the Dharavi Tour with Reality last year, that was great; this is just a good.

Thank Capseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, CEO at Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2015

Totally agree as a cyclist myself I love getting to see Mumbai before the crowds (and heat) as well. A completely different perspective of the city indeed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2015

Reality Tours provide an incredible and unique tour throughout Dharavi, the biggest slum in Mumbai and in Asia. A great way to get to know what is really going on there, and how people live and work in the slums: you'll get a great guide who perfectly knows his way around and who will show you all the different industries (plastic recycling, leather, pottery making, bakery...) and communities. You'll also be able to get a great view of the slum from one of the rooftops and understand how important this whole area is to the Indian economy. Strongly recommended!

1  Thank frenchboy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, CEO at Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2015

Thanks for your positive words here and so pleased to see you found your visit of Dharavi enjoyable and enlightening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015

My family and I booked the 2 hour Dharavi trip. The tour was very interesting, it is an eye-opener and a must do in Mumbai. It definitely makes your realise many things. The company reality tour is also very good as 80% of the profit goes back into social work/ education which is great. Our guide Bipin was kind, professional and very knowledgable and open to all kinds of questions. Thank you Bipin and Reality tour for this experience.

1  Thank vinck13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, CEO at Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2015

Your coming on tour directly supports the community projects you speak of here so thank you to yourself and all our passengers! Your great comments about Bipin have been passed on to him also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing