We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic & Eye Opening Tour! A Must For Mumbaikars Too!”

Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 12.75*
and up
Dharavi Slum Small-Group Tour in Mumbai
More Info
US$ 25.50*
and up
Mumbai Street Food Tour
More Info
US$ 25.50*
and up
Mumbai Bicycle Tour
Ranked #1 of 103 Tours in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Reality Tours and Travel is a responsible tour operator providing fun and authentic experiences around India. We invest 80% of our profits back into the communities we visit through our NGO Reality Gives. We are especially well known for our educational Dharavi Slum Tour that shows visitors the industrial and residential areas of one of Asia’s largest slums, located in the heart of Mumbai. We also offer city, village, multi-day and customized tours and we recently expanded to New Delhi and the Sanjay Colony Slum. Our tours educate visitors about the issues as well as opportunities in slums and hopes to encourage them to understand underprivileged communities better. We use 80% of the tour profits and 100% of merchandise profits to fund our sister-NGO Reality Gives that runs and supports a variety of programs in Dharavi and Sanjay Colony. Our goal is to provide authentic and though-provoking local experiences through our tours and to use the profits to create change in our communities. Our vision is a world where all tourism promotes cross-cultural understanding and local development. Our NGO, Reality Gives, provides young people in the local community with high quality education and experiences to help them maximize their potential. We do this by focusing on English, Computer and Life Skills classes as well as a series of activities and workshop in expressive art and sport. We run these program out of three community centres around Dharavi.
Reviewed 4 May 2015

I attended the Dharavi Tour and I must say that Reality Tours is doing a fantastic job to help change the perception of the slum. Apart from that, they are helping local youth get employed and earn a living, which I am very much a supporter of.

Our tour started off very well, the guide (Nilesh) did a very good job of explaining various aspects of Dharavi while answering our questions with key interest. He was knowledgeable and proud (of his work and working for Reality Tours) and it showed in his appearance and mannerisms.

The tour is a MUST for Mumbaikars who possibly have more misconceptions about Dharavi than tourists.

2  Thank kunalashah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, CEO at Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2015

Thank you so much! We love having Mumbaikars come on tour and see often a different side to their own city. We are making great efforts to encourage more and more locals to see for themselves the reality of life in Dharavi and your support for our projects as a result is truly appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,656)
There are newer reviews for Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

758 - 762 of 1,656 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2015 via mobile

This tour is 100% money well spent. You get to eat SO much food, and our amazing guide Suraj always asked if we wanted more of everything. The variety between visiting the beach and the Muslim quarter was lovely, it was great to sample genuine and delicious food fresh from different stalls and see Mumbai through a local's eyes. Suraj was lovely, attentive, answered all our questions and went out of his way to make sure we were happy.

Some tips: girls, take something to cover your shoulders,
make sure you know where you're returning to after the tour as you don't go back to the meeting point

Reality tours are such a good organisation too, giving 80% of their profits back to the community. We had an amazing evening and felt good for contributing a little :-)

Thank Cymraesarwyliau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, CEO at Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2015

The street food tour is probably our staff's overall favourite if we're honest and we need little excuse to join in when we can! The variety of the food is incredible and so tasty. As you say it also means getting to visit areas of the city often overlooked by travellers such as the muslim area. Thank you for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2015

We booked the full day tour- a visit to Dharavi and tour in the afternoon. I have to admit that I wasn't too sure about this trip as I wondered how welcome we would be- viewing their lives. I also thought we might get pestered for money. I am so glad we went! We found hard-working people, with a huge sense of community. Children waved, smiled and said hello- without outstretched hands. Asim our guide lives there and was very interesting to listen to and also answer all our questions.
I have to say, it's time these people were listened to and work done to improve conditions. They really are ignored, except when buying their goods at pitiful prices. Some major luxury fashion companies should hang their heads in shame. Mumbai is a city of vast contrasts. It made me think that the UK is not so bad after all as we look after those in need. Yes it certainly was an eye opener.

Thank fionasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, CEO at Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2015

A combination of appreciation for what often we take for granted and yet admiration for the work ethic and community of Dharavi is a great representation of what this tour can mean to people we find. Thank you for your comments and the support your coming on tour is making directly to the community here through our Reality Gives programs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2015 via mobile

We were on a three and a half week vacation to Dubai, Mumbai, Goa, Mangalore, Sri Lanka and Singapore and our tour with Reality was the highlight of the trip. Mumbai is an eye opening assault on the senses and you really see it in detail with this tour.

We opted for the full day tour of Mumbai including a two hour walk in Dharavi. What can I say that hasn't already been said? I will however, give you my opinion on why this tour was so great; it was because of the honesty and genuineness of our guide Asim. He not only provided info, he shared about his family and what life in Dharavi is truly like. He gave you what you can't get from a tv documentary, a personal touch and memories for you to ponder in your own mind.

I am on the fence about what they should do with Dharavi but after talking with Asim, he has strongly influenced my thoughts on the future of that place. I will never forget Dharavi, it is now etched in my brain forever. Thank you Reality and Asim!

3  Thank david5c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, CEO at Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2015

Wow. Given that trip to call our tour the overall highlight of your trip is a compliment indeed. Thank you so much. Asim has had your comments passed on to him and he is always thrilled to hear he has made people's time in Mumbai so enjoyable and informative. Thank you again and enjoy the rest of your holidays. I am very jealous!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2015 via mobile

Four Kiwis and hesitant about riding a bike in Mumbai. If you do anything - do this tour. It was informative and really good fun. Our tour guides Balaji and Siddhi were just simply awesome. We went to places we would never had ventured. You can ask any question you like of the guys and by the time you have finished you are informed and pat yourselves on the back for a great morning out.

2  Thank Iechyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, CEO at Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2015

An international group indeed. The cycling tour is a great way to see the city in a different light and get some exercise whilst learning about the history and everyday lives of Mumbai and it's people. If we can make Australians and New Zealanders get on for a few hours we must be doing something right ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing