We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Highlight of our trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours

Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours
Book In Advance
US$ 12.75*
and up
Dharavi Slum Small-Group Tour in Mumbai
Ranked #1 of 89 Tours in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Reality Tours and Travel is a responsible tour operator providing fun and authentic experiences around India. We invest 80% of our profits back into the communities we visit through our NGO Reality Gives. We are especially well known for our educational Dharavi Slum Tour that shows visitors the industrial and residential areas of one of Asia’s largest slums, located in the heart of Mumbai. We also offer city, village, multi-day and customized tours and we recently expanded to New Delhi and the Sanjay Colony Slum. Our tours educate visitors about the issues as well as opportunities in slums and hopes to encourage them to understand underprivileged communities better. We use 80% of the tour profits and 100% of merchandise profits to fund our sister-NGO Reality Gives that runs and supports a variety of programs in Dharavi and Sanjay Colony. Our goal is to provide authentic and though-provoking local experiences through our tours and to use the profits to create change in our communities. Our vision is a world where all tourism promotes cross-cultural understanding and local development. Our NGO, Reality Gives, provides young people in the local community with high quality education and experiences to help them maximize their potential. We do this by focusing on English, Computer and Life Skills classes as well as a series of activities and workshop in expressive art and sport. We run these program out of three community centres around Dharavi.
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2015

We did three tours with Reality Tours in Mumbai - the Dharavi tour, the city sightseeing tour, and the public transportation tour. All were phenomenal. We learned a lot, and our guide, Nilish, was fantastic. I wish we had done all of the tours offered by Reality Tours. It is a huge mistake to visit Mumbai and not do the Dharavi tour with Reality Tours - and if you have time, not to do other tours with Reality Tours!

Visited November 2014
Helpful?
Thank Meg492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie H, CEO at Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours, responded to this review, 2 January 2015
Thanks so much for your support! It means a lot that you trusted us to help you explore Mumbai, within and outside of Dharavi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,346
    88
    16
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible insight into Mumbai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2015

We (my wife, I and our 2 sons (16) and (19)) went on the short Dharavi tour this morning. Kumar was our guide. We were met at Churchgate Station and took the train to the starting point. The tour took 2 hours. It was fantastic. It is not a part of the city we could or would have seen without the tour. It did not feel intrusive or voyeuristic and while it was only a cursory glance into the way many millions of people live, Kumar's insight gave us a lot to take in and think about. We could not recommend the tour highly enough.

Visited January 2015
Helpful?
Thank Jolib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie H, CEO at Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours, responded to this review, 2 January 2015
Thanks so much for coming on the tour, bringing your whole family, and leaving us a review! We're glad you found the experience worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overwhelming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2015

This is the first time I visited in India in Mumbai.
This is the best way to see and understand what this is about.
I have no words to praise our guide, Suraj Hattarkal. His vast knowledge and the ability to transfer the knowledge and thought-provoking were impressive. In addition, his special personality, human dignity and tolerance have contributed to the atmosphere and success of our tuer.

Visited December 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nurittb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Unsuitable for pregnant women and small children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2014

While the merits of Reality Tours Dharavi tour are clearly laid out in many of the reviews thus far, I cannot recommend this tour for pregnant women or for small children. Reality Tours does let clients know that there could be some small hazards along the way (wet streets, live hanging wires, steep steps), the guides take you through them in a way that feels safe. However, part of the tour is visiting the area of the slum where people are working on recycling products. This involves melting plastics at high temperatures, as well as burning paints and other toxic materials. The fumes were unbearable, and seemed deeply unhealthy. I'd say that about 60 of the 120 minutes of the tour, we had the strong smell of fumes in our noses. I'd caution people with respiratory issues or children with still-developing lungs to steer clear.

Visited December 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie H, CEO at Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours, responded to this review, 2 January 2015
I appreciate your feedback. It is a good reminder that parts of the tour are uncomfortable and could be unsuitable for some people and it's a good idea for us to incorporate a warming about the fumes on our website and in our emails. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2014 via mobile

We did the slum tour with Juti, just fascinating, guide was superb, this is just such a must do in Mumbai, go.

Visited December 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doreensreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing