We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fun and unique way to experience Mumbai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours

Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours
Book In Advance
US$ 12.75*
and up
Dharavi Slum Small-Group Tour in Mumbai
Ranked #1 of 89 Tours in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Reality Tours and Travel is a responsible tour operator providing fun and authentic experiences around India. We invest 80% of our profits back into the communities we visit through our NGO Reality Gives. We are especially well known for our educational Dharavi Slum Tour that shows visitors the industrial and residential areas of one of Asia’s largest slums, located in the heart of Mumbai. We also offer city, village, multi-day and customized tours and we recently expanded to New Delhi and the Sanjay Colony Slum. Our tours educate visitors about the issues as well as opportunities in slums and hopes to encourage them to understand underprivileged communities better. We use 80% of the tour profits and 100% of merchandise profits to fund our sister-NGO Reality Gives that runs and supports a variety of programs in Dharavi and Sanjay Colony. Our goal is to provide authentic and though-provoking local experiences through our tours and to use the profits to create change in our communities. Our vision is a world where all tourism promotes cross-cultural understanding and local development. Our NGO, Reality Gives, provides young people in the local community with high quality education and experiences to help them maximize their potential. We do this by focusing on English, Computer and Life Skills classes as well as a series of activities and workshop in expressive art and sport. We run these program out of three community centres around Dharavi.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun and unique way to experience Mumbai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We did the night tour, short tour, street food tour, and bike tour during our stay in Mumbai. They were all excellent. It was a great and creative way to see the city. Each tour was very different and brought us to different sights in Mumbai. I love how casual and cool the tour guides were. They aren't in a hurry and really take the time to let you take it all in. I would highly recommend all 4 of these tours. It was the best way to see the city.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Candann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,346
    88
    16
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“A Tour Like No Other”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I had the pleasure of participating in the Dharavi two-hour tour in February 2014, and it was truly a tour like no other! The adventure started with a thorough review of the history of India, as well as the development of Dharavi. Our tour guide, Jitu, was so knowledgeable about all aspects of Dharavi, as well as the general climate and culture of India. We walked through each corridor and experienced the sights, sounds, smells, and overall atmosphere of Dharavi, while respecting the integrity of its people. Two hours literally felt like a full day (in a good way); and, by the end of the tour, my friend and I wanted more! Reality Tours is worth every cent spent (and more)! I look forward to traveling to India again to experience more! Thank you, Jitu!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mekel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kessel-Lo, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not to miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We went on the afternoon short tour and met with the guide in front of the Wheeler bookshop at Churchgate Station. After a 30 minute train ride the tour started. You learn a lot about how the slum works : who lives here and why, how is this community organised, which industries and factories are working here...
We had an excellent guide : a young men in his early twenties but very informative and humorous.
So when in Mumbai go on this tour and ask for Jitu to be your guide.
There is no photography permitted during the tour. However, they promised to mail us some
pictures. But until now they didn't.
Jos and Kriss (Belgium)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kriss289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie H, CEO at Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hi Jos and Kriss! Thanks for the kind review. We're very sorry you haven't received photos yet-- we've had a little trouble with our database system. They should be coming shortly but if not, please email info@realitytoursandtravel.com and we'll send them straight away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Dharvi Long Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Very comprehensive and informative. Extremely enlightening and sobering experience. Gives a lot of context of one aspect of living in India, and includes commentary on way of life and politics. Daya was an AMAZING tour guide -- informative, humorous, easygoing. Felt very comfortable. He is also great with the locals.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank xtinaw314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
131 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“HIGHLY RECOMMENDED”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

What more can be said than has already been said. Very well organised, good value for money and very very interesting.
We were in Mumbai for 5 days and organised 3 tours. We booked and paid for them over the internet before we left the UK and all went very well.
The first tour was of Dharavi and was excellent. I believe it should be a must for any tourist in Mumbai. SIDDHI was our guide and he was excellent.
Our next tour was of Mumbai was by Public Transport with NILESH and then the Night Tour with MANOJ. As we had been to Mumbai before we had seen most of what was shown but both tours were excellent with excellent guides. Well recommended for someone on their first visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JBfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing