We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Loved Mumbai's markets!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours

Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours
Book In Advance
US$ 12.75*
and up
Dharavi Slum Small-Group Tour in Mumbai
Ranked #1 of 89 Tours in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Reality Tours and Travel is a responsible tour operator providing fun and authentic experiences around India. We invest 80% of our profits back into the communities we visit through our NGO Reality Gives. We are especially well known for our educational Dharavi Slum Tour that shows visitors the industrial and residential areas of one of Asia’s largest slums, located in the heart of Mumbai. We also offer city, village, multi-day and customized tours and we recently expanded to New Delhi and the Sanjay Colony Slum. Our tours educate visitors about the issues as well as opportunities in slums and hopes to encourage them to understand underprivileged communities better. We use 80% of the tour profits and 100% of merchandise profits to fund our sister-NGO Reality Gives that runs and supports a variety of programs in Dharavi and Sanjay Colony. Our goal is to provide authentic and though-provoking local experiences through our tours and to use the profits to create change in our communities. Our vision is a world where all tourism promotes cross-cultural understanding and local development. Our NGO, Reality Gives, provides young people in the local community with high quality education and experiences to help them maximize their potential. We do this by focusing on English, Computer and Life Skills classes as well as a series of activities and workshop in expressive art and sport. We run these program out of three community centres around Dharavi.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved Mumbai's markets!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

I did a market tour with Suraj earlier this year and it was easily one of the highlights of my trip to India. Mumbai's markets can be a little intimidating to the uninitiated, but Suraj made it so much fun and was really knowledgable (and hilarious!). We got to smell the amazing array of Indian spices in the spice markets, view the beautiful bouquets and incredible artistry of some of the flower sellers in the flower markets, and get a first hand experience of a true Mumbai market. The best part though was the cow shelter; they really are the sweetest animals. Thanks again to Suraj. He was a great guide and I'd definitely recommend going on a tour with him!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MsAinslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,346
    88
    16
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dharavi Long Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

When in Mumbai I highly recommend taking in the Dharavi Long Tour With Reality Tours. I was travelling with my cousin and a friend of hers told us that we should do this tour. I'm glad the friend made the recommendation as I was initially skeptical that a tour of this kind might be exploitive to the inhabitants of the slum.
I could not have been more wrong. Part of the fee goes towards improving the conditions within the slum. Our wonderful guide, Suraj (try and get him if you can) was well versed in the dynamics of the slum. He is also known to and respected by the locals. Suraj took myself and my cousin all over and shared his vast knowledge on the history of the slum and how it functions in it's present state.
On the Long tour we also got to take in Dhobi Ghat and the red light district. All in all, this was a fascinating insight to an amazing piece of Mumbai. A side to Mumbai that not everybody get's to see or experience.
Take the tour, you won't regret, plus you'll be helping Reality Tours help people who live there, especially with regards to education.
Oh and ask for Suraj, he was excellent!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great Mumbai experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

A tour to suit everyone. An eye opening tour with detailed information from a local knowledgable guide. Either choose your own itinerary or your tour guide can suggest some options. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Juggy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Extremely educational, Dharavi tour puts life into perspective”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We did the Dharavi and sightseeing day tour and we had a very educational experience with Reality Tours and Travel. In my opinion, the Dharavi tour isn't for the faint-hearted and can be a good culture shock for some people. We didn't feel any pretentiousness with where the tour takes you and you witness what life is like in the slums and how people live. The slum seemed very functional at times and felt more community driven, but the living and working conditions are poor and very raw (to our standards). Our tour guide, Cham, actually lived in the slums when he was younger and he was very knowledgeable and thorough with his explanations about life in Dharavi. The sightseeing tour took us to places we wouldn't have been able to find on our own and we learned about religions we have never even heard of before. I highly encourage signing up for either of these tours if you're visiting Mumbai on a short trip and want to learn or try something different.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mlchestney9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“One of the best things we did in India”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We were really glad we took time to go on a tour of the Dharavi slum with Reality tours. It was a fascinating experience and really opened our eyes to the inner workings of the slums. Yes, parts of the slums were how we imagined it to be – a maze of dark, dingy alleyways, children playing on mounds of trash blissfully ignorant of their surroundings – but we were pleasantly surprised by how well-organised and safe the slum is, and how there are also ‘posh’ areas of the slums where we saw new shiny vehicles parked outside dwellings with air-condition units! It is also a very sustainable community as almost everything is recycled – more out of necessity then caring for the environment, but achieving the same results nonetheless.

It is heartening to see organizations like Reality Tours committed to the development of the community in Dharavi – something like 80% of the profits go back into the community, in the form of both curricular and extracurricular education for the residents.

Our guide Nilesh was amazing. He was passionate about the community, and his commentary provided insight that can only be gleaned from an insider. His knowledge of the slums is astounding – he could rattle off figures and answer all the questions we asked (and we did asked many!). Nilesh was instrumental in making the tour such a positive experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dashador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie H, CEO at Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Thanks for the kind words! We just yesterday featured Nilesh as the guide of the week on our Facebook page and I was excited to hear your positive feedback. I can't wait to pass it along to him! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Reality Tours and Travel - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing