We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel I've ever stayed in.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mumbai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Moti International
Ranked #70 of 392 Mumbai B&B and Inns
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“worst hotel I've ever stayed in.”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We arrived late at night to the Moti Hotel Mumbai, We were given the end room on the left with outside bathroom. It was disappointing but after an 8 hr train trip and it was late we agrred to take it. There was a terrible acrid smell in there and the pillows were filthy inside the pillow cases. The tiolet was broken and the bathroom dirty. We got no sleep at all because of the smell and banging noises outside the window - which turned out to be workers peeing, throwing up and washing dished etc right outside all night - hence the dreadful smell. There was no firige in the room The price of a beer, which we were told was cost price was 170 rupees for the weak kingfisher, this was definatelty not cost price. The room was small the bed was too small for us to get our feet in and we had to use the towels to cover ourselves for the dirty blankets. All this cost 3000 rupees per night a lot more than quoted in the lonely planet. What ever you do don't stay in that room, as for the others they didn't look too bad, but we'd had enough and went to Bentleys which was lovely in comparison.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 8 at the end
See more room tips
Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank lwcatuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    34
    20
    16
    24
See reviews for
7
45
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rothesay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Good spot in Colaba. Pretty clean rooms, not a bad price for Mumbai. Very secure feeling building - employees were always seated outside of entrance to the hotel. The boys who work there offer a bag holding service. All the sights of Colaba were an easy walk from here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fiveosix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I just spent another couple days in Mumbai, collapsing in the Hotel Moti. Wonderful folks. Clean facilities. Great location. What more could you ask for in Mumbai?

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jess_Bryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed at hotel Moti for three nights in December 2011. Our room was located at the first floor, facing the inner courtyard. There was not much noise, which is surprising for such a central location. The room and bathroom were very big and adequately clean. You couldn't see out of the windows, but then again there might not have been anything to see. So nothing especially fancy, but a good, basic place to rest.
The room also had a fridge filled with water and soft drinks (pay by usage), which was very useful. The service was very efficient and friendly. Compared to other places in India the prices were rather high, but this seems to be the case with most places in Mumbai. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MRautaniemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

i did not stay at the hotel in the end but had a very negative experience with unfriendly staff.
the owner had told me some days before arrival that he had a room available and asked for nationality and arrival time which i sent. on the very day of arrival, while i was on the train from goa, he apparently tried to reach me to tell me that there was no room for me. when i came to the hotel at 11pm, still thinking i was booked in, the night staff received me in an extremely unfriendly manner. even when it became clear that there was a misunderstanding and that i was now without accommodation in the middle of the night, a woman traveling alone, they made no effort to help me proposing any other solution, a nearby hotel or similar. i was just told rudely to leave. not a way to treat guests.

Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank hez2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
0.2 km away
Bentley's Hotel
Bentley's Hotel
#181 of 454 in Mumbai
300 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#59 of 454 in Mumbai
430 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#227 of 454 in Mumbai
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#381 of 454 in Mumbai
99 reviews
0.3 km away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#102 of 454 in Mumbai
301 reviews
0.6 km away
Regent Hotel Colaba
Regent Hotel Colaba
#175 of 454 in Mumbai
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moti International? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moti International

Property: Hotel Moti International
Address: 10 Best Marg | Colaba, Mumbai 400039, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Mumbai
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,999 - ₹ 5,289
Number of rooms: 26

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing