We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safety an issue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Mumbai Garden City
Ranked #3 of 465 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I've been to over 15 countries and stayed at hotels and never had security issues til this hotel. Multiple items were stolen from our room and the great service we had until then suddenly meant nothing. To top it off the hotel's response to the theft was pathetic and unacceptable! If you are ever there be sure to lock up anything of value or use the safe!

Room Tip: Great room but don't stay close to the elevator since the walls are too thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinMumbai, General Manager at The Westin Mumbai Garden City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. I hope you can accept my sincere apologies for the challenges you encountered in our hotel. Please be assured that guest safety and security is of paramount importance and this issue will not be taken lightly. Please be assured that the feedback is being looked into and appropriate action taken. I am hoping you will return, so we can convey to you that your experiences are not our usual standard. We look forward to your return visit to experience an uplifting experience with us at The Westin Mumbai Garden City!
Be well
Lance Ourednik
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,786 - 1,790 of 2,101 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

I am an avid traveller from Canada of Indian descent and stayed at the Westin Mumbai from April 7th to April 14th. I was traveling with my sister and mother, we were in Mumbai to attend a family wedding. Although there is much security at the hotel including armed guards at the gates who check each vehicle entering the premises, baggage screening and security checks just like the airport please do not be fooled by this hotel. It is very posh looking and modern but it is NOT safe. I have travelled to over 25 countries and have never been robbed before in my hotel room. In order to get into a hotel room, a person would have to get past security in the lobby, get into one of 3 elevators requiring a key card and then enter the locked room. I am certain my eyeglasses, 1300 R and $400 US was stolen by hotel staff. As these items were securely kept in our room. When I approached hotel staff I was basically laughed at. Security did an 'investigation' which supposedly involved checking hotel camera footage and checking who accessed our room. In the end they told me lots of staff had entered our room and that it was probably one of my family members who we had invited up to see our room. The head of security is an arrogant chauvinistic pig! He mocked me for being a independent women who was bold enough to travel to Indian without a male companion. He also refused to give me any documentation of the investigation taking place. He stated security still hadn't decided if a robbery had really taken place. When I asked to speak to the manager of the hotel, they sent over the manager of food and drinks.The Manger of food and drinks had assured me a report would be e-mailed to me within 3 days. I spent over 91000R at this hotel, I could have stayed at the Taj Place or Leela but I chose the Westin because I am a spg member. It has been over a week and I have not received any response from the awful hotel. He too dared me to contact Westin's head office about this robbery. He said they would not care.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shantha100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinMumbai, General Manager at The Westin Mumbai Garden City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. I hope you can accept my sincere apologies for the challenges you encountered in our hotel. Please be assured that guest safety and security is of paramount importance and this issue will not be taken lightly. The feedback is being looked into and appropriate action taken. I am hoping you will return, so we can convey to you that your experiences are not our usual standard. We look forward to your return visit to experience an uplifting experience with us at The Westin Mumbai Garden City!
Be well
Lance Ourednik
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Another good stay at Westin, have stayed approx more then 25 nights at this hotel over the past 12 months (SPG Gold member).
This time stayed 1 night on my way to Dubai, then again 1 night flying back to Australia.

-The stay on my way to Dubai was fantastic, the airline lost our bags in Singapore on our way to mumbai, as soon as we got to the hotel they had already organised T-Shirts, extra soaps.etc as the westin driver phoned ahead to reception and even followed up with our airline on the status of our bags all whilst we were sleeping, thank you for the great service during a stressful time. :)

-2nd stay on the way back was booked at last minute, 4-5 hours notice, however when entering the room it seems it was only set up for 1 person despite being a 2 person booking, and no fruit bowl in the room.. little disappointing that the room wasn't prepared properly for our stay, I understand that we did only book online 4-5 hours before the stay but still that is enough time to put another towel and a bowl of fruit in the room. Nothing major but attention to detail is key.

Thank you for another great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mileagehopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinMumbai, General Manager at The Westin Mumbai Garden City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Thank you for your patronage to our hotel and for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We truly value your feedback and shall surely share your kind words with the entire team. Our team prides itself on the experience we create for our guests and will be happy to hear that they have managed to meet your every need and were able to assist in making your stay comfortable whilst your luggage was being located with the airline. Please be assured that the feedback pertaining to the service issues for your second stay is being looked into and appropriate action taken to prevent any guests being similarly inconvenienced in the future. We look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The Westin Garden City in Mumbai is an incredible hotel, made such by the quality and taken of the employees. I will never forget the personal attention I received by the staff.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are spacious and free upgrades to SPG and corporate rate guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mik505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinMumbai, General Manager at The Westin Mumbai Garden City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you for your patronage to our hotel and for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We truly value your feedback and shall surely share your kind words with the entire team. Our team prides itself on the experience we create for our guests and will be happy to hear that they have managed to meet your every need.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I have stayed many times at this westin. The staff are always fantastic and very professional. The ambience the the hotel provides is wonderful experience, its like my home away from home.
Shane

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinMumbai, General Manager at The Westin Mumbai Garden City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our team is delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facility and services. We look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Bandra Kurla Complex
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 465 in Mumbai
4,156 reviews
Colaba
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 465 in Mumbai
2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Worli/Prabhadevi
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Mumbai Garden City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Mumbai Garden City

Address: Oberoi Garden City, Mumbai 400063, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Mumbai
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai
#4 Business Hotel in Mumbai
#7 Family Hotel in Mumbai
#12 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai
Price Range: ₹ 9,027 - ₹ 21,213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Mumbai Garden City 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With close proximity to the International airport, business centers and shopping centers, Westin Mumbai Garden City offers you a perfect combination of comfort and convenience.Each of our 269 spacious guest rooms feature floor-to-ceiling windows that reveal the moving mural of Mumbai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, MakeMyTrip, Booking.com, Prestigia, Yatra, Agoda, ClearTrip, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and TravelGuru so you can book your The Westin Mumbai Garden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Mumbai Garden City Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing