We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious hotel but pathetic service”
Review of Imperial Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Imperial Palace
Ranked #433 of 458 Hotels in Mumbai
Reviewed 17 December 2009

We stayed at this hotel as part of our honeymoon. We were first booked in the Palms Hotel which is just opposite the Imperial Palace but were upgraded to Imperial Palace. At first glance the hotel is very luxurious in looks with grand imposing interiors.

However, while staying in the hotel we found the service to be very poor. It seems that there is a serious shortage of staff in the hotel which reduces the pleasure of staying in such a grand hotel.

The room which we stayed in didn't even have a menu for room service. Shockingly there was not even hot water in the shower/jacuzzi. The room had a terrace with a big jacuzzi which unfortunately wasn't working. We found out later that many such rooms have such jacuzzis installed which are not in a working condition.

The plus points for this hotel are its location and the luxuriousness. One doesn't feel being in Mumbai while staying here and if you're lucky, you'll be able to live a tiny part of your life royally.

All in all, this hotel needs to improve its services tremendously in order to compete with the other 5-star hotels in Mumbai.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walkon82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 51 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2009

Went to Royal palm, Imperial Palace for a night stay, to Experience a royal tretment. Hotel is new still not fully operational. However 70% is complete & rooms are very well made. There are huge rooms, We stayed in Minar Suit.

Jaccuzi does not work, but everything else was pretty good.

Stayed: December 2009
Thank galamonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

This was advertised as a 5 star hotel and when we arrived, the lobby was truly that of a 5 star hotel. It was posh and decadent with glittering chandeliers and murals on the walls and ceiling reminscent of a Las Vegas hotel. However, as soon as you left the lobby and headed towards the rooms, you could see a drastic difference in the quality of the building. Half of the hotel is under renovation and it is in dire needs of renovation. The rooms were probably beautiful....like 30 years ago.

We had difficulty with our first room and were upgraded to a colonial suite, which was huge and had 2 bathrooms, as well as a large living area with a massage chair. There were multiple large screen TV's and there was a jetted tub in the bathroom, in addition to the shower. We also received free transportation to the airport, which was appreciated. Overall, I think this hotel was beautiful in the past, but right now it is old and I am curious to see what the rooms will look like after renovation. Too bad we couldn't sleep in the lobby because that was absolutely gorgeous.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kauai2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Ibis Navi Mumbai Hotel
#2 of 33 in Navi Mumbai
922 reviews
Hotel Yogi Executive
#3 of 33 in Navi Mumbai
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
#23 of 458 in Mumbai
2,948 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Residency Fort
Hotel Residency Fort
#17 of 458 in Mumbai
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Palace

Address: 169 Aarey Milk Colony, Mumbai 400065, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #433 of 458 Hotels in Mumbai
Price Range: ₹ 8,500 - ₹ 18,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Imperial Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 422
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, EaseMyTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Imperial Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing