We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improving”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #110 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai
delhi
Level Contributor
293 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Improving”
Reviewed 17 January 2011

This was my second visit and it was much better than last time as rooms and other things improved a lot. but still have few glitches with washroom and receptions which show lack of professionalism which is way lower than a non star hotel. Room service was good and food was really awesome

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parikshit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    131
    96
    30
    38
See reviews for
69
52
44
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Svendborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

The Ambassador Hotel is supposed to be a top class hotel with a revolving restaurant, fitness centre, several restaurants etc. At the moment the revolving restaurant is closed and it is not sure when it will open again.

We were backpacking in India and chose this hotel for our final nights in the country to finally have a bit of luxury. When arriving late at night at the reception we got a very rude and impolite reception. Our reservation was not to be found and the desk officer treated us with great distrust and arrogance and I have on the feeling that this can largely be subscribed to the fact that we arrived with backpacks and wearing sandals. We may not be the typical customer arriving at this kind of hotel but nevertheless I believe that reception should treat all customers with respect. We were asked to pay the full room rate upon checkin.

Rooms are okay, but rather worn out and I don't find that the price matches what you get. The only positive aspect was the breakfast buffet and the hotel's central location.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indiaagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai hotels

Pune, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2010

The hotel with a revolving restuarant.....nice..indeed very nice.
Like the reception....full of fresh flowers and a great bakery with cool cakes and pastries.
The rooms are comfortable and best part.....you cannot hear the next room conversations.
It quiet and customer friendly.
Would love to bring my family next.
The restuarant though is a little too steeply priced but worth one time.
Five minutes to the Gateway of India...greatly placed.
Would receommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geeta_nishkriti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

I still remember my pleasant trip for my client meeting at Mumabi just coz of this great hotel. It was really nice experience. Pool was nice. A/c rooms were pretty nice. I enjoyed a lot, they had a really nice ambience and great group of really smart staff persons.

I liked the way they served me, in a day they would be asking if i needed any help and trust me they have got nice advisors too.. At a single stand the receptionist provided me minute info. about Mumbai.. Would surely visit there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chirocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Stayed recently.

Very famous hotel at Churchgate. Good Ambience.
Great Service.

Helpful staff.

Arranged for a very early morning breakfast on request.

Great room ambience. Room size - Average

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MONK09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
0.0 km away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#63 of 454 in Mumbai
479 reviews
0.3 km away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#108 of 454 in Mumbai
219 reviews
0.8 km away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#118 of 454 in Mumbai
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#38 of 454 in Mumbai
798 reviews
0.2 km away
InterContinental Marine Drive
0.2 km away
Sea Green Hotel
Sea Green Hotel
#279 of 454 in Mumbai
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: Veer Nariman Road | Marine Drive Churchgate, Mumbai 400020, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,524 - ₹ 17,956
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador, iconic hotel is located on Marine Drive, Just 2-minute walk from Churchgate Railway Station and 1.5 km from Nariman Point, The Ambassador Mumbai offers rooms with shower facilities and bathtub. You can choose from Deluxe, Executive or Suite Rooms at Ambassador Mumbai, comes with air conditioning, LED TV and a writing desk. A tea/coffee maker, minibar facilities are provided. 24 hours Room service is available. Ambassador Mumbai’s Flavors coffee shop is open 24 hours and serves buffet breakfast. The Society offers fine dining of local and continental delights. Facilities at the hotel include a business centre and a tour desk. Currency exchange services are also available. The hotel also provides free parking. Located on Veer Nariman Road, Marine Drive Churchgate Mumbai. The Ambassador is 26 km away from Chathrapati Sivaji International Airport. Churchgate is a great choice for travelers interested in architecture, history and sightseeing. We speak your language! Ambassador Group Of Hotels - The Boutique Art Hotels in India Mumbai - Chennai - Aurangabad ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing