We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food!”
Review of Cafe Royal

Cafe Royal
Ranked #278 of 14,619 Restaurants in Mumbai
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 16
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Cafe Royal has been serving hungry patrons since 1919, which makes it one of Mumbai's oldest restaurants. Interestingly, the land on which Cafe Royal stands today was once used as a shed to park horse carriages for the Maharaja of Mourvi. What started back then as an Irani tea and samosa place gradually grew into one of the most famed fine dining restaurants with a live orchestra. Today Cafe Royal is once again bringing back the magic of the past and operates essentially as an all day cafe, specializing in Sizzlers and a variety of continental delicacies. Cafe Royal has always had a style of its own and it has reinvented itself time and time again with a continual revival of its palate all owing to the commitment thats behind it. Its reputation for good food brought the former President of the United States, Mr. Bill Clinton to dine here during his visit to India in the year 2000. "We are working towards glorifying Cafe Royals history by offering a menu which is a rich amalgamation of continental dishes and sizzlers in addition to which there are a variety of coffees and sandwiches to relax on and not to forget its increasing appetite for beers. The great western feel and cozy dining experience makes Cafe Royal one of those places as a lifetime's remembrance.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tasty food!”
Reviewed 8 March 2017

This was probably my third or fourth time at the Cafe Royal. I must say the quality of the sizzler is well maintained. The portion served is generous and between three male adults, 2 sizzles will leave you satisfied. Agreeably the quantity of meat is on the lower side considering the pricing and the fact that we are ordering a sizzler especially so when one compares with sizzlers enjoyed elsewhere. However the meal is definitely well prepared and tasty
the service is prompt and friendly. What else more can one ask for in the service!
considering the ambience and history along with the cafe atmosphere, I can easily recommend for a visit and the experience.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shafiqjafferji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    83
    22
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overrated!”
Reviewed 28 February 2017

This restaurant is definitely NOT value for your money. I had lunch there on 17th February 2017. I ordered a beer and the Steak Royal which was touted as one of their signature dishes. The sizzler dish arrived with the promised sides, hissing and crackling and looking fairly promising. After the dish had quietened down a bit I cut my first piece from the steak and bit into it....and guess what? THE STEAK WAS COLD ON THE INSIDE!!!! The best was yet to come. When I called the waiter and told him, he went back into the kitchen and came back a few minutes later and told me that the Chef had explained that some meats cool down faster and therforee it was normal but if I wanted he could heat up the steak for me! When finally the manager came around to find out what the problem was he removed the dish and got the chef to prepare a new steak. The second steak was just about passable. The mistake that the chef had made was that he had taken the steak out of the freezer and had prepared it without giving it enough time to thaw.

For 2 Kingfisher pints and the steak the bill came to INR 1079 INCLUDING a 7% SERVICE CHARGE of INR 65.80.

This restaurant is definitely AVOIDABLE.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank muralips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Weekend Special - For Family & Friends”
Reviewed 26 February 2017

The place is centrally located, not very special but yes enjoyable if you are with friends and family. May not be suitable for a couple

  • Visited January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mohit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not so royal”
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We went to Cafe Royal on Friday evening for deserts. The deserts counter was "deserted" and the display half empty. Maybe those were the signs for us to also "desert" the place. So we went ahead and ordered the Blueberry Cheese Cake, along with Gooey Chocolate with Ice Cream.

Voila....The Blueberry Cheese cake was bad to say the least, nothing like cheese cake in it. It was hard, the taste was weird to say the least. we somehow finished the same.

Next came the Gooey chocolate cake. This was good, however to our surprise, the ice cream served with this was negligible to say the least. The scoop was not more than 4 cm in diameter. we basically were left eating the gooey chocolate.

On top of it, the restaurant had the audacity to ask us for service charge. Pathetic deserts, pathetic service.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Deadman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Sizzler time”
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Visited the place after nearly 5 years,but must say the dishes have changed for the better. Still feel this place remains the king of sizzlers. Service is prompt and the people are very friendly and helpful.

Choice of sizzlers huge and recommend the Chicken Indana Jones or the Beef sizzler

  • Visited January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Percy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Royal also viewed

 
Mumbai, Maharashtra
Mumbai, Maharashtra
 

Been to Cafe Royal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing