We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice continental food”
Review of Cafe Royal

Cafe Royal
Ranked #280 of 14,619 Restaurants in Mumbai
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 16
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cafe Royal has been serving hungry patrons since 1919, which makes it one of Mumbai's oldest restaurants. Interestingly, the land on which Cafe Royal stands today was once used as a shed to park horse carriages for the Maharaja of Mourvi. What started back then as an Irani tea and samosa place gradually grew into one of the most famed fine dining restaurants with a live orchestra. Today Cafe Royal is once again bringing back the magic of the past and operates essentially as an all day cafe, specializing in Sizzlers and a variety of continental delicacies. Cafe Royal has always had a style of its own and it has reinvented itself time and time again with a continual revival of its palate all owing to the commitment thats behind it. Its reputation for good food brought the former President of the United States, Mr. Bill Clinton to dine here during his visit to India in the year 2000. "We are working towards glorifying Cafe Royals history by offering a menu which is a rich amalgamation of continental dishes and sizzlers in addition to which there are a variety of coffees and sandwiches to relax on and not to forget its increasing appetite for beers. The great western feel and cozy dining experience makes Cafe Royal one of those places as a lifetime's remembrance.
Rye Brook, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice continental food”
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

On our first visit to Mumbai as a family, we Enjoyed a lovely evening at Cafe Royal enjoying some tandoori and sea food delicacies with some amazing cocktails. The food was tasty and the service was good. The ambience was perfect for a cafe with a lot of history.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank RB_Trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    83
    22
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Try the sizzlers !”
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Cool ambiance, friendly servers, and good sizzlers. I was stuffed in the end and in a happy way !
The menu is meat lover friendly, and not so pocket friendly, if you are a conservative spender. The place is good to hang out and have reunions or Sunday lunches. The Cafe Royal used to glitter in the past. The place now has a Leopold-ish decor which wasn't necessary, really.

It was a good experience.

  • Visited October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mahua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“MEMORABLE”
Reviewed 5 November 2016

I had been to Cafe Royal which is bang opposite the Regal Cinema with friends & it was my first visit to this place and my only grouse is its too far from my house in Borivali or i would go there at least thrice a week, the ambience, courtesy shown by staff, the music all fantastic, thought i was in a 5 star hotel !!!!! the food which is why people come was EXTRAORDINARY, We had beer & for food, grilled chicken in pepper sauce, grilled fish in garlic sauce, Rissoto,& mutton kheema bao buns, no words can do justice to this memorable experience, hope they start one in borivali too

  • Visited October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arun2248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food but average service and average ambience”
Reviewed 3 November 2016

it was the first time for me to visit this place with family and friends , as you may know Café Royal is quite famous for its sizzler so without doubt we ordered mix of veg and Non veg sizzler , being Veg I can comment only on that ...it was amazing .. I would say one of the best I had so far , we also orders some starters and t was impressed with all of them
Down side was that service was very bad , we had to follow up on everything .. maybe they were short on staff but still. Also some of the paint on side wall had started to come out , there was water dripping from AC out let .
most disturbing was we had to change table on account of foul smell possibly coming out of toilet on the side
Any way for me taste is most imp and you will not be disappointed on that

  • Visited November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paragkarhadkar76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just another cafe”
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Went for drinks and dinner. Place is just like any other cafe. nothing special. food was average and portions were small, Give it a try if you want to. Nothing fancy about the place

  • Visited September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NishPri0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Royal also viewed

 
Mumbai, Maharashtra
Mumbai, Maharashtra
 
Mumbai, Maharashtra
Mumbai, Maharashtra
 

Been to Cafe Royal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing