We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place - average food”
Review of Manoribel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mumbai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manoribel
Ranked #87 of 485 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2010

The location is brilliant and the rooms are good. The place looks really beautiful and is by the sea. The staff is friendly. The food and beverages are expensive and does not taste that good but the restaurant is located near the sea.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
2  Thank aki076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 153 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2009

Monori is a nice small island. It has some flavour of goa villages. There are not many resort here. Manoribel is a weekend place. Mostly people are from mumbai or nearby areas. Rooms here are not good, small bathroom, beds are not at all comfortable. Food is tolerable. Pricing is high here so you expect room quality to be better. Hope they make it worth staying so that people don't get bored after 2 nights!!! Beach is sad...so many garbage, plastic bags etc. Wish hotel can take charge and maintain it. It is sad that u don't like to walk in the beach or watch your step. Location is great but some one should make it worth going.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sugato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

Tired of running around all day in mean Mumbai? Want to chill out for a weekend and not worry about the horrible commute, or the targets to be met? There are still places in Mumbai itself which provide great solace and a break which one can take over the weekend without driving hours out of Mumbai. That way one is able to relax almost through the weekend.
Manori bell is one such resort situated bang next to the Arabian Sea in the Madh Marve belt. You can get there by ferry from Malad, or from Mira-Bhayandar, if one wants to come the whole distance by one’s own car. The ferry is able to take the two wheelers across.
This resort is one of many in that belt, but is easy to find since boards are clear on all the resorts. This is one of the bigger ones and the food is definitely worth the effort of getting to the resort. The rooms are strictly functional WITHOUT any television! The kids complain at first, but soon forget about their Cartoon network when the see the huge hammock lined coconut trees and the sea almost at the resort. We did not mind the rooms since we hardly spent any time there. The staff was nice and courteous and service was great. One more value add was that mobiles do no work in that area, so there was absolutely nothing to do except eat and chill out in the hammocks or in the sea.
There were two table tennis tables, but we could not decide which of them was worse, and after trying in vain to figure out as to where the balls would bounce off the table, we decided the hammocks were better.
The night brought on the mosquitoes and we understood the reason for the quaint mosquito nets that we had seen earlier in the day. However the mosquitoes did not bother us as we took a stroll on the beach looking at clear stars after a long time.
A truly welcome break from the grind.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DarnieChristopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Its the bestest place to laze in the weekend after a MAD Mumbai week.

SO close to the city, reaching there is alot of fun too, quite an experience getting the ferry. The village has its own charm.

The food, accomodation, activities, service are OUTSTANDING.

A Must Visit!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank earth69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

This is an amazingly calm and beautiful hotel. I can’t believe that this is in Mumbai. Accessible from the centre of Mumbai within 2 hours by road, it’s a getaway that we have frequented many times in the last few years. Every time we feel the need for a quick vacation we just book and run. Booking of course is essential if you want to go on a weekend, especially if you want the AC rooms, essential in summer. We take enough books for the entire family and read / laze on the hammocks around. The garden in front with the ten odd hammocks is the most important part of this property and lends it a slow pace and Goan charm. Service is also reasonably slow and measured. Nothing moves in a hurry here.
Nice clean rooms although a bit basic, clean bathrooms and no TV. Mosquitoes are a bit of a problem though. Do carry repellent. They are huge and are generally a problem from 6 pm onwards. Lots of repellent normally does the job.
The last visit we discovered that the sea face in front of the resort is a bit dirty. I guess it’s because of the rocky surface. The solution is to walk to the right end of the beach as you look at it. There the water is clean and free of debris that gets stuck between the rocks. The garden is eminently ‘lazable’ even in the afternoons. All you need is keep the fresh lime flowing.
There is some bird life. The last time we spotted bulbuls, koels, hoophoes along with the coppersmith barbet. Pretty common birds for Mumbai but we were happy to spot the Paradise Flycatcher. The TT tables and the volleyball court are standard resort class fare. Good for a friendly game.
While rooms are priced right and reasonable the food is a bit overpriced. There are some absurdities like bread (pav) at 30 rupees and same bread with some butter at around 80 bucks or so. A glass of bournvita with milk will set you back 80 bucks. So if you have hungry milk drinking kids, you are pretty much… toast. For a vegetarian couple just budget a thousand rupees more a day and you should be more or less through.
The only thing wrong with this resort is that thanks to the proximity (and popularity) to Mumbai you might end up meeting people you know. Not normally a problem but the last time I had my boss in the next cottage.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jaimit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mumbai
The Resort
#41 of 485 in Mumbai
866 reviews
Bandra West
Pali Beach Resort
Pali Beach Resort
#178 of 485 in Mumbai
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andheri West/Versova
Manori Resort
Manori Resort
#298 of 485 in Mumbai
39 reviews
Suvi Palace
#2 of 2 in Vasai
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoribel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoribel

Address: Near Manori Village, Mumbai 400095, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 485 Hotels in Mumbai
Price Range: ₹ 1,575 - ₹ 4,320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing