We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very modern airport hotel”
Review of Waterstones Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterstones Hotel
Ranked #45 of 447 Hotels in Mumbai
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A very modern airport hotel”
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

The first thing that strikes you is how modern the architecture is. All those who love contemporary architecture and amenities will love this place but it will be a terrible disappointment for all those who are traditional at heart. It is a boutique hotel in true essence, not like other Indian hotels who pretend to be boutique but are regular ones. Each floor is designed with a unique theme like Fire, Ice, Rain forest, Sea blue etc. I have taken a Fire theme and the room looked decent.They score big with small things like able to watch television located in the main room from the bathroom and with speakers in the bathroom which connect the TV, complimentary airport drop in BMW 5 series etc. But that doesn't mean that they are without any flaws. The major problem for me was service, too slow for my liking. Very inconsistent, some time they were fast and some times dead slow, which is case when a hotel is severely understaffed. The other major drawback is the location, surroundings are not very clean and the location is not very easy to find unless you have a GPS. Since it is new not many taxi drivers also know the location. I just a Biryani and the food was tasty as well.

All in all a very good hotel for that price.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Scorpionxylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWaterstonesHotel, General Manager at Waterstones Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Thank you so much. It was really gratifying to read your feedback and I am very pleased to know that you appreciated our interiors and the amenities we offer. I appreciate your feedback regarding the area surrounding the hotel and the unfortunate inconsistent service you experienced and I will ensure your concerns are looked into.

I do hope that the Waterstones Hotel continues to be your preferred choice of hotel in Mumbai.

Regards
Gayle Henriques
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    201
    57
    16
    14
See reviews for
68
79
36
297
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Interesting that it exists amidst the urban Jungle that we live in..Tucked away in Andheri East With easy access to the International Airport, a really great place to stay in.The Lotus suite offered a life of its own-an apartment like feel with all the things one could think off, a kitchenette, a living area and extra powder room.The room was comfortable, the ambience bright and stylish! The Club gave the whole weekend stay its edge.The Olympic size pool, the jacuzzi, the spa and the outdoor sport areas took care of our energy levels. Not to forget what one can do indoors after all the food that is served in each restuarant. Wow! Moon Girl adorned a halo of its own! Classy interiors make it stand out as the boutique hotel it claims to be.From the beamer pick up and drop off, to the weekend laced with enough activity,Waterstones turned out to be a great idea indeed!

Room Tip: The theme rooms seem kinda cute..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maya60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWaterstonesHotel, General Manager at Waterstones Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed our unique ambiance and that your experience at our little oasis in Mumbai was memorable. We are proud of our unique facilities that offer our guests a private movie lounge, games room, library, billiards room, state of the art gym, salon and spa as well as a wide selection of sporting facilities to choose from.

Thank you for your appreciation and your positive feedback and we look forward to being of service to you soon.

Regards

Gayle Henriques
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Beautyfull boutique hotel with each floor dedicated to a different theme.The associated club offers spa, swim and gym facilities. Staff is very cordial and services are prompt. I thoroughly enjoyed the complimentary spa overall a must experience ;)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iushe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWaterstonesHotel, General Manager at Waterstones Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed our unique ambiance and that your experience at our little oasis in Mumbai was memorable.

We thank you for your appreciation and your positive feedback and look forward to seeing you back at the Waterstones Hotel on your next visit to the city.

Regards

Gayle Henriques
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This hotel is one of the trendiest hotel i have stayed of all these years in mumbai. The hotel is located close to the International Airpot and transportation is not a issue at all. The rooms are spacious and the interior are decorated to perfection. The Hotel interior is also trendy and view from the higher floor towards the airpot side is delightful. The food is tasty and worth the amount charged by the hotel. The only negative aspect for this hotel which is saw is the guest car parking is done outside in open near the lawn. Being monsoon there are rats / rodent problem near the parking area and the next day when i drove the car there was lot of water inside the car. The service engineer told that rats / rodents have chewed the AC pipe and wires below the car as a result the water has come into the car. The situation was explained to the hotel the next day however the supervisor explained that the issue has been at the Security end and they can't help in any way in this. The Hotel staff assured that the Security / Parking Team will call back to discuss the issue and look into the same. Would suggest other guests to be careful of the parking done by the parking attendants and ask them not to park car near the lawn especially during the monsoon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floor with view of the airpot
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinayakNayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWaterstonesHotel, General Manager at Waterstones Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Thank you so much. It was really gratifying to read your feedback and I hope that the Waterstones Hotel continues to be your preferred choice of hotel in Mumbai. It’s commendation from guest like you that has earned us the honor of being voted ‘The Trendiest Hotel’ in the country. I am really glad to know that you enjoyed your culinary experience and hope you had a chance to visit Moon Girl our Oriental restaurant and the Waterstones Bar & Grill which are also restaurants for which we get great reviews .
Thank you for your feedback regarding the parking area. I regret the inconvenience you experienced and we will ensure that your concern is addressed.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Waterstones hotel soon.

Regards

Gayle Henriques
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I stayed for 2 nights & was very impressed with all aspects of the hotel. Taxi driver, Mr. Firoz, was extremely helpful & knowlegable.
Internet options could be streamlined but speeds were very fast.
A very clean & well run hotel. Moongirl restaurant food very very good.
Graham

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWaterstonesHotel, General Manager at Waterstones Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you for your commendation. Our main objective at the Waterstones Hotel is to ensure that all our guests are satisfied with their entire experience and it is good to know that you were impressed with all aspects of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your culinary experience at our Oriental restaurant - Moon Girl, and hope that on your next visit you make time to dine at our newest venture ‘Waterstones Bar & Grill’, that serves an eclectic mix of the world’s finest grill cuisine.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Waterstones Hotel soon.

Regards

Gayle Henriques
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
The Lalit Mumbai
#20 of 447 in Mumbai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
The Orchid Mumbai
#56 of 447 in Mumbai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#16 of 447 in Mumbai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterstones Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterstones Hotel

Property: Waterstones Hotel
Address: | Mumbai International Airport, Mumbai 400059, India (Formerly The Gordon House Suites)
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Mumbai
#32 Spa Hotel in Mumbai
#38 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai
#45 Family Hotel in Mumbai
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,064 - ₹ 11,146
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waterstones Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within 5 minutes driving distance from the Mumbai International Airport, Waterstones Hotel epitomizes the authentic quintessence of Boutique Hospitality at its best-small, luxurious & very intimate. Distinctive architecture, atypical design elements, attention to luxurious comforts and other distinctive touches characterize the Waterstones Hotel; providing a richer and special guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Yatra, ClearTrip and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterstones Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordon House Mumbai
Gordon House Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing