We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE”
Review of Hotel Fortune

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fortune
Ranked #337 of 461 Hotels in Mumbai
Reviewed 26 March 2012

If you do not want to be conned and catch a terrible disease - DO NOT STAY AT THIS DREADFUL HOTEL EVER.
I had booked a 'Deluxe'!!! room before my tour started and was plonked into what can only be described as a disgustingly dirty, dangerous prison cell facing the road so the constant noise was unbearable.
My bathroom window was broken and I had 2 pigeons for company; the air con wires were wound round a metal curtain pole and live wires showing; most of the sockets were hanging off the wall; dirty linen and mould on the walls.
I complained to the useless reception man who waved his hand at me and said it was a 'Deluxe'.
After demanding to then view a standard and another deluxe, the man was very nervous and I saw that my room was disgusting compared to the standard room and mine was supposed to be 'Deluxe'
He moved me to another obviously standard room. CON CON CON and a very poor way to treat tourists.
I later (after talking to 6 other Westerners) found out that they had all been put in these awful rooms (they are all the rooms ending in 01 so beware)
Worryingly the rooms given to Indian guests looked clean and quiet.
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY HERE AS IT IS NOT EVEN A CHEAP PLACE TO CRASH FOR THE NIGHT - RESEARCH OTHER HOTELS.

THEY WILL CON ANY WESTERN TRAVELLER, HOWEVER HARDY A TRAVELLER YOU ARE.

Room Tip: RUN AWAY VERY FAST TO THE NEXT HOTEL AND NEVER LOOK BACK - or if you are forced to stay here as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indiatraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 187 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

We booked online in advance from America and when we arrived at the hotel they did not honor our paid booking and charged us another $72 for a room. We had nowhere to go so reluctantly stayed the night. There were large cockroaches crawling on the walls at night and the ceilings were filled with mold. There was no shower stall, just a bucket on the floor. To make matters worse the front desk staff are rude, arrogant and unhelpful. Nirmal Daas and Giselle were staffing the desk and they deserved to be fired for the way they treat guests. They are currently being investigates for fraud as they do not honor reservations that are prepaid and charge your credit card again and they lie about it!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunshineDec2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This place is not really in walking distance to anywhere. A cab to Colaba was only $1 so that was good, but the rooms sucked. Dirty EVERYTHING, the a/c was either on or off and if it was on it was at 25 degrees no higher or lower. The sheets were stained. The shower head is right betwen the toilet and the sink so its impossible to shower without completely soaking the ENTIRE bathroom. The service was fast and friendly but I think you can find that anywhere

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

The overall property is average. The rooms are overall average. I had put up for a business trip, looking at the location. Food service is tolerable, bathrooms are just workable. Considering the cost and location, the property can be considered for stayting.

Room Tip: no specfic choice because a usual in metro cities, is difficult to find a hotel where y get sunlight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lari15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Happened to stay in this hotel thinking that going for my business meetings would be easy. The location is fantastic as it is near Metro and approachable from both Churchgate and CST. It was easy as most of the meetings were in Nariman Point and Fort area. But should have taken any other decent hotel.
Inside the hotel – the reception is small and the lift is so small that only one person with a luggage can stand in. The lobby area was not looking good and it was stinking a little.

The room also was like that. There are two single cot bed on either side of the room. I don’t know why they have put two beds separately. They should have combined that and made it a little bigger. The room itself was small and not worth for the money spent. The restaurant is in the open terrace. They have just put 4 tables and 12 chairs. They have all kinds of food, but the complimentary BF is restricted to toast + corn flakes + milk + eggs + juice + tea. All only once and no extra.

Service was very average and the customer will not get a satisfaction in staying. A lots of compromise should be made.

Room Tip: Just for 1 or 2 days and when other hotels are unavailable..good option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venkatesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Hotel City Palace
#135 of 461 in Mumbai
120 reviews
Hotel Mogul Palace
#315 of 461 in Mumbai
32 reviews
West End Hotel
#136 of 461 in Mumbai
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Oasis
#320 of 461 in Mumbai
120 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel A. K. International
Hotel A. K. International
#196 of 461 in Mumbai
37 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Residency Fort
Hotel Residency Fort
#17 of 461 in Mumbai
1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fortune? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortune

Address: 36/38 1st Marine Street | Metro, Dhobi Talao, Mumbai 400002, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 461 Hotels in Mumbai
Price Range: ₹ 2,989 - ₹ 4,874 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fortune 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Yatra, MakeMyTrip, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel Fortune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing