We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Budget Hotel”
Review of Ginger Mysore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ginger Mysore
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Good Budget Hotel”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I stayed here last weekend while participating in the Kaveri Half Marathon.

When i go for a budget hotel i look for something that is like my house, nothing fancy. Most budget hotels that i have seen fall into the trap of trying to emulate the star hotels by providing lets say bath tubs, phone in the bathroom (who needs this really). Most people who stay at budget hotels are not in for a long duration and are seeking nothing more than just regular comfort.

Ginger hotel seems to have cracked it. Walking into Ginger is like walking into your home. There are no bell boys to carry your bags. You walk into the room and you will find a comfortable bed, a wardrobe, study table and a small refrigerator. What more does one need. True some people may say that there is no enough space in the room to walk around but then how many of us have so much room space in our house any ways. Most bedrooms in Bangalore are just "Bed" rooms and nothing else will fit right?

Bathroom is perfect and clean with no fancy stuff. A shower, washbasin and a commode.

The best part is that they have a Tata Sky satellite connection. Most star hotels (even some properties of Taj) go wrong here where they provide the best LCD TV but relay a bad cable service that is mostly unwatchable.

Most reviews i read here complained about the food. When we go for budget hotels we cannot expect the best in class chef to be in their kitchens. So lets not expect them to be making the best biryanis or kebabs. Stick to basics. We ordered for dal, roti and lemon rice. All came in in just 15 mins, hot and sealed in nice aluminium foil so that nothing falls into it en route from the kitchen to the room (again something that most hotels would not think of).

They also have buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner but we didn't try that. the coffee day outlet is good. what more would you want then a nice room and a good coffee in the morning.

The location of the hotel is awesome, its away from the traffic but not very far from the palace. just about 2 KMS i suppose.

On the improvement side - i believe they could do well on the pricing. The regular price is around 4K. I got a weekend discounted offer for just 2K. For 2K it is fine but 4K may be a tad too much.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ravishenoy_x13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    324
    155
    41
    27
See reviews for
319
138
49
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bhubaneswar, India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed for just 1 night, while coming back from our trip of Coorg.
This was my first stay at any Ginger Hotel.My first impression of this hotel is really good. The people at the reception were well mannered & professional
The rooms were a bit small but we were surprised to see all the modern amenities present in the room. The room & the bathroom were really clean. Hats off to the house keeping staffs & the Ginger Hotel Management for maintaining the cleanliness standards.
There is a SBI ATM present at the entarnce of the hotel & a CCD outlet at the lobby of the hotel
My overall experince was good & satisfying, I would recommend this hotel to the travellers staying for a short trip (1-2 days)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Great location at the most reasonable price. Keep your expectations low and do not expect any service. They are very clear about that, so no point going ther with any expectations.

Decent, clean rooms with AC; comfortable bed and with mini fridge and free internet. Wat more can you expect for that price. Water filter placed on every floor. Had an annex coffee day and restaurant which serves OK food.

Room delivery of coffee is availble. So overall, it is good for the price you pay. Checkin at 12 only. SO do not expect early checkin or late checkout. if you do, this is not the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victorjuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

we had been to this hotel with 1yr old kid and had worst experience ever..we reached this hotel at 8.30 am we had to wait literally till 12 for check in..even though the rooms were free , reception guys did not let us check in at least on a courtesy grounds..starting it self was bad.. over that rooms were too conjusted..very small bathrooms and you dont find a single bucket in them..no service at all..and if you ask for anything hotel people do it as if they are doing great favours...no comments on food as there were very lilttle items on menu to comment..this holds good even for buffet dinner/bf..travel desk people were rude they dont dont seem interested to suggest any places rather they would like to sit idle on their desk.. they arranged cab for us as we had no choice since this hotel lacks connectivity to arrange cab on our own, were too expensive.. overall pathetic stay..personally recommend you to don't go for them..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sumithap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels

Chennai, India
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We as a family had one night halt during May 2012. Very small n congested room, the service was really poor which is not expected of a TATA group concern. The bathroom was average maintained. We had to keep on calling them requesting the 'WLAN key' for browsing but didn't get it untill we vacated the room
There is not much of option at the attached 'Coffee day' restaurant except for the buffet that they offer. We didn't have any option during the holiday season hence managed for a night. NOT RECOMMENDED BUT FOR AN EMERGENCY STAY or probably a business stay for a day.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter_leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.5 km away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,606 reviews
5.3 km away
Treebo Spektrum Suites
Treebo Spektrum Suites
#18 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
380 reviews
3.5 km away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#5 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#4 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,859 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Roopa
Hotel Roopa
#15 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
403 reviews
1.3 km away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#6 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginger Mysore? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger Mysore

Property: Ginger Mysore
Address: Nazarabad Mohalla Vasanth Mahal Road | Near Nazarabad Police Station, Mysuru (Mysore) 570010, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,571 - ₹ 4,820
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginger Mysore 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, MakeMyTrip, Yatra, Agoda, TravelGuru and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ginger Mysore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginger Mysore Hotel Mysore
Ginger Hotel Mysore
Mysore Ginger Hotel
Ginger Mysore Mysuru (Mysore), Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing