We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The restaurant food is horrible”
Review of Mysore Dasprakash

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mysore Dasprakash
Ranked #53 of 103 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Bangalore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The restaurant food is horrible”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

First of all, you'd better not ask for directions to every Tom, Dick & Harry in Mysore because thats what we did and wasted a lot of time due to that. Since Dasprakash was a famous hotel, we thought we'd have lunch there. There were two fixed menus - Normal or "Plate" meal as they call it or Special Meal. We took tokens for the so called special meal and found a table after some waiting. The place was teeming with people. After some time a waiter arrived and we gave him our tokens. Now, first of all, he brought us some Tomato Soup after quite a long delay and we almost vomited when we tasted it. It also smelled very stale and horrible. And then the waiter was not to be seen anywhere. We had to ask him a dozen times to give us a replacement but he brought the other items included in the Thali. The food was a bit below average an not worth INR 75. He kept the soups at the table even though we asked him to clear it a dozen times as it smelled horrible and we almost lost our appetite. At last, midway through the meal, he brought some lemon juice which was drinkable but not very good. We just ate enough to fill our stomachs as we didn't have much time to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sujay_000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    52
    43
    12
    21
See reviews for
74
23
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We went to mysore as a part of our trip to bangalore to meet our relatives . We had driven by road from chennai to bangalore and from bangalore to mysore the next day .
prior going to mysore we went on some pilgrimage and then reached mysore by noon . When we enquired to our relatives in bangalore they said there is no better place to stay ( by value to money vise ) , when we went the daasara had just completed , so we were worried whether we will get the accomodation, luckily we did get accomodation, we got a AC double room for 1500 rs . The room was very good, but the AC was not required, as it was very cold outside .

The whole place is very old , it feels like u have travelled 20 yrs back . After the trip I even enquired my father Was this place like this before, he said it has always looked the same. Good for the management that they r maintaining it in this shape only .

The hotel is located right in the middle of the city , what ever u want to do , u can easly do , the palace is in walkble distance ,the rest can be reached through BUS , Bus stand is also walkable from here, We went by car and we had parking inside the hotel only .

Food in the hotel waas superb . typical mysore food . wonderful

Room Tip: There is no need for an AC room , a normal rom would have done good, as we went in octobber it was r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shanks123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Mysore Dasaprakash is in the heart of the city and has an excellent restaurant serving traditional vegetarian food. Food is simply superb.

This is a hotel with basic accommodation and a very traditional hotel. It must have been top of the line in olden days when economy was closed and customers were not as demanding and globally aware like today. I would say there are better hotels available in Mysore for the same price.

The bathrooms are very basic, this hotel needs a serious makeover considering its brand image. They seriously need to go on a modernization drive.

Having said that, this hotel is extremely family safe and family friendly and has an old world charm of its own (as long as you dont mind the basic toilet facilities).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nandan_Bhatkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Very Old… reputed Dasprakash Mysore .. strategically located heart of Mysore city. You can get good basic facility (good A/c room without TV) rates are good for what you pay. Downstairs you can get authentic Karnataka Thali (lunch)and veg dishes’.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hashrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

My local friends suggested me for Mysore Dasprakash, so I opted for it to stay overnight enroute to Ooty.

Decent room with basic facilities (no tv in room). Decent restaurent with traditional economic food. It's located in the city, so practically everything is accessible from shopping to food.

I'll certainly go with it, if it's just overnight stay.

Room Tip: You can see before you pay, so don't worry about it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chetan_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
2.6 km away
Hotel Paradise
Hotel Paradise
#62 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
151 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,610 reviews
0.1 km away
Bombay Tiffanys Hotel
Bombay Tiffanys Hotel
#82 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Suvarna Residency
Suvarna Residency
#77 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
43 reviews
0.4 km away
Kings Kastle
Kings Kastle
#41 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
158 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Sujatha Residency
Hotel Sujatha Residency
#38 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mysore Dasprakash? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mysore Dasprakash

Property: Mysore Dasprakash
Address: Gandhi Square, Mysuru (Mysore) 570 001, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 103 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price range (per night): ₹ 770 - ₹ 2,118
Hotel Class:3 star — Mysore Dasprakash 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Yatra, MakeMyTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Mysore Dasprakash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mysore Dasprakash Hotel Mysore
Dasprakash Hotel Mysore
Mysore Dasprakash Mysuru (Mysore), Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing