We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Experiance”
Review of Jungle Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mysuru (Mysore)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jungle Inn
Ranked #81 of 144 Mysuru (Mysore) B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“Worst Experiance”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We had been to Nagethole on 24 & 25 th Dec, 2011 & stayed at Jungle Inn Nagerhole for one night, here is feedback.

For kind of prize they charge (Rs. 5500/Room) it is defiantly not worth staying there. There is absolutely no room service, bathroom door’s doesn’t close properly, rooms are not clean, they promised that hot water will be available at 6 AM in the morning, but we got it only at 8.15 AM. Our next day program got completely washed out because we couldn’t leave the place early because of non availability of HOT water and also we were not at all comfortable of taking bath; just imagine you are taking bath with curtain ON.

They claim that they are very close to Jungle but reality is they are 35 KM away from forest from where safari starts. Jungle in offers safari at extra charge (Rs 400/person) is useless, because they simply drive you around main tar roads which you can also do by with your own vehicle. I feel they are taking visitors for a ride; they are virtually inside the juggle.

Food quality very average, equivalent to food what you get in a road side hotel and also very unhygienic, I got black ant in tea, my friend got black ant in Idly (morning breakfast)

While check out nobody was there even to complete check out formalities. Manager was busy taking bath since 9 AM & he was still not available till 11 AM, finally we left the place at 11 AM. We had arranged for our driver’s food and stay (Rs 600/day), hotel staff & manager was very eager to collect that money in the morning while having breakfast (it was very irritating). We had paid complete payment in advance & only balance was driver accommodation payment & way these guys approached us as if we run away without paying the balance. Since manager was not available we paid money to one of hotel staff (designated by manager) I am not sure that is official charges or something else.

Worst thing is, in feedback form there is no option to give ‘poor’ rating, minimum is average. I am totally disappointed with this place and I would like to give 1 star (below poor)

Thanks
Manoj

Helpful?
Thank Manojkumar_Saundatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    31
    16
    13
    17
See reviews for
34
14
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We made an adhoc trip to Jungle Inn on one of the weekends. We were going back there after 2 years or so.

Jungle Inn had transformed quite a bit from what it was during my last trip. Lot of new changes and staff. Old block looked a little aged, but had not lost its charm. My preference was for the old block and we were lucky to get them. As usual room and bathrooms were clean. Food was homely, cooked with local ingredients, staff were very courteous and helpful. We actually reached there way past 11.30PM and they were waiting for us with dinner kept warm. I thought that was exceptional service.

I have been visiting Nagarahole since 1999, but never was lucky to spot the elusive tiger. But this time around, we got lucky! A large male was standing right in front of our car on the main road! Could not believe our eyes, but that was almost like dreaming!.

Jungle Rides were great, we spent lot of time inside the jungle, but was not too lucky to spot many wildlife than the usual. Not many elephants this time as expected due to monsoons. Undergrowth was too thick, so spotting animals was not all that great. But the overall experience, it always lived up to our expectations.

Just lazing around and the rides in the wild was the highlight of our trip. Just what we wanted. Sandeep; the owner was great host with his stories and experiences from the jungle.

Apart from some partying gang who was visiting with blaring music at the resort, our trip was memorable and we will be going back again!.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InsaneNirvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We were 5 friends on a 3 day trip, defiantly not advise any one for this.
*very small, and featureless
*no activities
*food was just ok, nothing great. (lunch is served till 2.30pm only, we were half an hour late to checkin due to bad roads, even after informing them well in advance they still wouldn't server us after reaching, we had to travel 20km to get some thing to eat)
*rooms were more like a cheap lodge
*no hot water after 9.30/10 am (they expect me to wake up early even on a holiday)
*some of the staff including the manager are arrogant (when asked about activities nearby)
The Swiss tents were the only good thing about this place besides being economical.

overall, very bad experience

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bipinramesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jungle_inn, Owner at Jungle Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
first of all thanks to your review.would like to make a mention here that always check the property you are about to go rather than making such damaging statements about a place.we at jungle inn make sincere efforts to make your stay as memorable as possible .it is not true that you were denied lunch just because you were 3o mins late.you were really late like beyoond 5 p.m in the evning.also please do not compare us with cheap lodges as we are a bsic resort as far as accomodation is concerned but at the same time also have different categories of rooms available.please do not blame and complaIn on accomodation being basic since you have opted for a basic regular room which is small in space.also the activities are not a part of the package and you should have enquired about the rates and if interested had an activity.its not that we do not have any activity as mentioned by you.lastly ploease do not complain on the hot water as its been very clearly mentioned in our info sheet given at the time of arrival that its available only from certain time in the morning hours only and not 24 hours.lastly we are deeply hurt at the comments made by you and also suggest you to learn more about a place regarding the type of accomodation you want to avail rather than talking ill about it after having been told very claerly as to what to expect of a partilcular type of room.thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels

Gurgaon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed there one day and didn't find the stay satisfying. Food Quality was not good for both dinner and breakfast. Made stomach upset. Safari organised by the hotel was also substandard vis a vis money charged.
Maintenance ofs is also not regular as tall grass was all around even at Volley ball field.
Rooms are average but balconies are really good. You can sit and have a nice view around with fresh air flowing across.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ag_jindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

I work in media industry in Mumbai. In the 2nd week of May, We went to Jungle in and stayed one night We were given a pamlet with jungle safari and told that they will go inside the jungle like govt. vehicles and can take photos etc. leasurely and whereas govt. vehicle will be in a hurry to finish the trip. We agreed and paid 1600/- and hired the jeep and to our surprise, we were tanken on the main road in which we came and din't go inside the jungle. We din't see any wild life and saw only one giant squrel/ some dear etc. Where as while coming by our car, we saw lot of dears, pigs, monkeys and some beautiful birds. This is cheating and we are going to claim compensation and return of money. We do not did this there since we need to speak our agent regarding this before taking action. Am am going to write to the hotel and if they are not going to return, wll go to consumer court. also post this comments in face book and other lage visited websites and also send it to newspapers.V. Harish.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hari1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mysuru (Mysore)
26.0 km away
The Serai Kabini
The Serai Kabini
#2 of 2 in Nagarhole National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
50.2 km away
Golden Landmark Resort
Golden Landmark Resort
#10 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
53.6 km away
The Atrium Boutique Hotel
The Atrium Boutique Hotel
#23 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Kings Sanctuary
The Kings Sanctuary
#3 of 198 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.0 km away
Stay Simple Bison Manor
47.9 km away
Tulips Homestay
Tulips Homestay
#6 of 144 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Inn

Property: Jungle Inn
Address: Veerana Hosahalli, Mysuru (Mysore) 0, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,800 - ₹ 2,750
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungle Inn is situated at Nagarhole National Park. It’s a wildlife resort. We offer adventure activities like safari, trekking, water rafting, rapelling, coracle ride, elephant ride, etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jungle Inn Mysuru (Mysore), Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing