We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“accomodation dreadful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre
Ranked #30 of 103 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“accomodation dreadful”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We recently stayed at I.V.A.C. for 2 nights and it was just a stop over and we were not interested in the treatments. On arrival they informed us that they were over booked and we would have to stay in one of the doctors relatives house with her . We were confined to a tiny bedroom where the double bed was flush to the wall on 3 sides and we had to climb over the end of the bed to get in it this was quite difficult to do as there were posts sticking out of it. Floor space was 6ft x 4ft approx and a small wardrobe took up some of this space. There was no safe in room as was specified for standard room and room was not made up on following day. We left a feed back form for the management with my email and phone number but I have decided to review this place because we have had no feedback.

Room Tip: definitely not in house of managements relative
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gillykins_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talavane, Owner at Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
We appreciate your comments. We do have very spacious luxury cottages. Please come again and experience the luxury we offer. It is a place to unwind. Relax and rejuvenate. We look forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    37
    7
    10
    12
See reviews for
29
37
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

A very beautiful haven of Ayurveda with excellent treatments and a wonderful ambience. I prefer Mysore to Kerala somehow it's location and connection with traditions like Sanskrit and Yoga is much more beautiful for having treatment. IVAC is on the slopes of Chamundee hill and very nicely poised. The treatments are heavenly here, try the Pizzichil.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayaJagathambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talavane, Owner at Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that your stay and treatments were good. We look forward to serve you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiba, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

the hotels attitude is not good. they withdrew hotel rate from my bank three times.
so, i couldn't understand why they withdraw money from my bank account three times.
Although I send a email which I wrote explanation in detail, they reply my email without explain in detail.
I will write about detail
We stayed 3 days at standard type room and we ate once breakfast. So, maybe it takes around the 5,000rupee (about 10,000yen).
However, on October 9th it was the first time that IVAC withdrawn 8,603 rupee (13,745yen) from my credit card. On October 20th, 2,580rupee (4,111yen) were withdrew from this hotel and on next day 21st, 20,000rupee (31,404yen) were taken again.
And now we were asked to pay for more 7,252rupee (11,103yen) on December 8th from the IVAC.
Total amount of money we were asked to pay for this hotel is 38,435rupee(60,363yen).
we stayed only 2days. This amount billed is too expensive.
so we asked to them detail about hotel fee. But they didn't say total amount about our visiting fee and they withdraw my cash from my bank unclear. I think they are didn't care about customer.
Also, we eat breakfast at this hotel, the meals is not delicious but expensive.
we stayed 3 hotel during trip in India, but I think this is the worst hotel. If they explain about total bill, maybe this review get more good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kamakiritantanmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talavane, Owner at Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We realized that your card has been charged thrice only after you sent us an e-mail. When we checked , you were right and it was misused by one of our receptionist, as soon as we came to know we took action and we have paid you back and you also have received it. We have taken enough measures now to secure the card of the guest. Apologize for the inconvenience caused. We look forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerusalem, israle
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We spent 8 days at IVAC in November. The weather was perfect, no need for air conditioning, the grounds are immaculate and lovely, very secure, the ambiance quiet and peaceful, the treatments heavenly, the service was excellent.

We booked a package which included several treatments each day. This is not a budget hotel. It is a wellness spa with a variety of packages to choose from. The package prices are very reasonable. The Abhyanga massage with 4 hands or varieties of it are offered every day. The ayurvedic doctors were very accommodating to our needs and willing to make changes in our schedules to our convenience.

The food is very simple, cooked to perfection, mostly vegetables and rice, always great soups. Fabulous papaya every morning and a lovely dessert with lunch. The vegies and fruits are home grown and organic! Juice and Herb drinks are simple but very special. The center has its own herbal garden down the road a few km. The food is first and foremost health oriented. But it is always aesthetically presented buffet style and with great variety of vegetables. It is ayurvedic fare and guaranteed to make one feel better. We ate abundantly, enjoyed the tastes and the very clean dining room and helpful staff. Fresh breads were made on the spot.

The yoga and meditation were excellent. The instructor familiarized himself with our various needs and ailments and adjusted the lesson to fit those needs. I had not practiced yoga for many years but after a few days, it became something I looked forward to with delight in knowing that it would be beneficial.

The friendly family atmosphere brings together travelers from all parts of India and from all parts of the globe. The garden villas near the beautiful swimming pool are highly recommended. There is great respect for the guests. The therapists come to your room to escort you to your treatment and afterwards, escort you back to your room. They are well-trained and considerate. You will feel very well taken care of.

Mysore town, and its famous palace, is quite close by as is Chamundi Hill. Nice places to wonder around, shop, enjoy the local scene.

We felt better, much better, after 8 days and we were sorry to have to leave. Not only did we lose some weight , while never feeling hungry, but we are still shedding a bit of weight at home, as it seems that our dietary needs have become more regulated. The diet seems to quiet ones cravings. So 3 weeks later, we are still feeling the benefits of the food, the treatments, the herbs and the yoga. As I wrote in the title, the proof of the pudding is in the pie!! We hope to return next year.

Room Tip: garden villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank indiaphile613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talavane, Owner at Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you for your detailed feedback. We are happy to hear that your stay was comfortable and treatments & yoga were beneficial. We look forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Miss the treatment... miss the chai that I would have against the advice of the doctor. Miss the amazing the therapist, nice/friendly doctors, the room boys, the dining guys. And the two yoga instructors- Naveen and Rita.
Miss the chanting of the OM, miss the simple vegetarian meals, miss the holistic living. It was one hell of three weeks. Need to earn some money to be able to be back there... Everything about IVAC or Indus Valley ayurveda centre is just simply great. There will definitely be many more visit. Thank you everyone at IVAC for making this three most wonderful three weeks of my life. Life Changing experience. KEEP IT UP.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rigzinladakhsarai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talavane, Owner at Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that your stay was comfortable and treatments were beneficial. We look forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
10.3 km away
Golden Landmark Resort
Golden Landmark Resort
#22 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
262 reviews
1.0 km away
Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel
Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel
#32 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
449 reviews
5.9 km away
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
#4 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Ruchi the Prince
Ruchi the Prince
#19 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
166 reviews
12.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#3 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,868 reviews
9.0 km away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#23 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre

Property: Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre
Address: Lalithadripura Rd | Ittigegud, Mysuru (Mysore) 570 028, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,458 - ₹ 12,457
Hotel Class:3 star — Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of Chamundi hill, an ancient place of healing and pilgrimage is an award-winning eco-conscious Ayurvedic retreat deeply rooted in the most ancient traditions of India. A peaceful sanctuary dedicated to physical purification and health. Our name takes inspiration from the Indus Valley Civilization which existed thousands of years before on the banks of the Indus river. Legends tell us of a society dedicated to deepening it's understanding of human awakening and developing deep springs of knowledge which have been handed down today as our rich traditions. Ayurveda the most ancient healing art and science is one of these such traditions. Our aim is to help restore harmony within body and mind so that each person can live a life of the fullness of health and vitality and realize their greatest human potential. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, Agoda, Yatra, TravelGuru and ClearTrip so you can book your Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre Mysuru (Mysore), Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing