We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice place but a tad over-rated” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gitanjali Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mysuru (Mysore)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gitanjali Homestay
Ranked #5 of 134 Mysuru (Mysore) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place but a tad over-rated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

We just spent a week-end at this place going by some of the good reviews that this place received. While our expectations were very high with regards to the place our actual experience turned out to be a bit of a disappointment. Our first disappointment was that when we arrived in the afternoon and inquired about dinner at their place (which they claim they serve) we were informed that we had to let them know in the morning!!! I wish they'd told this to us a day before when we spoke to them and not in the afternoon when it was too late for us. We ended up going out to have dinner, in spite of us having booked a homestay. I was also disappointed to note some of the basic services that one expects like a TV and wi-fi/internet connectivity were missing.

Also, when we came back from dinner the entry gate was locked. This also, after we were specifically told that they would keep the gates open for us when we came back. It is a bit disconcerting when you are in the middle of nowhere in the night and the gates have been locked.

Overall, i would recommend that one to look at other options. For the money that one spends one can definitely find better options in Mysore. This is an option one should consider only if the prices are more reasonable.

Room Tip: - You need to tell them in the morning itself if you want to have dinner at their place - There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ssumakant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    9
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
44
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
121 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Yamuna and her parents have this large farm, which has 2 house-units for them, and 1 separate house unit (with 4 separate rooms) which serves as the guest house.

The place is very well maintained - with a charming garden that has all kinds of fruit trees (guava, pomegranate, pepper, custard apple, chikoo etc). We had taken 2 rooms and stayed 3 nights. Very clean and well decorated rooms.

Breakfast was part of the deal, and it was nice, home made fare.

A must if you are staying at this place: your own vehicle. The place is about 2 kms from the main road (the nearest place from where you can get autos).

I would recommend the place highly for couples / families without children. There are no TVs in the rooms, and hence children may not take to it very well. I must add that Yamuna graciously allowed us to see the cricket matches on her house television!

All in all, excellent hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamVenkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

In Mysore, if you are not looking for a hotel accommodation, gitanjali is the most decent homestay to be in. The property is very green and beautiful, the rooms are neat and the food obviously good and homely. The owners are very cordial and make your stay comfortable. The lady who is in charge of housekeeping really does the housekeeping with all her heart. It is such an informal atmosphere and it is a nice experience to sit for breakfast and dinner with the hostess and the other guests. It's entertaining for the younger kids also as they have a dog and few cats. Since the property has so many trees and plants the place is always cooler than the city.

Room Tip: There are only four rooms and all look out into a beautiful lawn. The sit out of each room is locate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ammukutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

I live in the US since 23+ years, but by birth, I am a Mysorean & my family own a farm close to Mysore. I wanted a night in the city with the kids, & found all the good hotel rooms taken. My brother who lives in Bangalore, found this & I have to say, nothing could have suited us more. The natural ambience, high quality of hospitality & even the location were so suitable for us & our growing East-West kids. Just perfect for the night, as we hoped. It is priced according to what is offered, so know that you will get your money's worth. That is, if you are looking for serenity, space & good quality of everything. Totally recommend Gitanjali Homestay...!

Room Tip: Book in advance as there's only 4 rooms. You will have to follow her protocol to hold the reserv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MonsoonMagalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

We had a warm wellcome by Yamuna and her parents. What a special place with nice rooms with veranda, a beautifull garden and great food (Coorg).
Don't miss the Palace and Devaraja market.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockhopper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 98 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
0.0 km away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#4 of 98 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Le Ruchi The Prince
Hotel Le Ruchi The Prince
#8 of 98 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Ruchi the Prince
Ruchi the Prince
#16 of 98 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.0 km away
Golden Landmark Resort
Golden Landmark Resort
#9 of 98 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.0 km away
Tulips Homestay
Tulips Homestay
#6 of 134 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gitanjali Homestay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gitanjali Homestay

Property: Gitanjali Homestay
Address: P.B. #6 | Siddartanagar, Mysuru (Mysore) 570011, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysuru (Mysore)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,500 - ₹ 7,500
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Gitanjali Homestay Mysuru (Mysore), Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing